Judith Krantz - Scruples - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Scruples

By Judith Krantz

  • Paperback
  • £7.99

The cult classic reissued for its 35th anniversary - the original sexy read.

Scruples is a temple of high fashion where the rich and the super-chic can sip champagne, browse, gossip - and buy the most beautiful and expensive clothes in the world. Its owner Billy Ikehorn is stylish, beautiful and rich and her ruthless search for fulfilment leads her from lover to lover.

Then she meets the one man who can match her ambition and her passion . . .

From the romance of Paris and the streets of New York to the staggering luxury and wealth of Beverly Hills' Rodeo Drive, Scruples is the cult classic that everyone remembers: the original sexy read is back.

Biographical Notes

Judith Krantz is the author of ten bestselling novels, of which Scruples was her first. Recognised to be the original - and best - novel of its kind, Scruples lifted the lid for the first time on the lives of Rodeo Drive's rich and famous, establishing Krantz as an unrivalled storyteller and master of her genre.

Judith lives in California.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780751551266
  • Publication date: 31 Jan 2013
  • Page count: 528
  • Imprint: Sphere
Arguably the bonkiest of the eighties bonkbusters - and the one that everyone remembers. With good reason. Fasten your seatbelts . . . — India Knight
Under Judith Krantz's fingers, real life has a way of becoming mysterious, glamours, legendary, sequined . . . Scruples will sell like fertiliser in the spring — Vogue
If books were desserts, then Scruples would be the giant sundae you can devour with all pleasure and no guilt. It's so good and brings such joy that you never hate yourself for gobbling up every sinfully decadent page. More than thirty years later, the sensually powerful prose of Judith Krantz still dazzles. But for all the glitzy surroundings, juicy schemes, and racy encounters, what shines through the most is a mega-talent who writes with emotional truth and pure heart. The queen of the sex and shopping novel remains on her jewelled throne. — J. J. Salem, author of TAN LINES
Corsair

Price of Duty

Dale Brown
Authors:
Dale Brown

Sphere

The Last Flag Flying

Darryl Ponicsán
Authors:
Darryl Ponicsán

Virago

Love & Fame

Susie Boyt
Authors:
Susie Boyt
Hachette Audio

Manhattan Beach

Jennifer Egan
Authors:
Jennifer Egan
Sphere

The Last Detail

Darryl Ponicsán
Authors:
Darryl Ponicsán

Little, Brown

Force of Nature

Jane Harper
Authors:
Jane Harper
Little, Brown

The House of Unexpected Sisters

Alexander McCall Smith
Authors:
Alexander McCall Smith

Sphere

The Summer of Serendipity

Ali McNamara
Authors:
Ali McNamara
Corsair

Soot

Andrew Martin
Authors:
Andrew Martin

'An enticing and clever book, inside and out' Book Of The Month - The TimesYork, 1799. In August, an artist is found murdered in his home - stabbed with a pair of scissors. Matthew Harvey's death is much discussed in the city. The scissors are among the tools of his trade - for Harvey is a renowned cutter and painter of shades, or silhouettes, the latest fashion in portraiture. It soon becomes clear that the murderer must be one of the artist's last sitters, and the people depicted in the final six shades made by him become the key suspects. But who are they? And where are they to be found?Later, in November, a clever but impoverished young gentleman called Fletcher Rigge languishes in the debtor's prison, until a letter arrives containing a bizarre proposition from the son of the murdered man. Rigge is to be released for one month, but in that time, he must find the killer. If he fails, he will be incarcerated again, possibly for life.And so, with everything at stake, and equipped only with copies of the distinctive silhouettes, Fletcher Rigge begins his search across the snow-covered city, and enters a world of shadows...

Virago

A Boy in Winter

Rachel Seiffert
Authors:
Rachel Seiffert
Orbit

The End of the Day

Claire North
Authors:
Claire North
Sphere

The House of Secrets

Sarra Manning
Authors:
Sarra Manning
Sphere

A Boy Made of Blocks

Keith Stuart
Authors:
Keith Stuart

***THE RICHARD AND JUDY BOOK CLUB 2017 BESTSELLER***'The publishing sensation of the year: a compelling, uplifting and heart-rending debut novel'Mail on SundayThe number one Amazon bestseller A Boy Made of Blocks is a moving, funny and heartwarming story of family and love inspired by the author's own experiences with his son, the perfect latest obsession for fans of The Rosie Project, David Nicholls and Jojo Moyes. A father who rediscovers loveAlex loves his wife Jody, but has forgotten how to show it. He loves his son Sam, but doesn't understand him. He needs a reason to grab his future with both hands.A son who shows him how to liveMeet eight-year-old Sam: beautiful, surprising - and different. To him the world is a frightening mystery. But as his imagination comes to life, his family will be changed . . . for good.'One of those wonderful books that makes you laugh and cry at the same time'Good Housekeeping'Funny, expertly plotted and written with enormous heart. Readers who enjoyed The Rosie Project will love A Boy Made of Blocks - I did'Graeme Simsion'Very funny, incredibly poignant and full of insight. Awesome.'Jenny Colgan'Heartwarming'The Unmumsy Mum'A wonderful, warm, insightful novel about family, friendship and love'Daily Mail'A great plot, with a rare sense of honesty'Guardian'A truly beautiful story'Heat'A heartwarming and wise story'Cathy Rentzenbrink, author of The Last Act of Love

