Simon Morden - The Curve of the Earth - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £9.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780356501826
    • Publication date:19 Mar 2013
Books in this series

The Curve of the Earth

By Simon Morden

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

An action-packed new science fiction thriller set in the world of the Philip K. Dick Award-winning Samuil Petrovitch novels

WELCOME TO THE METROZONE

Post-apocalyptic London, full of street gangs and homeless refugees. A dangerous city needs an equally dangerous saviour.

Step forward Samuil Petrovitch, a genius with extensive cybernetic replacements, a built-in AI with god-like capabilities and a full armoury of Russian swear words. He's dragged the city back from the brink more than once - and made a few enemies on the way.

So when his adopted daughter Lucy goes missing in Alaska, he has some clue who's responsible and why. It never occurs to him that guessing wrong could tip the delicate balance of nuclear-armed nations. This time it's not just a city that needs saving: it's the whole world.

Biographical Notes

Dr Simon Morden is a bona fide rocket scientist, having degrees in geology and planetary geophysics, and is one of the few people who can truthfully claim to have held a chunk of Mars in his hands. Simon Morden lives in Gateshead with a fierce lawyer, two unruly children and a couple of miniature panthers.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781405516761
  • Publication date: 19 Mar 2013
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Orbit
Orbit

Outer Earth

Rob Boffard
Authors:
Rob Boffard

Welcome to Outer Earth: a vivid, dangerous world where every day is a desperate struggle for survival. Who said in space no one can hear you scream?Outer Earth is a huge space station orbiting the ruins of our planet. Dirty, overcrowded and inescapable, it's humanity's last refuge . . . and possibly its final resting place.For there are dark forces at work on the station: forces that seek to unleash chaos. If they succeed, there will be nowhere left to run. This omnibus edition contains all three of Rob Boffard's adrenaline-fuelled Outer Earth novels: Tracer, Zero-G and Impact.

Orbit

Beyond the Empire

K. B. Wagers
Authors:
K. B. Wagers

The adrenaline-fueled, explosive conclusion to the Indranan War trilogy by K. B. Wagers.Gunrunner-turned-Empress Hail Bristol was dragged back to her home planet to take her rightful place in the palace. Her sisters and parents have been murdered, and the Indranan Empire is reeling from both treasonous plots and foreign invasion.Now, on the run from enemies on all fronts, Hail prepares to fight a full-scale war for her throne and her people, even as she struggles with the immense weight of the legacy thrust upon her. With the aid of a motley crew of allies old and new, she must return home to face off with the same powerful enemies who killed her family and aim to destroy everything and everyone she loves. Untangling a legacy of lies and restoring peace to Indrana will require an empress's wrath and a gunrunner's justice.Beyond the Empire is the adrenalin-fueled conclusion to the Indranan War space adventure trilogy by K. B. Wagers - perfect for fans of Star Wars.

Orbit

Into the Drowning Deep

Mira Grant
Authors:
Mira Grant
Orbit

Places in the Darkness

Chris Brookmyre
Authors:
Chris Brookmyre

Orbit

Babylon's Ashes

James S. A. Corey
Authors:
James S. A. Corey

A revolution brewing for generations has begun in fire. It will end in blood.The Free Navy - a violent group of Belters in black-market military ships - has crippled the Earth and begun a campaign of piracy and violence among the outer planets. The colony ships heading for the thousand new worlds on the far side of the alien ring gates are easy prey, and no single navy remains strong enough to protect them.James Holden and his crew know the strengths and weaknesses of this new force better than anyone. Outnumbered and outgunned, the embattled remnants of the old political powers call on the Rocinante for a desperate mission to reach Medina Station at the heart of the gate network. But the new alliances are as flawed as the old, and the struggle for power has only just begun. As the chaos grows, an alien mystery deepens. Pirate fleets, mutiny and betrayal may be the least of the Rocinante's problems. And in the uncanny spaces past the ring gates, the choices of a few damaged and desperate people may determine the fate of more than just humanity.

Orbit

Forbidden Suns

D. Nolan Clark
Authors:
D. Nolan Clark
Hachette Audio

The Eternity War: Pariah

Jamie Sawyer
Authors:
Jamie Sawyer
Hachette Audio

The Stone Sky

N. K. Jemisin
Authors:
N. K. Jemisin
Orbit

Raid

K. S. Merbeth
Authors:
K. S. Merbeth

Clementine is a bounty-hunter in a world gone mad. Bound and gagged in her passenger seat is the most revered and reviled raider king in the eastern wastes. She can't cash him in and she can't let him go, so together they cross the wasteworld, following a dying road and dodging bloodthirsty raiders who either want to free Jedediah or claim him as their own. And in a world where lawlessness reigns, a tyrant worse than they could have ever imagined emerges to take the throne.

