Charlotte Betts - The Spice Merchant's Wife - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £8.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780749959289
    • Publication date:02 Jan 2014
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780749959296
    • Publication date:01 Aug 2013
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781405529532
    • Publication date:01 Aug 2013

The Spice Merchant's Wife

By Charlotte Betts

  • Paperback
  • £13.99

The stunning third novel from award-winning historical fiction author, Charlotte Betts, opening in 1666 and continuing for the year or two after the Great Fire, whilst the devastated city is being rebuilt.

From the author of ebook bestseller The Apothecary's Daughter

1666. Newly married to a wealthy spice merchant, Kate Finche believes all her dreams of a happy family life are just around the corner until the Great Fire rages through London. She watches in horror as their livelihood goes up in flames, filling the air with the heady scents of cinnamon, nutmeg and cloves.

As the city is devastated, Kate's husband, Robert is forced to seek employment to ensure their survival, but when he is found drowned, Kate refuses to believe that he has taken his own life. Widowed and penniless, she seeks refuge in The House of Perfume, the home of blind perfumer Gabriel Harte, who awakens Kate's senses to a whole new world. But as she flees from this forbidden love, her husband's murderer comes looking for her . . .

The Spice Merchant's Wife is a stunning novel, bursting with the colour and flavour of Restoration London -- perfect for readers of Philippa Gregory, Joanne Harris and Patrick Suskind's Perfume.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780749959272
  • Publication date: 01 Aug 2013
  • Page count: 400
  • Imprint: Piatkus