Tom Wood - The Darkest Day - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780751556018
    • Publication date:27 Apr 2015
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781405534260
    • Publication date:19 Nov 2015
Books in this series

The Darkest Day

(Victor the Assassin 5)

By Tom Wood

  • Paperback
  • £7.99

One night. One target. A city in chaos.

Thriller master Tom Wood crafts a non-stop, explosive thriller as ruthless hitman Victor hunts female assassin Raven through a blacked-out Manhattan.

He is darkness. She wants him dead.
In a city starved of light, she might just succeed.

She moves like a shadow; she kills silently: Raven. This elegant assassin has been on the run for years. This time though, she has picked the wrong target.

The hitman known only as 'Victor' is as paranoid as he is merciless, and is no stranger to being hunted. He tracks his would-be killer across the globe, aiming not only to neutralise the threat, but to discover who wants him dead. The trail leads to New York...

And then the lights go out.

Over twelve hours of unremitting darkness, Manhattan dissolves into chaos. Amid looting, conspiracy and blackout, Victor and Raven play a vicious game of cat and mouse that the city will never forget.

Biographical Notes

Tom Wood is a full-time writer born in Burton-on-Trent who now lives in London. After a stint as freelance editor and film-maker, he completed his first novel, The Hunter, which was an instant bestseller and introduced readers to a genuine antihero, Victor, an assassin with a purely logical view on life and whose morals are deeply questionable. Like Victor, Tom is passionate about physical sport, being both a huge boxing fan and practising Krav Maga martial arts, which has seen him sustain a number of injuries. He has not, however, ever killed anyone.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780751556025
  • Publication date: 19 Nov 2015
  • Page count: 400
  • Imprint: Sphere
Fists, feet and bullets fly in this fast-paced thriller from the dark side of international espionage as gun-for-hire Victor tries work out if he should trust Raven, an equally enigmatic assassin, or kill her. Great insights into the tradecraft and psychology of the professional hunter. — Sunday Times
Fast paced, cinematic and violent — Sunday Mirror
Reading a Wood thriller about enigmatic assassin-for-hire Victor is like a high-ve­locity ride on a bullet — Peterborough Telegraph
The Darkest Day is a true thrill a minute, guns blazing, action packed novel — Open Book Society
Victor is a fascinating character . . . brilliant — Crime Thriller Girl
Expertly choreographed - few writers working in the genre at present can rival Wood's fluency at creating action scenes — Shots
[Victor] reminds me of Dexter - the serial killer who again by any societal moral standards everyone should hate and abhor, yet you simply had to love him — Mystery Sequels
Fast paced... will keep you on the edge of your seats — Liz Mistry, The Crimewarp
If you love Lee Child and you're looking for something new to keep you going, then Tom Wood is the man for you — Joan Mackenzie, Joan's Book Reviews
Piatkus

Solace Island

Meg Tilly
Authors:
Meg Tilly
Sphere

Gone By Dawn

Tom Wood
Authors:
Tom Wood
Sphere

Kill For Me

Tom Wood
Authors:
Tom Wood
Sphere

The Final Hour

Tom Wood
Authors:
Tom Wood
Abacus

The Girl in the Fog

Donato Carrisi
Authors:
Donato Carrisi

Sunday Times Crime Book Club Pick*Mail on Sunday Thriller of the Week'A coldly brilliant exposé of the depths of human nature' SUNDAY TIMES'Compelling, beautifully constructed and atmospheric' DAILY MAIL Sixty-two days after the disappearance . . .A man is arrested in the small town of Avechot. His shirt is covered in blood. Could this have anything to do with a missing girl called Anna Lou?What really happened to the girl? Detective Vogel will do anything to solve the mystery surrounding Anna Lou's disappearance. When a media storm hits the quiet town, Vogel is sure that the suspect will be flushed out. Yet the clues are confusing, perhaps false, and following them may be a far cry from discovering the truth at the heart of a dark town. FOR FANS OF DONNA LEON AND MICHELE GIUTTARI, GET READY FOR THE CRIME THRILLER OF THE YEAR. 'Carrisi is an expert at misdirection . . . this is a thoroughly disconcerting, addictive thriller guaranteed to freeze your soul' METRO

Sphere

A Time to Die

Tom Wood
Authors:
Tom Wood
Sphere

Better Off Dead

Tom Wood
Authors:
Tom Wood

Victor, a hitman without a conscience protects a human rights lawyer in Better Off Dead, he bestselling BBC Radio 2 Simon Mayo Book Club pick.A hitman must be anonymous, amoral... and aloneVictor is the face in the crowd you don't see, a perfect assassin with nothing to live for.But when an old friend turns to him for help, he finds he can't refuse. For once his objective isn't to kill, but to protect.Hunted through the streets of London by ruthless enemies, Victor needs to be more than just a bodyguard... but his every move leads danger closer to the very person he's vowed to defend.Published in the US as No Tomorrow.