Orbit

Strange Dogs

James S. A. Corey
Authors:
James S. A. Corey
Orbit

The Delirium Brief

Charles Stross
Authors:
Charles Stross
Orbit

Besieged

Kevin Hearne
Authors:
Kevin Hearne

THE NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLING SERIESThe ancient gods are alive and well in the modern world . . . Discover this action-packed collection of short stories featuring Atticus O'Sullivan - the two-thousand-year-old tattooed Irishman with extraordinary powers from Kevin Hearne's New York Times bestselling Iron Druid Chronicles.- In ancient Egypt, Atticus raids a secret chamber underneath the library of Alexandria, dodging deadly traps, only to learn that on-site security includes two members of the Egyptian pantheon . . .- During the Gold Rush, the avatar of greed himself turns the streets of San Francisco red with blood and upsets the elemental Sequoia. Atticus may have to fight fire with fire if he's going to restore balance . . . - In olde England, striking up a friendship with William Shakespeare lands both Atticus and the Bard in boiling hot water with a trio of infamous witches . . . Prepare to be besieged by these and other tantalizing tales of magic and adventure featuring bogeymen, vampire hordes, wrathful wraiths, and even a journey to the realm of the dead. 'Atticus and his crew are a breath of fresh air! . . . I love, love love this series' My Bookish Ways'Hearne is a terrific storyteller' SFF World

Orbit

Forgotten Worlds

D. Nolan Clark
Authors:
D. Nolan Clark

The battle is over. But the war has only just begun. Aleister Lanoe has won a stunning victory against the alien armada that threatened Niraya, but it's not enough to satisfy his desire for vengeance. He won't rest until he's located the armada's homeworld and reduced it to ashes. Yet his personal vendetta will have to wait. Lanoe now faces a desperate race against time, and the merciless Centrocor corporation, if he's to secure the Earth's future - and discover the truth he seeks.

Orbit

The Boy on the Bridge

M. R. Carey
Authors:
M. R. Carey
Orbit

Bound

Benedict Jacka
Authors:
Benedict Jacka

Alex Verus can see the future. But he never thought he'd see this day.Manoeuvred by forces beyond his control, the probability mage has made a terrible choice: he's agreed to work for his old master once more.Richard Drakh, the sadistic dark mage Alex escaped as an apprentice, has him in his clutches again. And this time, he won't let go so easily.

Orbit

New York 2140

Kim Stanley Robinson
Authors:
Kim Stanley Robinson
Orbit

Forsaken Skies

D. Nolan Clark
Authors:
D. Nolan Clark

'Gripping writing, a brilliantly realised future culture and sympathetic characters . . . An entertaining and compelling read' SFXFEAR THE SILENCEAfter centuries of devastating interplanetary civil war, mankind has found a time of relative peace. That peace is shattered when an unknown armada emerges from the depths of space, targeting an isolated colony planet. As the colonists plead for help, the politicians and bureacrats look away. But battle-scarred Commander Aleister Lanoe will not abandon thousands of innocents to their fate. FORSAKEN SKIES IS THE EXPLOSIVE FIRST NOVEL FROM D. NOLAN CLARK, AN EPIC TALE OF A FIGHT AGAINST THE ODDS - AND THE TERROR OF REALISING THAT WE'RE NO LONGER ALONE IN THE COLD VACUUM OF SPACE.

Orbit

After the Crown

K. B. Wagers
Authors:
K. B. Wagers
Orbit

Impact

Rob Boffard
Authors:
Rob Boffard

Following Tracer and Zero-G comes Impact, the explosive conclusion to the Outer Earth trilogy - a heart-pounding thriller set in space where the hero moves like lightning and the consequences for failure are deadly.A signal has been picked up from Earth.The planet was supposed to be uninhabitable. But it seems there are survivors down there - with supplies, shelter and running water. Perhaps there could be a future for humanity on Earth after all.Riley Hale will find out soon enough. She's stuck on a spaceship with the group of terrorists that is planning to brave the planet's atmosphere and crash-land on the surface.But when the re-entry goes wrong, Riley ends up hundreds of miles from her companions Prakesh and Carver, alone in a barren wilderness. She'll have to use everything she knows to survive. And all of them are about to find out that nothing on Earth is what it seems . . .

Orbit

The Lazarus War: Origins

Jamie Sawyer
Authors:
Jamie Sawyer