Geoffrey Hindley - A Brief History of the Crusades - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £8.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781841197661
    • Publication date:25 Mar 2004
Books in this series

A Brief History of the Crusades

By Geoffrey Hindley

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

Islam and Christianity and their ancient struggle for world supremacy

Why did the medieval Church bless William of Normandy's invasion of Christian England in 1066 and authorise cultural genocide in Provence? How could a Christian army sack Christian Constantinople in 1204? Why did thousands of ordinary men and women, led by knights and ladies, kings and queens, embark on campaigns of fanatical conquest in the world of Islam? The word 'Crusade' came later, but the concept of a 'war for the faith' is an ancient one.

Geoffrey Hindley instructively unravels the story of the Christian military expeditions that have perturbed European history, troubled Christian consciences and embittered Muslim attitudes towards the West. He offers a lively record of the Crusades, from the Middle East to the pagan Baltic, and fascinating portraits of the major personalities, from Godfrey of Bouillon, the first Latin ruler of Jerusalem, to Etienne, the visionary French peasant boy who inspired the tragic Children's Crusade. Addressing questions rarely considered, Hindley sheds new light on pressing issues surrounding religious division and shows how the Crusades have helped to shape the modern world and relations between Christian and Muslim countries to this day.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781472107619
  • Publication date: 07 Feb 2013
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Robinson
Sphere

It Was Her

Mark Hill
Authors:
Mark Hill
Running Press Adult

By Hand

Nicole Miyuki Santo
Authors:
Nicole Miyuki Santo

Little, Brown Young Readers US

CatStronauts: Robot Rescue

Drew Brockington
Authors:
Drew Brockington

In the fourth book in the CatStronauts graphic novel series, the stalwart Cat-Stro-Bot is stranded, and the CatStronauts have to stage an off the books robot rescue! Cat-Stro-Bot has been with the CatStronauts through it all. He's saved the team as a stowaway on their mission to the moon, brought the team back from a crash on Mars, and co-piloted the crucial shuttle in the dreaded space station situation.But now Cat-Stro-Bot is stranded on Jupiter's coldest moon after a mission gone wrong--and his best friend/creator Blanket isn't about to leave him behind. When CATSUP brass declines a rescue mission request, Blanket creates robot stand-ins for the team. Soon, the rest of the CatStronauts, Major Meowser, Pom Pom and Waffles, are off on their longest journey ever with experimental new technology. The robot rescue is afoot! In this full-color graphic novel, debut author/illustrator Drew Brockington takes the CatStronauts to the brink, adding in mounds of robot glitches, wonky cover-ups, and fish jokes by the ton!

Hachette Books

The Clear Skin Diet

Nina Nelson, Randa Nelson
Authors:
Nina Nelson, Randa Nelson
Life and Style

The Freds at Barneys New York Cookbook

Mark Strausman, Susan Littlefield
Authors:
Mark Strausman, Susan Littlefield
Hachette Audio

What We Did

Christobel Kent
Authors:
Christobel Kent
Orbit

The Skaar Invasion: Book Two of the Fall of Shannara

Terry Brooks
Authors:
Terry Brooks

Following The Black Elfstone comes the second book in the triumphant four-part conclusion to the Shannara series, from one of the all-time masters of fantasy.Tensions in the Four Lands are high. The mysterious force that laid waste to Paranor has revealed a more human face. While some gain a new understanding of the invaders and what they are after, others continue their existing quests even as the peril rises. For what looked to be a formidable invading force proves only the forerunner of a much vaster army - one that is now marching against the Four Lands in all its fury.'Terry's place is at the head of the fantasy world' Phillip Pullman'I can't even begin to count how many of Terry Brooks's books I've read (and re-read) over the years' Patrick Rothfuss'I would not be writing epic fantasy today if not for Shannara' Peter V. Brett'A master of the craft . . . required reading' Brent Weeks

Running Press Kids

The Battle of Junk Mountain

Lauren Abbey Greenberg
Authors:
Lauren Abbey Greenberg

For fans of Rebecca Stead and Jennifer L. Holm, this is an atmospheric summer beach read for middle school readers. Twelve-year-old Shayne Whittaker has always spent summers on the Maine coast, visiting her grandmother Bea and playing with her BFF Poppy. Both Shayne and Bea are treasure seekers, in their own ways: Bea trolls flea markets and garage sales for valuable finds, while Shayne revels in golden memories of gorging on lobster rolls, searching for sea glass, and weaving friendship bracelets with Poppy. This summer, though, everything has changed. Poppy would rather talk about boys than bracelets, and Bea's collecting mania has morphed into hoarding. Only Linc, the weird boy next door who is obsessed with the Civil War, seems to care about her. Turns out Linc's coveting a treasure of his own. What begins as the worst summer of Shayne's life becomes the most memorable as she learns when to hang on, when to let go, and how to find treasures in unexpected places.

