Shamini Flint - Inspector Singh Investigates: A Calamitous Chinese Killing - Little, Brown Book Group

Inspector Singh Investigates: A Calamitous Chinese Killing

Number 6 in series

By Shamini Flint

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

The sixth book in the Inspector Singh series, where he travels throughout Asia busting crimes!

Inspector Singh is on a mission to China, against his better judgment. The son of a bigwig at the Singapore Embassy has been bludgeoned to death in a back alley in Beijing. The Chinese security insist that he was the victim of a robbery gone wrong, but the young man's mother demands that Singapore's finest (in his own opinion) rides to the rescue.

But solving a murder in a country that practices socialism 'with Chinese characteristics' is a dangerous business. And it soon becomes apparent that getting to the bottom of this calamitous killing will be his toughest case yet . . .

Biographical Notes

Shamini Flint is a Cambridge graduate and was a lawyer with the UK firm Linklaters for ten years, travelling extensively in Asia during that period, before giving up her practice to concentrate on writing. She is the author of several children's books.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780749957797
  • Publication date: 05 Sep 2013
  • Page count: 320
  • Imprint: Piatkus
It is impossible not to warm to Inspector Singh. We should cherish him — Daily Mail
Orbit

Beyond the Empire

K. B. Wagers
Authors:
K. B. Wagers
Robinson

The Mammoth Book of New Comic Quotes

Geoff Tibballs
Authors:
Geoff Tibballs

With over 3,500 entries, arranged by topic, fully indexed and up-to-date for the twenty-first century, here is a bumper new collection of witticisms and wisecracks. If you're looking for a quick quip to get the crowd on your side, struggling to put the finishing touches to a wedding speech or just want to cheer yourself and your mates up, this marvellous mammoth book provides all you'll ever need. Entries range from insults, put-downs, gags and one-liners to homespun philosophy, witty proverbs, movie quotes and graffiti. Among the contributors featured are Ricky Gervais, Sir Terry Pratchett, Tina Fey, Milton Jones, Russell Brand, Bill Bryson, Armando Iannucci, Stephen Fry, Jeremy Clarkson, Larry David, Grayson Perry, Germaine Greer, Will Ferrell and many more. Never be stuck for a good line again! 'Al Gore met with Donald Trump to discuss climate change. To try to explain it in terms Trump would understand, Gore said, "The planet is getting hotter than your daughter Ivanka."' Conan O'Brien'The only time it's cool to yell, "I have diarrhoea!" is when you're playing Scrabble.' Zach Galifianakis

Little, Brown

The Old Man and the Knee

Christopher Matthew
Authors:
Christopher Matthew
Constable

Backing into the Spotlight

Michael Whitehall
Authors:
Michael Whitehall
Little, Brown US

Fly Me

Daniel Riley
Authors:
Daniel Riley
Constable

Shabby

Emlyn Rees, Josie Lloyd
Authors:
Emlyn Rees, Josie Lloyd
Sphere

Beer Craft

Jon Finch
Authors:
Jon Finch
Robinson

The Fish Book

Paul Peacock
Authors:
Paul Peacock

This book will give you the knowledge and confidence to choose, prepare, cook and enjoy fresh food and seafood. It explains simply how to gut, clean and fillet fish and how to deal with shellfish and crustaceans such as crab and lobster, and what knives and tools you'll need for the job.The numerous recipes take into consideration sustainable fishing and advise on which fish can be used instead of those at risk. The book also encourages the use of locally caught produce rather than those shipped around the world.As well as recipes for cooking sea and river fish, shellfish, crustaceans you'll discover how to preserve fish.

Robinson

Growing up Wild

Alexia Barrable, Duncan Barrable
Authors:
Alexia Barrable, Duncan Barrable

Have you ever noticed how much calmer and more engaged your children are when they are outside in the natural world? A growing body of evidence is pointing to the need for children to spend more time outside. Being outdoors has the potential to energise, entertain and educate our children, often with minimal input from adults. Growing Up Wild is for anyone who wants to encourage their kids to spend more time outdoors. Combining the latest scientific research with a host of enjoyable activities, the authors show you how to access nature with your children. From making the most of local parks, woodlands, the beach, and your own back garden Growing Up Wild gives you easy ways to get out there, connect with nature, and have fun together.Inspired by the increasingly popular forest school philosophy, and emphasising the benefits of starting early with your baby or toddler, Growing Up Wild tells you:- The reasons why getting dirty makes you happier and healthier.- Activities that make the most of wind, rain or snow- Tips on hiking and foraging with your children- How to run wild with kids - from parks to fells and beyond- How to build an outdoor space in your back garden.This book is a must have for parents who love nature and want to give their children the proven benefits of playing outdoors.

