Eudora Welty - The Optimist's Daughter - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Books in this series

The Optimist's Daughter

By Eudora Welty

  • Paperback
  • £9.99

A reflective, poignant novel of independence and love from one of America's greatest contemporary Southern writers.

The people of Mount Salus, Mississippi always felt good about Judge McKelva. He was a quiet, solid reassuring figure, just as a judge should be. Then, ten years after his first wife's death, he marries the frivolous young Wanda Fay. No-one can understand his action, not least his beloved daughter, Laurel, who finds it hard to accept the new bride. It is only some years later, when circumstance brings her back to her childhood home, that Laurel stirs old memories and comes to understand the peculiarities of her upbringing, and the true relationship between her parents and herself.

The Optimist's Daughter is a reflective, poignant novel of independence and love, for which Eudora Welty, one of America's gretest contemporary Southern writers, was awarded the Pulitzer Prize.

Biographical Notes

Eudora Welty was born in 1908 in Jackson, Mississippi which is where she still makes her home. One of America's most distinguished writers, she has published five novels and as many volumes of short stories. She was awarded the Pulitzer Prize in 1973.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780860683759
  • Publication date: 18 Oct 1984
  • Page count: 192
  • Imprint: Virago
Her last, most autobiographical, and finest novel — Independent
A gentle, tender work, bright with Welty's sharp humour and pioneer sense of place. — Guardian
Sphere

Inheritance

Jenny Eclair
Authors:
Jenny Eclair
Abacus

Miracle on Cherry Hill

Sun-mi Hwang
Authors:
Sun-mi Hwang
Virago

Noel Streatfeild’s Holiday Stories

Noel Streatfeild, Peter Bailey
Contributors:
Noel Streatfeild, Peter Bailey
Little, Brown

The Last Adventure of Napoleon Sunshine

Pascal Ruter
Authors:
Pascal Ruter
Corsair

The Other Mother

Matthew Green
Authors:
Matthew Green
Sphere

Blackpool's Daughter

Maggie Mason
Authors:
Maggie Mason

The perfect read for fans of Mary Wood, Kitty Neale, Val Wood and Nadine DorriesClara is forced to flee her home as the Nazis invade the beautiful island of GuernseySeparated from her mother, far away from anything familiar, she is at the mercy of a cruel shopkeeper. Clara is worked like a dog, but the warmth of her Blackpool friendships will go far to save her. Julia just wants to find her beloved daughter - but the trials of war will keep them far apart. They will meet again - but the war will change everything for mother and daughter...

Little, Brown

The Lost Man

Jane Harper
Authors:
Jane Harper
Constable

Splash!

Stephen Glover
Authors:
Stephen Glover
Dialogue Books

XX

Angela Chadwick
Authors:
Angela Chadwick
Hachette Australia

Terra Nullius

Claire G. Coleman
Authors:
Claire G. Coleman
Virago

The Heart Goes Last

Margaret Atwood
Authors:
Margaret Atwood

By the author of The Handmaid's Tale and Alias GraceStan and Charmaine are a married couple trying to stay afloat in the midst of economic and social collapse. Living in their car, surviving on tips from Charmaine's job at a dive bar, they're increasingly vulnerable to roving gangs and in a rather desperate state. So when they see an advertisement for the Positron Project in the town of Consilience - a 'social experiment' offering stable jobs and a home of their own - they sign up immediately. All they have to do in return for this suburban paradise is give up their freedom every second month, swapping their home for a prison cell. At first, all is well. But slowly, unknown to the other, Stan and Charmaine develop a passionate obsession with their counterparts, the couple that occupy their home when they are in prison. Soon the pressures of conformity, mistrust, guilt and sexual desire take over, and Positron looks less like a prayer answered and more like a chilling prophecy fulfilled.

Sphere

On the Other Side

Carrie Hope Fletcher
Authors:
Carrie Hope Fletcher

THE NO. 1 SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLER 'Reminded me so much of Cecelia Ahern' Ali McNamara'Utterly enchanting' Jill Mansell'Our go-to for spellbinding stories with a magical edge' HeatCarrie's BRAND NEW novel - When the Curtain Falls - is coming July 2018! *******************************Your soul is too heavy to pass through this door, Leave the weight of the world in the world from beforeEvie Snow is eighty-two when she quietly passes away in her sleep, surrounded by her children and grandchildren. It's the way most people wish to leave the world but when Evie reaches the door of her own private heaven, she finds that she's become her twenty-seven-year-old self and the door won't open.Evie's soul must be light enough to pass through so she needs to get rid of whatever is making her soul heavy. For Evie, this means unburdening herself of the three secrets that have weighed her down for over fifty years, so she must find a way to reveal them before it's too late. As Evie begins the journey of a lifetime, she learns more about life and love than she ever thought possible, and somehow, some way, she may also find her way back to the only man she ever truly loved . . .Powerful, magical and utterly romantic, On the Other Side will transport you to a world that is impossible to forget. A love story like no other, it will have you weeping from the sheer joy and beauty of it all.