Little, Brown Young Readers US

The Star Thief

Lindsey Becker
Authors:
Lindsey Becker
Robinson

A Brief History of Magna Carta, 2nd Edition

Geoffrey Hindley
Authors:
Geoffrey Hindley

2015 marks the 800th anniversary of the signing of Magna Carta, the influence of which is still felt today around the world. In 1215 the barons of England forced King John to sign a revolutionary document which would change the political landscape not only of thirteenth-century Britain, but of the modern world. Magna Carta was the forerunner of the constitution that limited the powers of the crown and its echoes can be found in the seventeenth-century Civil Wars, the struggles for American Independence, the work of Thomas Paine and in the bedrock constitutional legislation of just about every democratic country today. As civil Liberties and the rule of law are increasingly brought into question throughout the world, leading medieval historian Geoffrey Hindley breathes vivid life into the story behind the signing of Magna Carta, and reveals the undiminished significance of this ancient document in today's world.

Piatkus

Duchess in Love

Eloisa James
Authors:
Eloisa James
Abacus

A Shed Of One's Own

Marcus Berkmann
Authors:
Marcus Berkmann
Piatkus

Beyond Temptation

Audrey Boss, Sophie Boss
Authors:
Audrey Boss, Sophie Boss

In Beyond Temptation Sophie and Audrey Boss offer a radical alternative to the tried and tested methods used to combat overeating which either encourage women to rely on willpower alone, or legitimise overeating by providing lists of 'free foods' on which women are actively encouraged to binge.This book doesn't rely on NLP, CBT or life coaching techniques, but instead draws on the authors' own experiences as two overweight and unhappy overeaters and their ten years of experience working with thousands of failed dieters in the 'Beyond Chocolate' workshops and the successful techniques used in their newly established 'Stop Overeating' workshops to offer women a practical, sustainable approach to stopping overeating and achieving long term weight loss.

Piatkus

Chaos in Death/Possession in Death

J. D. Robb
Authors:
J. D. Robb
Orbit

Caliban's War

James S. A. Corey
Authors:
James S. A. Corey

NOW A MAJOR TV SERIES FROM NETFLIXCaliban's War is the second book in the New York Times bestselling Expanse series. For someone who didn't intend to wreck the solar system's fragile balance of power, Jim Holden did a pretty good job of it.While Earth and Mars have stopped shooting each other, the core alliance is shattered. The outer planets and the Belt are uncertain in their new - possibly temporary - autonomy.Then, on one of Jupiter's moons, a single super-soldier attacks, slaughtering soldiers of Earth and Mars indiscriminately and reigniting the war. The race is on to discover whether this is the vanguard of an alien army, or if the danger lies closer to home.The Expanse series has sold over two million copies worldwide and is now a major television series.Praise for the Expanse: 'The science fictional equivalent of A Song of Ice and Fire' NPR Books'As close as you'll get to a Hollywood blockbuster in book form' io9.com'Great characters, excellent dialogue, memorable fights' wired.com'High adventure equalling the best space opera has to offer, cutting-edge technology and a group of unforgettable characters . . . Perhaps one of the best tales the genre has yet to produce' Library Journal'This is the future the way it's supposed to be' Wall Street Journal'Tense and thrilling' SciFiNow

Robinson

A Brief History of the Magna Carta

Geoffrey Hindley
Authors:
Geoffrey Hindley
Abacus

The Day of the Lie

William Brodrick
Authors:
William Brodrick
Abacus

A Mountain In Tibet

Charles Allen
Authors:
Charles Allen
Yen Press

Chocolat: Vol. 8

Ji-Sang Shin, Geo
Contributors:
Ji-Sang Shin, Geo
Robinson

A Brief History of the Anglo-Saxons

Geoffrey Hindley
Authors:
Geoffrey Hindley

Starting AD 400 (around the time of their invasion of England) and running through to the 1100s (the 'Aftermath'), historian Geoffrey Hindley shows the Anglo-Saxons as formative in the history not only of England but also of Europe. The society inspired by the warrior world of the Old English poem Beowulf saw England become the world's first nation state and Europe's first country to conduct affairs in its own language, and Bede and Boniface of Wessex establish the dating convention we still use today. Including all the latest research, this is a fascinating assessment of a vital historical period.