Chris Brookmyre - Jaggy Splinters - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Jaggy Splinters

By Chris Brookmyre

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

Everyone's favourite unorthodox journalist, Jack Parlabane, goes undercover to investigate the mysterious and lucrative world of alternative medicine: in particular the practice of homeopathy. Are there unexplained forces that can be harnessed to heal us, or is it all a load of sugar? Meanwhile a sinister tale of restorative justice and the occult takes an even darker turn; two body-snatchers find more than they bargained for when raiding a morgue; and a contract killer finds that fatherhood has sent him on the straight and narrow . . . sort of.

Fast paced and wickedly entertaining, Jaggy Splinters is a dark, twisted and hilarious collection of short stories from bestselling author Chris Brookmyre.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781405518345
  • Publication date: 07 Jun 2012
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Abacus
Abacus

Siege Mentality

Chris Brookmyre
Authors:
Chris Brookmyre

Orbit

Places in the Darkness

Chris Brookmyre
Authors:
Chris Brookmyre

'This is as close to a city without crime as mankind has ever seen.'There has never been a homicide on Ciudad de Cielo. It's the 'city in the sky', where hundreds of scientists and engineers live and work in Earth's orbit, building the colony ship that will one day take humanity to the stars.When the mutilated body of a common criminal is found on CdC, the eyes of the world are watching - multiple governments and corporations have a stake in catching humanity's first spacebound killer. Top-of-the-class investigator Blake is sent to team up with CdC's Freeman - a jaded cop with no interest in working with a rookie from Earth. But the mismatched duo must learn to cooperate quickly, before they become the killer's next victims . . .

Little, Brown

Want You Gone

Chris Brookmyre
Authors:
Chris Brookmyre
Little, Brown

Black Widow

Chris Brookmyre
Authors:
Chris Brookmyre

'A celtic Gone Girl... guaranteed to keep you guessing'Ian Rankin*****WINNER Theakston Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year**********WINNER Bloody Scotland McIlvanney Prize for Crime Novel of the Year*****Twists abound in the brilliant new psychological thriller from master author Chris Brookmyre - perfect for readers of The Girl on the Train, I See You and Disclaimer.Did she do it? Did he deserve it?Diana Jager is clever, strong and successful, a skilled surgeon and fierce campaigner via her blog about sexism. Yet it takes only hours for her life to crumble when her personal details are released on the internet as revenge for her writing.Then she meets Peter. He's kind, generous, and knows nothing about her past: the second chance she's been waiting for. Within six months, they are married. Within six more, Peter is dead in a road accident, a nightmare end to their fairytale romance.But Peter's sister Lucy doesn't believe in fairytales, and tasks maverick reporter Jack Parlabane with discovering the dark truth behind the woman the media is calling Black Widow...'Black Widow is a stand-out thriller'Renee Knight, author of Disclaimer

Abacus

Dead Girl Walking

Chris Brookmyre
Authors:
Chris Brookmyre

Life is dangerous when you have everything to lose.Famous, beautiful and talented, Heike Gunn has the world at her feet. Then, one day, she simply vanishes.Jack Parlabane has lost everything: his journalism career, his marriage, his self-respect. A call for help from an old friend offers a chance for redemption - but only if he can find out what happened to Heike.Pursued by those who would punish him for past crimes, Parlabane enters the world of Heike's band, Savage Earth Heart, a group at breaking point. Each of its members seems to be hiding something, not least its newest recruit Monica Halcrow, whose possible relationship with Heike has become a public obsession.Monica's own story, however, reveals a far darker truth. Fixated on Heike from day one, she has been engulfed by paranoia, jealousy and fear, as she discovers the hidden price of fame. From Berlin to Barcelona, from the streets of Milan to remote Scottish islands, Parlabane must find out what happened before it's too late, all while the walls are closing in on him...

Little, Brown

The Last Day of Christmas

Chris Brookmyre
Authors:
Chris Brookmyre

Snowy London, a few days before Christmas, and a civil servant realises she has a chance for revenge.Kendra has spent her whole life struggling against the Etonian powers-that-be, so when she realises her boss is up to no good, she turns whistleblower, calling a journalist who is looking for a way to fight back himself.Jack Parlabane is a hack who will go to desperate lengths for a good story, and these days desperate is the word.Reduced to peddling PR puff pieces, Parlabane is delighted when Kendra's information threatens to blow up a national corruption case at the highest levels. But as he follows the threads and others get wind of his investigation, Parlabane realises this story might prove dangerous to both of them.This is one Christmas present Parlabane might regret opening.Suspense, conspiracy and Jack Parlabane - a journalist who doesn't know what's good for him - lie within this superb short story prequel to the forthcoming novel Dead Girl Walking.

