Charlotte Betts - The Spice Merchant's Wife - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780749959296
    • Publication date:01 Aug 2013
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781405529532
    • Publication date:01 Aug 2013

The Spice Merchant's Wife

By Charlotte Betts

  • Paperback
  • £13.99

The stunning third novel from award-winning historical fiction author, Charlotte Betts, opening in 1666 and continuing for the year or two after the Great Fire, whilst the devastated city is being rebuilt.

From the author of ebook bestseller The Apothecary's Daughter

1666. Newly married to a wealthy spice merchant, Kate Finche believes all her dreams of a happy family life are just around the corner until the Great Fire rages through London. She watches in horror as their livelihood goes up in flames, filling the air with the heady scents of cinnamon, nutmeg and cloves.

As the city is devastated, Kate's husband, Robert is forced to seek employment to ensure their survival, but when he is found drowned, Kate refuses to believe that he has taken his own life. Widowed and penniless, she seeks refuge in The House of Perfume, the home of blind perfumer Gabriel Harte, who awakens Kate's senses to a whole new world. But as she flees from this forbidden love, her husband's murderer comes looking for her . . .

The Spice Merchant's Wife is a stunning novel, bursting with the colour and flavour of Restoration London -- perfect for readers of Philippa Gregory, Joanne Harris and Patrick Suskind's Perfume.

Biographical Notes

Charlotte Betts began her working life as a fashion designer in London. A career followed in interior design, property management and lettings. Always a bookworm, Charlotte discovered her passion for writing after her three children and two step-children grew up.


Her debut novel, The Apothecary's Daughter, won the YouWriteOn Book of the Year Award in 2010 and the Joan Hessayon Award for New Writers, was shortlisted for the Best Historical Read at the Festival of Romance in 2011 and won the coveted Romantic Novelists' Association's Historical Romantic Novel RoNA award in 2013. Her second novel, The Painter's Apprentice, was also shortlisted for the Best Historical Read at the Festival of Romance in 2012 and the RoNA award in 2014. The Spice Merchant's Wife won the Festival of Romance's Best Historical Read award in 2013.

Charlotte lives with her husband in a cottage in the woods on the Hampshire/Berkshire border.
Visit her website at www.charlottebetts.com and follow her on twitter at www.twitter.com/CharlotteBetts1

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780749959272
  • Publication date: 01 Aug 2013
  • Page count: 400
  • Imprint: Piatkus
Piatkus

Once Upon a Maiden Lane: A Maiden Lane novella

Elizabeth Hoyt
Authors:
Elizabeth Hoyt

An all-new novella in the New York Times bestselling Maiden Lane series by Elizabeth Hoyt!

Piatkus

No Other Duke Will Do

Grace Burrowes
Authors:
Grace Burrowes
Piatkus

Someone to Wed

Mary Balogh
Authors:
Mary Balogh
Constable

Fire

L.C. Tyler
Authors:
L.C. Tyler

The fourth John Grey historical mystery1666. London has been destroyed by fire and its citizens are looking for somebody, preferable foreign, to blame. Only the royal Court, with its strong Catholic sympathies, is trying to dampen down the post-conflaguration hysteria. Then, inconveniently, a Frenchman admits to having started it together with an accomplice, whom he says he has subsequently killed.John Grey is tasked by Secretary of State, Lord Arlington, with proving conclusively that the self-confessed fire-raiser is lying. Though Grey agrees with Arlington that the Frenchman must be mad, he is increasingly perplexed at how much he knows. And a body has been discovered that appears in every way to match the description of the dead accomplice.Grey's investigations take him and his companion, Lady Pole, into the dangerous and still smoking ruins of the old City. And somebody out there - somebody at the very centre of power in England - would prefer it if they didn't live long enough to conclude their work...Praise for L.C. Tyler'Tyler juggles his characters, story wit and clever one liners with perfect balance' - The Times'A cracking pace, lively dialogue, wickedly witty one-liners salted with sophistication . . . Why would we not want more of John Grey?' - The Bookbag

Piatkus

Haven

Lindsay J. Pryor
Authors:
Lindsay J. Pryor

A spin-off from the bestselling Blackthorn series by Lindsay J. Pryor, set in Lowtown, the neighbouring district to Blackthorn. The product of a brutal class system, the dark, gritty world of Lowtown will grip you and never let you go. Every few days the handsome stranger comes into the café in Lowtown for an hour a time. Most of the time he keeps himself to himself - one drink and he leaves. Sometimes people meet with him but about what remains elusive, the edge of mystery and danger adding to his allure. Not that Ember is allowed to think about him. She's finally on the cusp of gaining her citizenship and escaping Lowtown for good, so she can't be seen to be involved with a vampire - evidence of one single bite would be the end of her prospects. But when those prospects are rocked by her links to the district's dark underbelly, the stranger she must avoid could be her absolution - and she could be his . . .

