Emily Brightwell - Mrs Jeffries Pleads her Case - Little, Brown Book Group

Mrs Jeffries Pleads her Case

By Emily Brightwell

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

A charming series of Victorian murder mysteries featuring mild-mannered Inspector Witherspoon of Scotland Yard and, more importantly, Mrs Jeffries, his housekeeper.

When a magistrate rules Harlan Westover's death a suicide, something smells fishy. Amidst a sea of unanswered questions, the clever Mrs. Jeffries wants to get to the bottom of it - and make sure someone doesn't stage another "suicide" . . .

Praise for the Mrs Jeffries Mysteries:

'It's murder most English all the way!' The Literary Times

'Fascinating murder mystery . . . wit and style . . . a winning series. Mrs. Jeffries is the Miss Marple of Victorian Mystery' The Paperback Forum

Biographical Notes

Having married an Englishman in 1976, Cheryl Arguile lived near London for a while before moving back to California, where she had been brought up. She then decided to embark on a writing career first as a romantic novelist (Sarah Temple) and later writing for young adults (Cheryl Lanham) but is best known as Emily Brightwell for the Mrs Jeffries series.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781472125675
  • Publication date: 07 Jun 2018
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Constable
It's murder most English all the way! — The Literary Times
Fascinating murder mystery . . . wit and style . . . a winning series. Mrs. Jeffries is the Miss Marple of Victorian Mystery — The Paperback Forum
Sphere

A Place to Lie

Rebecca Griffiths
Authors:
Rebecca Griffiths
Sphere

Drowned Lives

Stephen Booth
Authors:
Stephen Booth
Constable

Mrs Jeffries Appeals the Verdict

Emily Brightwell
Authors:
Emily Brightwell
Constable

A Death in the Medina

James von Leyden
Authors:
James von Leyden

'Clever, captivating and colourful; an absorbing thriller rich in atmosphere' Philip Gwynne Jones, author of The Venetian Game and Vengeance in VeniceDeath stalks the medina of Marrakech . . .Marrakech, August. It is the start of Ramadan, the hottest in memory. Among the few foreigners left in the sweltering city are a riad owner, her French boyfriend and an English girl whose bag has been stolen after a hen weekend. At the local commissariat 24-year old detective Karim Belkacem is struggling to fast while holding down two jobs to pay for his sister's wedding. On the day that the English girl comes to him for help, a Moroccan girl is found dead, her body dumped in a handcart. Investigating, Karim uncovers a world of shadowy predators and ancient secrets hidden behind the high walls of the medina.

Hachette Audio

Good Girl, Bad Girl

Michael Robotham
Authors:
Michael Robotham

The girl with no past.Six years ago, Evie Cormac was discovered, filthy and half-starved, hiding in a secret room in the aftermath of a shocking crime. Now approaching adulthood, Evie is damaged, self-destructive and has never revealed her true identity.The boy who survived. Forensic psychologist Cyrus Haven, a man haunted by his own past, is investigating the death of champion figure-skater Jodie Sheehan. When Cyrus is called upon to assess Evie, she threatens to disrupt the case and destroy his ordered life. Because Evie has a unique and dangerous gift - she knows when some is lying. And nobody is telling the truth.GOOD GIRL, BAD GIRL is an unnerving psychological thriller from one of the greatest crime writers of today, Michael Robotham, bestselling author of THE OTHER WIFE and THE SECRETS SHE KEEPS.

Sphere

The Stalker

Alex Gray
Authors:
Alex Gray
Constable

Surgeons’ Hall

E. S. Thomson
Authors:
E. S. Thomson

'Gothic. Gory. Glorious' Kirsty LoganA gripping and darkly atmospheric thriller set in Victorian London, perfect for fans of The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle, The Strangers Diaries and The Silent Companions.What secret grips Corvus Hall?Visiting the Great Exhibition to view the wax anatomical models of the famous but reclusive Dr Silas Strangeway, Jem Flockhart and Will Quartermain find a severed hand, perfectly dissected and laid out amongst the exhibits. Assuming it to be a prank by medical students they return it to Dr Strangeway, who works at Corvus Hall, a private anatomy school run by Dr Alexander Crowe - once one of Edinburgh's most revered anatomists. Jem's persistence reveals that a body does indeed lie in the school's mortuary, minus its right hand. The body has no provenance. More macabre still, its face has been dissected making identification impossible.All is not as it should be at Corvus Hall. Dr Crowe's daughter, Lilith, visits the mortuary in the dead of night. Her twin sisters, Sorrow and Silence - one blind and one deaf - exert a malign influence over the students. Organs, freshly dissected, appear in the anatomical museum. Fear grips lecturers and students, even as something unseen binds them in a bloody pact of silence.Praise for E. S. Thomson's novels:'E. S. Thompson's Jem Flockhart books are the best I've read in years. Jem is just my kind of heroine: scarred, smart, complex, and unapologetically queer' Kirsty Logan, author of The Gloaming'Love evocative descriptions of Victorian London and brilliant plotting? Then grab a copy of this!' Rebecca Griffiths, author of The Primrose Path'Here's a tale of Victorian London to freeze your blood on a cold winter's night' Evening Telegraph'Jem Flockhart's London is vivid, pungent and perilous' Chris Brookmyre'Complex, harrowing and highly enjoyable' Daily Express'A marvellous, vivid book' Janet Ellis'Jem Flockhart is a marvel . . . This vivid journey into the dark side of the human soul is a thoroughly engrossing tale' Mary Paulson Ellis, author of The Other Mrs Walker