Running Press Adult

Batman: Metal Die-Cast Bat-Signal

Matthew K. Manning
Authors:
Matthew K. Manning
Little, Brown

Travelling Light

Alastair Sawday
Authors:
Alastair Sawday

A charming and beautifully written account of the pleasures of slow travel - for readers of Patrick Leigh Fermor, Colin Thubron and Eric Newby.'Lawrence Sterne once suggested that we travel for one of just three reasons: imbecility of mind, infirmity of body or inevitable necessity. One might add to Sterne's little list: envy, curiosity - or just too much bloody rain at home. Escape, in other words.' Campaigner, publisher and wanderer Alastair Sawday has spent his life travelling. En route he has unearthed a multitude of stories - stories of people ploughing their own furrows, of travellers' tales, stories from the 'front line' of his publishing , ruminations and reflections about places, people and ideas. In this deeply charming, erudite and spirited book, he shares his experiences and explores the value of travel.'The richer our imaginations, the richer our travel experience. We British do things one way and the Spaniards another; there are unlimited ways of doing everything. Kindness is found in unexpected places, as is eccentricity. Eccentrics are an endangered species and need as much protection as does the house sparrow.'Travelling Light is a gradual awakening to the fragility of everything we love through contemplative, consciously slow journeying. Every visit uncovers difference - from France profonde to the darker side of Sicily, and to the woodland, flora, fauna, views and silence of rural Britain. Alastair Sawday gives voice to those of us who have climbed no mountains, discovered no rivers, created no great institutions, powered no legislation, changed very little - but who yearn to understand the world and make sense of its infinite variety.

Black Dog & Leventhal

This is What a Librarian Looks Like

Kyle Cassidy
Authors:
Kyle Cassidy
ATOM

Missing

Kelley Armstrong
Authors:
Kelley Armstrong
Constable

Devil's Breath

G.M. Malliet
Authors:
G.M. Malliet

Even though Max's calling led him to become a vicar, his past life as a spy catches up with him . . .Max receives the call for help when the body of glamorous film star Margot Browne is washed ashore at Monkslip-super-Mare. George, his former boss in the secret service, tells Max a former colleague, Patrice Logan, has asked MI5 for help - particularly, Max's help.It's a perfect 'closed circle' murder since victim Margot must have been killed by one of the group of actors, stylists, scriptwriters and other hangers-on aboard the yacht they were cruising on. Patrice suspects the yacht's owner, a playboy film director she's been keeping tabs on for smuggling, but Max isn't so sure. Max and DCI Cotton interview the suspects as they lounge about on one of the luxury hotels dotting the waterfront. Tipped by the playboy director, Max uncovers the truth about the star's life and death. But would Margot kill - or be killed - to keep her lurid past firmly in the past?Praise for G.M. Malliet:'Rarely have I read descriptions that have left me gasping, in both their hilarity and their painful truth.' Louise Penny'G.M. Malliet has brought the village cosy into the twenty first century.' Charles Todd'There are certain things you want in a village mystery: a pretty setting, a tasteful murder, an appealing sleuth... Malliet delivers all that.' New York Times Book Review

Corsair

The Return of the Witch

Paula Brackston
Authors:
Paula Brackston
Robinson

The Bacon Jam Cookbook

Eat 17
Authors:
Eat 17

BACON ME CRAZY!Eat 17 is a small, independently-owned and much-loved group of eateries and convenience stores based in east London. It was started by James Brundle and Chris O'Connor, two brothers in their early twenties, who, with only £5,000, transformed a run-down off-license in Walthamstow into a multi-million-pound retail revolution and world-class brand.Eat 17's two shops are London fixtures, and the brothers recently took out a lease on a third site. Eat 17 has also recently started selling to a supermarket chain in Hong Kong and on mainland China.The Bacon Jam Cookbook, as well as providing many recipes from Eat 17 and their suppliers, also describes what the brothers have achieved and how. It is also, incidentally, a paean to bacon - (just about) everyone's favourite foodstuff. http://www.eat17baconjam.co.ukhttp://www.eat17.co.uk/

Forever

Change of Heart

Nicole Jacquelyn
Authors:
Nicole Jacquelyn

Anita Martin has rubbed Abraham Evans the wrong way since she moved in with his parents as a teenager. Over ten years later, she's still abrasive, rude and undeniably attractive, which is why he's been sleeping with her for the past two years. Their arrangement is simple-sex with no strings. When Anita's life changes dramatically, she realizes she needs more from Abraham than the occasional call in the middle of the night. Abraham, however, isn't willing to make things real between them. Months later, a family tragedy nearly brings Abraham to his knees but when he realizes that the only person he wants is Anita, it may be too late for her to forgive him.

ATOM

Crushed

Sara Shepard
Authors:
Sara Shepard

High school seniors Aria, Emily, Hanna, and Spencer have been tortured by A for too long. Now they're determined to take the fight to A . . . even if it's the last thing they do.As the rest of Rosewood prepares for the prom, the girls drop everything in their hunt for A. But with each new piece of evidence, A only seems farther away. No matter how close the liars get, A is always one step ahead -and ready to crush them completely.

ATOM

Deadly

Sara Shepard
Authors:
Sara Shepard

It's all fun and games until everybody gets hurt.Spencer, Hanna, Emily, and Aria are forced to watch as all their secrets finally come to light, from their littlest lies to their darkest deeds. Now, one by one, the girls' worlds come crashing down around them. Spencer gets kicked out of Princeton. Hanna gets kicked out of her dad's campaign - and his heart. Emily gets kicked to the curb. And Aria may get kicked out of the country.Thanks to me, these girls have lost everything - except their lives, of course. But I'm not done yet. And if my deadly plan succeeds, the pretty little liars will have finally told their last lie. . .

ATOM

Toxic

Sara Shepard
Authors:
Sara Shepard