Piatkus

The Other Me

Saskia Sarginson
Authors:
Saskia Sarginson
Abacus

Everything I Never Told You

Celeste Ng
Authors:
Celeste Ng

'There is much here that might impress Pulitzer and Man Booker judges...Ng brilliantly depicts the destruction that parents can inflict on their children and on each other' Mark Lawson, Guardian Lydia is the favourite child of Marilyn and James Lee; a girl who inherited her mother's bright blue eyes and her father's jet-black hair. Her parents are determined that Lydia will fulfill the dreams they were unable to pursue - in Marilyn's case that her daughter become a doctor rather than a homemaker, in James's case that Lydia be popular at school, a girl with a busy social life and the centre of every party. But Lydia is under pressures that have nothing to do with growing up in 1970s small town Ohio. Her father is an American born of first-generation Chinese immigrants, and his ethnicity, and hers, make them conspicuous in any setting. When Lydia's body is found in the local lake, James is consumed by guilt and sets out on a reckless path that may destroy his marriage. Marilyn, devastated and vengeful, is determined to make someone accountable, no matter what the cost. Lydia's older brother, Nathan, is convinced that local bad boy Jack is somehow involved. But it's the youngest in the family - Hannah - who observes far more than anyone realises and who may be the only one who knows what really happened. And if you loved Everything I Never Told You, don't miss Celeste Ng's second novel Little Fires Eveywhere, now availableWhat readers are saying:'Devastating...A truly tragic but devastatingly well written book''Ng is a true craftsman. I implore you to read this. Also my favourite ending of a novel so far this year''This is the best book I have read this year''Really enjoyed this book, deeply moving, sad and thought provoking'

Piatkus

Inspector Singh Investigates: A Calamitous Chinese Killing

Shamini Flint
Authors:
Shamini Flint

Inspector Singh is on a mission to China, against his better judgment. The son of a bigwig at the Singapore Embassy has been bludgeoned to death in a back alley in Beijing. The Chinese security insist that he was the victim of a robbery gone wrong, but the young man's mother demands that Singapore's finest (in his own opinion) rides to the rescue.But solving a murder in a country that practices socialism 'with Chinese characteristics' is a dangerous business. And it soon becomes apparent that getting to the bottom of this calamitous killing will be his toughest case yet . . .

Virago

Sisters By A River

Barbara Comyns
Authors:
Barbara Comyns

On the banks of the River Avon, five sisters are born. The seasons come and go, the girls take their lessons under the ash tree, and always there is the sound of water swirling through the weir. Then, unexpectedly, an air of decay descends upon the house: ivy grows unchecked over the windows, angry shouts split the summer air, the milk sours in the larder and their father takes out his gun. Tragedy strikes the family, and before long the furniture is being auctioned off and the sisters dispersed among relatives. In her daring first novel, originally published in 1947, Barbara Comyns' unique young heroine relates the vivid, funny and bittersweet story of a childhood.

Sphere

Just Another Manic Mum-Day

Mink Elliott
Authors:
Mink Elliott

Roxy, Jack and daughter Joey, three, are building a new life for themselves in sunny Sydney, Australia, but Roxy's finding it hard to settle down. When she discovers she's pregnant again, things become even more complicated - how will she cope with a second child?Frustrated at the lack of places for stressed-out mums to go, Roxy and her new friend, Shoshanna, set up Just Another Manic Mum-Day - a café catering exclusively for parents. But when an opportunity arises for Roxy to return to England, she realises just how much she's missed home . . .

Sphere

The Circus Of Ghosts

Barbara Ewing
Authors:
Barbara Ewing

New York, late 1840s, and in the wild, noisy, brash and beautiful circus of Silas P. Swift a shadowy, mesmeric woman entrances crowds because she can unlock the secrets of troubled minds. Above them all her daughter sweeps and soars: acrobat and tightrope-walker. People cannot take their eyes from the mysterious woman in the Big Top who can help so many others - but she cannot unlock dark, literally unspeakable, memories of her own. In London memories fester in the mind of an old and venomous duke of the realm. He plots, with an unscrupulous lawyer (and a huge financial reward) against the mother and the daughter: to kill one, and to abduct the other and bring her across the Atlantic to him: She is mine. The actress and mesmerist Cordelia Preston and her daughter Gwenlliam live with their unusual family in the exciting new city among exciting new ideas: the telegraph, the daguerrotype, anaesthesia, table-tapping. And among the dangerous street-gangs of New York also, whose raw violence meets Cordelia and Gwenlliam and those that they love, with unexpected results.

Sphere

Safe Haven

Nicholas Sparks
Authors:
Nicholas Sparks

Love hurts. There is nothing as painful as heartbreak. But in order to learn to love again you must learn to trust again.When a mysterious young woman named Katie appears in the small town of Southport, her sudden arrival raises questions about her past. Beautiful yet unassuming, Katie is determined to avoid forming personal ties until a series of events draws her into two reluctant relationships.Despite her reservations, Katie slowly begins to let down her guard, putting down roots in the close-knit community. But even as Katie starts to fall in love, she struggles with the dark secret that still haunts her . . .

Sphere

A Walk To Remember

Nicholas Sparks
Authors:
Nicholas Sparks