Little, Brown

The Lost Man

Jane Harper
Authors:
Jane Harper

The gripping new novel from the author of the Sunday Times top ten bestsellers, The Dry and Force of Nature. He had started to remove his clothes as logic had deserted him, and his skin was cracked. Whatever had been going through Cameron's mind when he was alive, he didn't look peaceful in death.Two brothers meet at the remote border of their vast cattle properties under the unrelenting sun of the outback. In an isolated part of Australia, they are each other's nearest neighbour, their homes hours apart.They are at the stockman's grave, a landmark so old that no one can remember who is buried there. But today, the scant shadow it casts was the last hope for their middle brother, Cameron. The Bright family's quiet existence is thrown into grief and anguish. Something had been troubling Cameron. Did he choose to walk to his death? Because if he didn't, the isolation of the outback leaves few suspects...

Constable

Lucifer Falls

Colin Falconer
Authors:
Colin Falconer

'I really loved this . . . the beginning of an excellent series' 5 stars, Netgalley readerA killer stalks the streets of London . . . When a priest is found crucified in a derelict North London chapel, it makes a dramatic change for DI Charlie George and his squad at Essex Road. The brutal murder could not be further from their routine of domestic violence and stabbings on the estates. And that's only the beginning . . .On Christmas Eve, a police officer goes missing and his colleagues can't help but anticipate the worst. It turns out they're right to when eventually the body is found and they discover he's been stoned to death. As tensions rise, it's up to Charlie and his team to venture into the city's cold underbelly to try and find an answer to the madness . . . before anyone else dies a martyr's death.Praise for Colin Falconer:'This one doesn't disappoint!' 5 stars, Netgalley reader'Once you read [a] Colin Falconer [book], you'll want to read everything he's ever written' Crystal Book Reviews'Falconer's grasp of period and places is almost flawless ... He's my kind of writer' Peter Corris, The Australian'It held my attention from start to finish . . . I have no hesitation in recommending' 4 stars, Netgalley reader'Falconer demonstrates exceptional characterisation' Bookgeeks'A compelling piece of crime fiction . . . An entertaining and gritty read' 4 stars, Netgalley reader

Sphere

Bright Young Dead

Jessica Fellowes
Authors:
Jessica Fellowes
Constable

Mrs Jeffries Weeds the Plot

Emily Brightwell
Authors:
Emily Brightwell
Constable

Mrs Jeffries Sweeps the Chimney

Emily Brightwell
Authors:
Emily Brightwell

A dead man dressed like a vicar is propped against a church wall, clutching the address of a dilapidated cottage that's abandoned - except for a human skeleton inside. Inspector Witherspoon's only prayer is to seek the counsel of his housekeeper and secret weapon, Mrs. Jeffries - who proves that a great crimesolver's work is never done.Praise for the Mrs Jeffries Mysteries:'It's murder most English all the way!' The Literary Times'Fascinating murder mystery . . . wit and style . . . a winning series. Mrs. Jeffries is the Miss Marple of Victorian Mystery' The Paperback Forum

Constable

Mrs Jeffries Rocks The Boat

Emily Brightwell
Authors:
Emily Brightwell
Little, Brown

The Killing Habit

Mark Billingham
Authors:
Mark Billingham
Constable

Mrs Jeffries Pinches the Post

Emily Brightwell
Authors:
Emily Brightwell
Constable

Mrs Jeffries Stalks the Hunter

Emily Brightwell
Authors:
Emily Brightwell

Sir Edmund Leggett is flattered to be stalked by a young lady. But she soon makes herself scarce after he's murdered in cold blood. The police hold the young woman to blame. But Inspector Witherspoon has other ideas and consults his housekeeper, Mrs. Jeffries - who always gets to the heart of the matter.Praise for the Mrs Jeffries Mysteries:'It's murder most English all the way!' The Literary Times'Fascinating murder mystery . . . wit and style . . . a winning series. Mrs. Jeffries is the Miss Marple of Victorian Mystery' The Paperback Forum

Constable

Mrs Jeffries and the Silent Knight

Emily Brightwell
Authors:
Emily Brightwell
Constable

Mrs Jeffries and the Best Laid Plans

Emily Brightwell
Authors:
Emily Brightwell
Constable

Mrs Jeffries and the Feast of St Stephen

Emily Brightwell
Authors:
Emily Brightwell
Constable

Murder in Montparnasse

Kerry Greenwood
Authors:
Kerry Greenwood

The divine Phryne Fisher returns to lead another dance of intrigue.Seven Australian soldiers, carousing in Paris in 1918, unknowingly witness a murder and their presence has devastating consequences. Ten years later, two are dead - under very suspicious circumstances.Phryne's wharfie mates, Bert and Cec, appeal to her for help. They were part of this group of soldiers in 1918 and they fear for their lives and for those of the other three men. It's only as Phryne delves into the investigation that she, too, remembers being in Montparnasse on that very same day.While Phryne is occupied with memories of Montparnasse past and the race to outpace the murderer, she finds troubles of a different kind at home. Her lover, Lin Chung, is about to be married. And the effect this is having on her own usually peaceful household is disastrous.'Phryne Fisher is young, wealthy, beautiful, smart, confident and independently minded . and she has a knack for solving murders when she is not sipping a strengthening cocktail or planning another seduction.' - The Australian's Review of Books