Antonia White - The Lost Traveller - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback
    More information
    • ISBN:9781844083695
    • Publication date:03 Aug 2006
Books in this series

The Lost Traveller

By Antonia White

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

Antonia White's sustained portrayal of Clara's budding into womanhood is a masterpiece' The Boston Globe

When Clara returns home from the convent of her childhood to begin life at a local girls' school, she is at a loss: although she has comparative freedom, she misses the discipline the nuns imposed and worries about keeping her faith in a secular world. Against the background of the First World War, Clara experiences the confusions of adolescence - its promise, its threat of change. She longs for love, yet fears it, and wonders what the future will hold. Then tragedy strikes and her childhood haltingly comes to an end as she realises that neither parents nor her faith can help her.

The Lost Traveller is the first in the trilogy sequel to Frost in May, which continues with The Sugar House and Beyond the Glass. Although each is a complete novel in itself, together they form a brilliant portrait of a young girl's journey to adulthood.

Biographical Notes

Antonia White was born in 1899 and educated at in London at St. Paul's and RADA. She worked as a journalist and in the Foreign Office, had four novels published and translated over thirty novels from French. She died in Sussex in 1980.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780748127627
  • Publication date: 17 Feb 2011
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Virago
Sphere

The Lives We Touch

Eva Woods
Authors:
Eva Woods

The feelgood, uplifting, fabulous new book from Kindle bestseller Eva Woods. ***Shortlisted for The Goldsboro Books Contemporary Romantic Novel Award*** Perfect for fans of Lucy Diamond, Lucy Dillon and Rowan Coleman. In our lives we'll meet something like eighty thousand people. Most of them just in passing, sitting beside them on a bus, buying a latte from them, overtaking them too fast on the motorway. Others will become friends, lovers, family. Some will stay in our lives forever, and some will be swept away by the flow of life. But we touch all of these people in some way, tiny or huge, making more of a difference that any of us can imagine. Rosie is in a coma, unable to reach out to the world or communicate. She only has one chance to make it back to consciousness - but she's slipping deeper and deeper into a maze of memories and it's going to be hard to find her way out. Daisy, Rosie's sister, is devastated by the accident. She's always been the good, dependable girl to Rosie's free spirit - but some of Rosie's attitude seems to be creeping into Daisy's dull existence. Can Daisy find the courage to be herself?It only takes one tiny step to change a life forever...

Dialogue Books

Remembered

Yvonne Battle-Felton
Authors:
Yvonne Battle-Felton

From the Northern Writer's Award Winner comes. . .REMEMBERED iNews BOOKS OF THE YEAR 2019'Compares with Toni Morrison's Beloved . . . [Yvonne Battle-Felton's] characters get under your skin' GUARDIAN'Vital, important and humane. Everyone needs to read this book' JENN ASHWORTH'It's haunting and militant and very visceral and compassionate, heart wrenching story and painful to read.' DIANA EVANS 'Deftly explores generational trauma and the nature of enterprise, and gives a perspective on slavery not often explored' CHARLIE BRINKHURST-CUFF'Some books both break your heart and set you free. REMEMBERED will change you.' RACHEL EDWARDS - author of DarlingIt is 1910 and Philadelphia is burning. The last place Spring wants to be is in the rundown, coloured section of a hospital surrounded by the groans of sick people and the ghost of her dead sister. But as her son Edward lays dying, she has no other choice.There're whispers that Edward drove a streetcar into a shop window. Some people think it was an accident, others claim that it was his fault, the police are certain that he was part of a darker agenda. Is he guilty? Can they find the truth?All Spring knows is that time is running out. She has to tell him the story of how he came to be. With the help of her dead sister, newspaper clippings and reconstructed memories, she must find a way to get through to him. To shatter the silences that governed her life, she will do everything she can to lead him home.

Virago

Promising Young Women

Caroline O'Donoghue
Authors:
Caroline O'Donoghue
Fleet

Apex Hides the Hurt

Colson Whitehead
Authors:
Colson Whitehead

This New York Times Notable Book from the #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Underground Railroad is a brisk, comic tour de force about identity, history, and the adhesive bandage industry.The town of Winthrop has decided it needs a new name. The resident software millionaire wants to call it New Prospera; the mayor wants to return to the original choice of the founding black settlers; and the town's aristocracy sees no reason to change the name at all. What they need, they realize, is a nomenclature consultant. And, it turns out, the consultant needs them. But in a culture overwhelmed by marketing, the name is everything and our hero's efforts may result in not just a new name for the town but a new and subtler truth about it as well.

Abacus

The Lie of the Land

Amanda Craig
Authors:
Amanda Craig
Abacus

English Animals

Laura Kaye
Authors:
Laura Kaye
Fleet

The Underground Railroad

Colson Whitehead
Authors:
Colson Whitehead
Fleet

The Intuitionist

Colson Whitehead
Authors:
Colson Whitehead

Verticality, architectural and social, is at the heart of Colson Whitehead's first novel that takes place in an unnamed high-rise city that combines twenty-first-century engineering feats with nineteenth-century pork-barrel politics. Elevators are the technological expression of the vertical ideal, and Lila Mae Watson, the city's first black female elevator inspector, is its embattled token of upward mobility.When Number Eleven of the newly completed Fanny Briggs Memorial Building goes into deadly free-fall just hours after Lila Mae has signed off on it, using the controversial 'Intuitionist' method of ascertaining elevator safety, both Intuitionists and Empiricists recognize the set-up, but may be willing to let Lila Mae take the fall in an election year.As Lila Mae strives to exonerate herself in this urgent adventure full of government spies, underworld hit men, and seductive double agents, behind the action, always, is the Idea. Lila Mae's quest is mysteriously entwined with existence of heretofore lost writings by James Fulton, father of Intuitionism, a giant of vertical thought. If she is able to find and reveal his plan for the perfect, next-generation elevator, the city as it now exists may instantly become obsolescent.