Sphere

The Game

Tom Wood
Authors:
Tom Wood
Sphere

Bad Luck in Berlin

Tom Wood
Authors:
Tom Wood
Sphere

The Enemy

Tom Wood
Authors:
Tom Wood

An impossible mission, for a man who barely existsThe mysterious assassin known only as Victor is locked in an uneasy alliance with the CIA. And he has a list: three names, three victims. Worst of all, Victor is given just two days to take down his targets, forcing him to compromise his usual extreme care.With each name Victor crosses off his list, the game grows far more complex - and far more lethal. A conspiracy begins to unwind and suddenly this perfect assassin becomes the perfect target.Zooming from Moscow to London and Washington, and loaded with suspense, twists and sex appeal, The Enemy is a high-octane thrill-ride ideal for fans of Lee Child.

Sphere

The Hunter

Tom Wood
Authors:
Tom Wood

His name is a coverHe has no homeAnd he kills for a livingVictor is a hitman, a man with no past and no surname. His world is one of paranoia and obsessive attention to detail; his morality lies either dead or dying. No one knows what truly motivates the hunter. No one gets close enough to ask.When a Paris job goes spectacularly wrong, Victor finds himself running for his life across four continents, pursued by a kill squad and investigated by secret services from more than one country. With meticulous style, Victor plans his escape . . . and takes the fight to his would-be killers.In this first novel in the explosive Victor series, it's not about right and wrong - only about who lives and who dies.

C. J. Daugherty

International bestselling author C. J. Daugherty is a former newspaper reporter and crime writer. Her Night School series has been translated into 21 languages, and has been the number 1 best selling young adult book in Germany, Poland, France, and Israel, topping charts in countries around the world.

Caleb Carr

Caleb Carr is a military historian and a bestselling novelist, contributing editor to MHQ: The Quarterly Journal of Military History and contributor to the World Policy Journal.

Carol Smith

Carol Smith is the author of DARKENING ECHOES, KENSINGTON COURT, DOUBLE EXPOSURE, FAMILY REUNION, UNFINISHED BUSINESS and GRANDMOTHER'S FOOTSTEPS, all published by Little, Brown/Warner.

Christobel Kent

Christobel Kent was born in London and educated at Cambridge. She has lived variously in Essex, London and Italy. Her childhood included several years spent on a Thames sailing barge in Maldon, Essex with her father, stepmother, three siblings and four step-siblings. She now lives in both Cambridge and Florence with her husband and five children.

Christopher Ransom

Christopher Ransom is the author of internationally bestselling novels including The Birthing House and The People Next Door. He studied literature at Colorado State University and worked at Entertainment Weekly magazine in New York, and now lives near his hometown of Boulder, Colorado.

Cyrus Moore

Cyrus Moore is the writing name for Cyrus Mewawalla, a leading City analyst. After twenty years' experience in the City, Cyrus left corporate banking to set up independently. In 2006 Bloomberg ranked him the No.1 telecom analyst in the UK. He lives in London with his wife and two children.

Dan Simmons

Dan Simmons was born in Peoria, Illinois, in 1948, and grew up in various cities and small towns in the Midwest. He received his Masters in Education from Washington University in St. Louis in 1971. He worked in elementary education for eighteen years, winning awards for his innovative teaching, and became a full-time writer in 1987. Dan lives in Colorado with his wife, Karen, and has a daughter in her twenties. His books are published in twenty-nine counties and many of them have been optioned for film.

Denise Welch

Denise Welch was born in Whitley Bay in 1958. She is an award-winning actress, TV presenter and author of two Sunday Times bestselling autobiographies. Her many credits include Coronation St, Soldier Soldier, Waterloo Road and Boy Meets Girl, to name a few. She is also an accomplished theatre actress.Denise was a panelist on popular daytime show Loose Women for several years.She is married to artist Lincoln Townley and has two sons, Matthew and Louis, and stepson Lewis. She now lives a quiet, party-free life in rural Cheshire.

Dick Wolf

Dick Wolf, an award-winning writer, director, producer, and creator, is the architect of one of the most successful brands in the history of television - Law & Order, the longest running scripted show in television history. He has won numerous awards, including two Emmys, a Grammy, and an Edgar.