Little, Brown

Flesh Wounds

Chris Brookmyre
Authors:
Chris Brookmyre

One crime brought them together . . .Private investigator Jasmine Sharp should have wanted him dead.Yet somehow, Jasmine bonded with Glen Fallan, the man who killed her father before she was born. Now he has been arrested for the murder of a local gangster, and Jasmine must finally enter his violent domain to seek answers.. . . a second will break them apartDetective Superintendent Catherine McLeod is in fear for her life.When she discovers a symbol daubed on the head of Fallan's alleged victim, it unearths secrets that will threaten everything Catherine holds dear.One murder. Two women. A lifetime of lies revealed.

Abacus

When The Devil Drives

Chris Brookmyre
Authors:
Chris Brookmyre
Abacus

Where The Bodies Are Buried

Chris Brookmyre
Authors:
Chris Brookmyre

A. J. McCreanor

A. J. McCreanor, who also writes as Anne Randall, was born in Glasgow and after university taught English in various secondary schools in inner Glasgow. In 2011 she won first prize for crime fiction writing at the Wells Literature Festival. She now lives in Glastonbury with her husband, two cats and one dog.Riven, the first book in the Wheeler and Ross series, was written under A. J. McCreanor, while further books in series are written under the name Anne Randall.

Ashley Dyer

Ashley Dyer is the pseudonym for novelist Margaret Murphy working in consultation with policing and forensics expert, Helen Pepper. Margaret Murphy is a Writing Fellow and Reading Round Lector for the Royal Literary Fund, a past Chair of the Crime Writers Association (CWA), and founder of Murder Squad. A CWA Short Story Dagger winner, she has been shortlisted for the First Blood critics' award for crime fiction as well as the CWA Dagger in the Library. She has written novels under her own name, and as A.D. Garrett.Helen Pepper is a Senior Lecturer in Policing. She has been an analyst, Forensic Scientist, Scene of Crime Officer, CSI, and Crime Scene Manager, and has co-authored, as well as contributed to, professional policing texts. Her expertise is in great demand with crime writers: she is a judge for the CWA's Non-Fiction Dagger award, and is Forensic Consultant on both the Vera and Shetland television series.Twitter: @AshleyDyer2017Website: Ashley-Dyer.com

Cath Staincliffe

Cath Staincliffe is an award winning novelist, radio playwright and creator of ITV's hit series Blue Murder. Cath's books have been shortlisted for the CWA Best First Novel award. She was joint winner of the CWA Short Story Dagger in 2012. Letters To My Daughter's Killer was selected for the Specsavers Crime Thriller Book Club on ITV3 in 2014. Cath also writes the Scott & Bailey books based on the popular ITV series. She lives with her family in Manchester.

Catriona McPherson

Catriona McPherson formerly an English lecturer at Leeds University, now divides her time between California and Scotland. She writes full time.

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles is the author of the hugely popular Morland Dynasty novels, which have captivated and enthralled readers for decades. She is also the author of the contemporary Bill Slider Mystery series, as well as her new series, War at Home, which is an epic family drama set against the backdrop of World War I. Cynthia's passions are music, wine, horses, architecture and the English countryside.

Elizabeth Chadwick

Much of Elizabeth Chadwick's research is carried out as a member of Regia Anglorum, an early mediaeval re-enactment society with emphasis on accurately re-creating the past. She also tutors in the skill of writing historial and romantic fiction. She won a Betty Trask Award for The Wild Hunt and has been shortlisted for the RNA Awards four times.

Frances Brody

Frances Brody is a pseudonym for Frances McNeil, author of four novels and winner of the Elizabeth Elgin Award for best new saga of the millennium for Somewhere Behind the Morning. Frances has written many stories and plays for BBC radio, and scripts for television. Her stage plays have been toured by several theatre companies and produced at Manchester Library Theatre, the Gate and Theatr Clwyd, with Jehad nominated for a Time Out Award. Frances lived in the USA for a time before studying at Ruskin College, Oxford, reading English Literature and History at York University, teaching English and History at Bradford College and tutoring writing courses for the Arvon Foundation. She lives in Leeds where she was born and grew up. Visit her at www.frances-brody.com

Hania Allen

Hania Allen was born in Liverpool, but has lived in Scotland longer than anywhere else, having come to love the people and the country (despite nine months of rain and three months of bad weather). Of Polish descent, her father was stationed in St Andrews during the war, and spoke so fondly of the town that she applied to study at the University.She has worked as a researcher, a mathematics teacher, an IT officer and finally in senior management, a post she left to write full time. She is the author of the Von Valenti novels and now lives in a fishing village in Fife.

James Renner

James Renner is the author of two books of nonfiction that detail his adventures in investigative journalism: Amy: My Search for Her Killer and The Serial Killer's Apprentice. His work has been featured in Best American Crime Reporting and Best Creative Nonfiction. He lives in Ohio.

Keigo Higashino

Keigo Higashino was born in Osaka. He started writing novels while still working as an engineer at Nippon Denso Co. He won the Edogawa Rampo Prize for writing at age 27, and subsequently quit his job to start a career as a writer in Tokyo.

Mark Hardie

Mark Hardie began writing full time after completely losing his eyesight in 2002. He has completed a creative writing course and an advanced creative writing course at the Open University, both with distinction.