Abacus

The Other Side of You

Amanda Craig
Authors:
Amanda Craig

Will must run, or die. He's seen a murder, and the gang on his estate are after him.Hurt, hungry and afraid, he comes to an abandoned house in a different part of the city. Behind its high fences is a place of safety. Here, he can hide like a wounded beast. He can find food, and healing - and learn how to do more than survive.But when Will meets Padma, he must choose between his good side and his bad one. For the gang he left behind is still there. How can he live without becoming a killer? How can he love without being a thief?Exciting, fast-paced and different, this is a story that keeps you reading until the last line.

Little, Brown

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child - Parts One and Two (Special Rehearsal Edition)

J.K. Rowling, John Tiffany, Jack Thorne
Authors:
J.K. Rowling, John Tiffany, Jack Thorne
Orbit

The Fifth Season

N. K. Jemisin
Authors:
N. K. Jemisin

Winner of the 2016 Hugo Award for Best NovelBook 1 in the record-breaking triple Hugo-Award-winning trilogy***A New York Times Notable Book******Shortlisted for the World Fantasy, Nebula, Kitschies, Audie and Locus Awards******The inaugural Wired.com book club pick***THIS IS THE WAY THE WORLD ENDS . . . FOR THE LAST TIME. IT STARTS WITH THE GREAT RED RIFT across the heart of the world's sole continent, spewing ash that blots out the sun. IT STARTS WITH DEATH, with a murdered son and a missing daughter. IT STARTS WITH BETRAYAL, and long dormant wounds rising up to fester. This is the Stillness, a land long familiar with catastrophe, where the power of the earth is wielded as a weapon. And where there is no mercy.'Astounding' NPR'Amazing' Ann Leckie'Breaks uncharted ground' Library Journal'Powerful' io9'Elegiac, complex, and intriguing' Publishers Weekly'Intricate and extraordinary' New York Times'Brilliant' Washington PostThe Broken Earth trilogy is complete - beginning with The Fifth Season, continuing in The Obelisk Gate (Winner of the 2017 Hugo Award for Best Novel) and concluding with The Stone Sky (Winner of the 2018 Hugo Award for Best Novel and 2018 Nebula Award).

Virago

Valley Of The Dolls

Jacqueline Susann
Authors:
Jacqueline Susann
Piatkus

Three Mothers

Sonia Lambert
Authors:
Sonia Lambert
Little, Brown

Kasper Meier: The Planes at Berlin-Tempelhof

Ben Fergusson
Authors:
Ben Fergusson
Sphere

Little Beach Street Bakery

Jenny Colgan
Authors:
Jenny Colgan
Piatkus

Her Mother's Keeper

Nora Roberts
Authors:
Nora Roberts

AVAILABLE DIGITALLY FOR THE FIRST TIMEWhen Gwen Lacrosse left her hometown she was a starry-eyed innocent. Now she's a savvy, sophisticated woman on a mission. Gwen's mother has a new boarder, Luke Powers, and Gwen is in no doubt that he is taking advantage romantically - her mother's letters are full of fawning praise for him. Luke - a famous novelist - is also an infamous womaniser. But Gwen has underestimated Luke. He's smart, witty - and irresistible. As the days pass Gwen begins to hope she's got things all wrong. Is it wishful thinking? Or can this tough city woman rediscover the innocent girl she once was - and find true love at last?Includes an extract from The Witness

Virago

The Woman Upstairs

Claire Messud
Authors:
Claire Messud
Grand Central Publishing

Tumbleweeds

Leila Meacham
Authors:
Leila Meacham

Devoted readers of Leila Meacham will devour this long, juicy page-turner. TUMBLEWEEDS is the story of three young friends-the saint, the sinner, and the angel-growing up together in the sort of small Texas Panhandle town that lives and dies by its Friday night football games. A fateful event casts a long shadow over these three intertwined lives and leaves the reader turning the pages desperately to see how it all plays out.

Virago

Black Narcissus

Rumer Godden
Authors:
Rumer Godden
Corsair

Bleak Expectations: A Tantalizing Taster

Mark Evans
Authors:
Mark Evans

Hearing Bleak Expectations on the radio is a splendidly satisfying experience, but now you can get even more thrills, spills, words and added paper! Bleak Expectations the novel will shortly be available for purchase in all literature emporiums of good repute.Bleak Expectations recounts the remarkable adventures of young Pip Bin as he tries to make his way in a world made all horrible by the machinations of his cruel guardian, Mr. Gently Benevolent.WEEP! As Pip is sent to Britain's nastiest boarding school, St Bastard's.GASP! As our hero suffers misfortunes such as prison, poverty, the workhouse and at least one close relative dying.SIGH! As Pip finds love with London's most eligible frail beauty, Miss Flora Dies-Early.FIND A TENTERHOOK AND SIT ON IT! As everything climaxes in a massive fight-and-wedding-filled finale.Grim circumstances, mistaken identities, nightmarish court-cases, ridiculous names, convenient coincidences to resolve plot problems, over-sentimental death scenes and lots and lots of adjectives: Bleak Expectations is a novel like Charles Dickens might have written after far too much gin.