Piatkus

Wilde in Love

Eloisa James
Authors:
Eloisa James

'Eloisa James is extraordinary.' People Magazine'Nothing gets me to a bookstore faster than Eloisa James.' Julia QuinnThe first book in Eloisa James's dazzling new series set in the Georgian period glows with her trademark wit and charm. Things are about to get Wilde . . . Lord Alaric Wilde, son of the Duke of Lindow, is the most celebrated man in England, revered for his dangerous adventures and rakish good looks.Arriving home from years abroad, he has no idea of his own celebrity until his boat is met by mobs of screaming ladies. Alaric escapes to his father's castle, but just as he grasps that he's not only famous but notorious, he encounters the very private, very witty, Miss Willa Ffynche.Willa presents the façade of a serene young lady to the world. Her love of books and bawdy jokes is purely for the delight of her intimate friends. She wants nothing to do with a man whose private life is splashed over every newspaper.Alaric has never met a woman he wanted for his own . . . until he meets Willa. He's never lost a battle.But a spirited woman like Willa isn't going to make it easy . . . Perfect for fans of Julia Quinn's Bridgertons and of Eloisa's Desperate Duchesses

Piatkus

Duke of Desire

Elizabeth Hoyt
Authors:
Elizabeth Hoyt
Forever

Too Beautiful to Break

Tessa Bailey
Authors:
Tessa Bailey
Orbit

The Remnant

Charlie Fletcher
Authors:
Charlie Fletcher

'The Oversight is most dangerous when most reduced. There are many dead and gone who did not remember that.'The Oversight of London has been sworn for millennia to prevent the natural and the supernatural worlds from preying on each other. Now at its lowest ebb, with its headquarters destroyed and its last members scattered far and wide, this secret society will battle for survival and face the harshest foe it has ever met: itself.'Exciting, exhilarating, scary and moving in equal measure, The Oversight is a teeming world of dark deeds and dark magics, brilliantly realised' - M. R. Carey on The Oversight

Orbit

Raising Fire

James Bennett
Authors:
James Bennett
Piatkus

Too Scot to Handle

Grace Burrowes
Authors:
Grace Burrowes
Piatkus

The Dressmaker's Secret

Charlotte Betts
Authors:
Charlotte Betts
Orbit

Bound

Benedict Jacka
Authors:
Benedict Jacka
Corsair

The Return of the Witch

Paula Brackston
Authors:
Paula Brackston
Little, Brown Young Readers US

Poisoned Blade

Kate Elliott
Authors:
Kate Elliott

"Jes will remind readers of fearless Katniss.... Let the games continue!" (Booklist starred review for Court of Fives)Jessamy is moving up the ranks of the Fives--the complex athletic contest favored by the lowliest Commoners and the loftiest Patrons in her embattled kingdom. Pitted against far more formidable adversaries, success is Jes's only option, as her prize money is essential to keeping her hidden family alive. She leaps at the chance to tour the countryside and face more competitors, but then a fatal attack on Jes's traveling party puts her at the center of the war that Lord Kalliarkos--the prince she still loves--is fighting against their country's enemies. With a sinister overlord watching her every move and Kal's life on the line, Jes must now become more than a Fives champion.... She must become a warrior.

Piatkus

Heart Of The Sea

Nora Roberts
Authors:
Nora Roberts

Darcy Gallagher has always believed in fate, the magic of legend... and the power of money. Working all hours in the family pub, she can't help dreaming of a man who could sweep her away into a world of luxury and adventure.But she knows better than to expect lasting love from wealthy businessman Trevor Magee. Trevor has arrived in the picturesque village of Ardmore to build a theatre, and uncover the secrets of his family's past. Darcy and Trevor are drawn to each other, but neither is convinced they've found the one. But Ardmore has a way of weaving its magic, and the forces of destiny can only be resisted for so long...

Piatkus

Who's Afraid?

Maria Lewis
Authors:
Maria Lewis
Piatkus

Bay of Sighs

Nora Roberts
Authors:
Nora Roberts
Rick Steves

Andy Steves' Europe

Andy Steves
Authors:
Andy Steves
Piatkus

The House in Quill Court

Charlotte Betts
Authors:
Charlotte Betts