Abacus

The Novel Habits of Happiness

Alexander McCall Smith
Authors:
Alexander McCall Smith
Corsair

The Town in Bloom

Dodie Smith
Authors:
Dodie Smith
Sphere

The Twelve Dates of Christmas

Lisa Dickenson
Authors:
Lisa Dickenson

*WINNER OF THE NOVELICIOUS DEBUT OF THE YEAR AWARD*'A perfect Christmas treat' Miranda DickinsonAt thirty, Claudia's life is stale and the romance with long-term boyfriend, Seth, has disappeared. Determined to inject some festive spark back into their love life, Claudia and Seth go on their first date in a very long time. But when the night ends in disaster, Claudia suddenly finds herself facing life - and Christmas - alone.Life alone is exciting, scary and full of soon-forgotten exercise regimes and ill-advised attempts at crafting sexy underwear. It's also filling up with dates, surprisingly. With best friends Penny and Nick at her side, a surplus of festive markets, mulled wine and Christmas tunes, Claudia attempts to face all this change with gusto. One thing's for certain: this year, Christmas is going to be very different . . . This is the story of Claudia and her twelve dates of Christmas. Hilarious, uplifting and romantic, it's a story about losing love, finding love, and discovering what's been there all along. Expect Christmas sparkle, butterflies-in-your-stomach romance and a lot of very funny moments in The Twelve Dates of Christmas.

Piatkus

Genuine Lies

Nora Roberts
Authors:
Nora Roberts

Eve Benedict is a legend: a movie goddess with two Oscars, four ex-husbands and a legion of lovers to her name. She knows the truth behind every Hollywood scandal - and now she's planning to tell all in a no-holds-barred memoir. But telling the truth can be a dangerous business, especially in a town built on dreams and secrets. Eve's stepson Paul Winthrop is worried that the book will only bring trouble. But he can't argue with Eve's choice of ghostwriter, the talented and very beautiful Julia Summers. As Paul and Julia clash over Eve's book, they also have to fight a deep and growing attraction to each other. Struggling against their intense feelings, they don't realise they are also tangled in a very dark plot. Eve has one last, great secret to reveal - and it will put them all in danger . . .

Sphere

Mothers and Daughters

Kylie Ladd
Authors:
Kylie Ladd

Four mothers. Four teenage daughters. An isolated tropical paradise with no internet or mobile phone reception. What could possibly go wrong?There's tension, bitchiness, bullying, sex, drunken confessions, bad behaviour and breakdowns - and wait till you see what the teenagers get up to . . .How can we let our daughters forge lives of their own when what we most want to do is hold them close and never let them go? How do we let them grow and keep them protected from the dark things in the world at the same time? And how can mothers and daughters navigate the troubled, stormy waters of adolescence without hurting themselves and each other?Clear-eyed, insightful and wildly entertaining, this is a fascinating and honest novel about the complicated and emotional world of mothers and daughters.

Little, Brown

The Silent Ones

William Brodrick
Authors:
William Brodrick

'All you have to do is find out why Harry is prepared to blame an innocent man. That's the thread. Follow it. You'll reach the Silent Ones. This is your way - our way - of making a difference.' With this challenge from Father Edmund Littlemore, Anselm returns to the Old Bailey to fight the most difficult and troubling case of his life. The man in the dock is Littlemore himself. He is charged with grave offences against Harry Brandwell who, it seems, is both a victim and a liar. But he's the only link to these others who've chosen silence over their right to justice. Unknown to Anselm, Robert Sambourne, a journalist, has been investigating Littlemore's background. And he's a man with a troubled past, always on the move, from Boston in the USA to Freetown in Sierra Leone, finally running from a London police station rather than explain himself. More disturbingly, Robert uncovers details of a carefully planned scheme to entice Anselm back into court, exploiting his reputation for honesty to secure a shock acquittal. Meanwhile Harry Brandwell - abused, abandoned and betrayed - has decided to take matters into his own hands. The Silent Ones examines the one crime that Church, State and Family thought they could hide in their own best interests; Anselm's return is a compelling novel about the anatomy of silence, the courage of victims and the redemptive power of public justice.

Virago

The Tremor of Forgery

Patricia Highsmith
Authors:
Patricia Highsmith