Chris Brookmyre - When The Devil Drives - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £13.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781408703427
    • Publication date:07 Jun 2012
  • Paperback £8.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780349123905
    • Publication date:06 Jun 2013
Books in this series

When The Devil Drives

By Chris Brookmyre

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

The much anticipated follow up to Where the Bodies are Buried - the hugely successful new crime series from Chris Brookmyre

Is the devil merely the name we give the worst in ourselves?

When private investigator Jasmine Sharp is hired to find Tessa Garrion, a young woman who has vanished without trace, it becomes increasingly clear that there are those who want her to stay that way. What begins as a simple search awakens a malevolence that has lain dormant for three decades, putting Jasmine in the crosshairs of those who would stop at nothing to keep their secrets buried.

Uncovering a hidden history of sex, drugs, ritualism and murder, Jasmine realises she may need a little help from dark places herself if she's going to get to the truth.

But then needs must...

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780748118588
  • Publication date: 07 Jun 2012
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Abacus
Orbit

Places in the Darkness

Chris Brookmyre
Authors:
Chris Brookmyre
Abacus

Siege Mentality

Chris Brookmyre
Authors:
Chris Brookmyre
Little, Brown

Want You Gone

Chris Brookmyre
Authors:
Chris Brookmyre
Little, Brown

Black Widow

Chris Brookmyre
Authors:
Chris Brookmyre

'A celtic Gone Girl... guaranteed to keep you guessing'Ian Rankin*****WINNER Theakston Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year**********WINNER Bloody Scotland McIlvanney Prize for Crime Novel of the Year*****Twists abound in the brilliant new psychological thriller from master author Chris Brookmyre - perfect for readers of The Girl on the Train, I See You and Disclaimer.Did she do it? Did he deserve it?Diana Jager is clever, strong and successful, a skilled surgeon and fierce campaigner via her blog about sexism. Yet it takes only hours for her life to crumble when her personal details are released on the internet as revenge for her writing.Then she meets Peter. He's kind, generous, and knows nothing about her past: the second chance she's been waiting for. Within six months, they are married. Within six more, Peter is dead in a road accident, a nightmare end to their fairytale romance.But Peter's sister Lucy doesn't believe in fairytales, and tasks maverick reporter Jack Parlabane with discovering the dark truth behind the woman the media is calling Black Widow...'Black Widow is a stand-out thriller'Renee Knight, author of Disclaimer

Little, Brown

Dead Girl Walking

Chris Brookmyre
Authors:
Chris Brookmyre

Life is dangerous when you have everything to lose.Famous, beautiful and talented, Heike Gunn has the world at her feet. Then, one day, she simply vanishes.Jack Parlabane has lost everything: his journalism career, his marriage, his self-respect. A call for help from an old friend offers a chance for redemption - but only if he can find out what happened to Heike.Pursued by those who would punish him for past crimes, Parlabane enters the world of Heike's band, Savage Earth Heart, a group at breaking point. Each of its members seems to be hiding something, not least its newest recruit Monica Halcrow, whose possible relationship with Heike has become a public obsession.Monica's own story, however, reveals a far darker truth. Fixated on Heike from day one, she has been engulfed by paranoia, jealousy and fear, as she discovers the hidden price of fame. From Berlin to Barcelona, from the streets of Milan to remote Scottish islands, Parlabane must find out what happened before it's too late, all while the walls are closing in on him...

Little, Brown

The Last Day of Christmas

Chris Brookmyre
Authors:
Chris Brookmyre
Little, Brown

Flesh Wounds

Chris Brookmyre
Authors:
Chris Brookmyre

One crime brought them together . . .Private investigator Jasmine Sharp should have wanted him dead.Yet somehow, Jasmine bonded with Glen Fallan, the man who killed her father before she was born. Now he has been arrested for the murder of a local gangster, and Jasmine must finally enter his violent domain to seek answers.. . . a second will break them apartDetective Superintendent Catherine McLeod is in fear for her life.When she discovers a symbol daubed on the head of Fallan's alleged victim, it unearths secrets that will threaten everything Catherine holds dear.One murder. Two women. A lifetime of lies revealed.

Piatkus

Strangers In Death

J. D. Robb
Authors:
J. D. Robb

Murder harboured no bigotry, no bias. It subscribed to no class system. In its gleeful, deadly way, murder turned a blind eye.Scandalous death sells papers. But as the media frenzy feeds on the wealthy Thomas Anders, strangled to death with black velvet in his plush Park Avenue apartment, Lieutenant Eve Dallas grapples with just one question: a crime of passion or a cold extermination?Things don't add up. The victim didn't struggle and everyone has an alibi. And when a throwaway comment opens up a horrifying secret, Eve is fighting for far more than justice.'Keeps you guessing to the end' SunBook Twenty-Six in the New York Times number one bestselling series

Abacus

Jaggy Splinters

Chris Brookmyre
Authors:
Chris Brookmyre

Everyone's favourite unorthodox journalist, Jack Parlabane, goes undercover to investigate the mysterious and lucrative world of alternative medicine: in particular the practice of homeopathy. Are there unexplained forces that can be harnessed to heal us, or is it all a load of sugar? Meanwhile a sinister tale of restorative justice and the occult takes an even darker turn; two body-snatchers find more than they bargained for when raiding a morgue; and a contract killer finds that fatherhood has sent him on the straight and narrow . . . sort of. Fast paced and wickedly entertaining, Jaggy Splinters is a dark, twisted and hilarious collection of short stories from bestselling author Chris Brookmyre.

Abacus

A Death In Calabria

Michele Giuttari
Authors:
Michele Giuttari
Abacus

Where The Bodies Are Buried

Chris Brookmyre
Authors:
Chris Brookmyre

Detective Catherine McLeod was always taught that in Glasgow, they don't do whodunit. They do score-settling, vendettas and petty revenge. And however she looks at it, the discovery of a dead drug-dealer in a back alley means she's going to be busy. Meanwhile, aspiring actress Jasmine Sharp is reluctantly - and incompetently - working for her uncle Jim's private investigation business. When Jim goes missing, Jasmine has to take on the investigator mantle for real, and her only lead points to a professional assassin who has been dead for twenty years. Soon Jasmine stumbles into a web of corruption and secrets that leaves her running for her life.

Sphere

Five Ways To Kill A Man

Alex Gray
Authors:
Alex Gray

An unpredictable killer is loose on the streets of Glasgow, experimenting with death. Beginning with brute force, the murderer moves on to poison and drowning, greedy for new and better ways to kill.Faced with a string of unconnected victims, DCI Lorimer turns to psychologist and friend Solomon Brightman for his insights. Lorimer is also assigned to review the case of a fatal house fire. His suspicions are raised by shocking omissions in the original investigation. Some uncomfortable questions have been buried but Lorimer is the man to ask them. As the serial killer gets closer to Lorimer's family, can the DCI unmask the volatile murderer before the next victim is found too close to home?

C & R Crime

Hasty Death

M.C. Beaton
Authors:
M.C. Beaton
C & R Crime

Snobbery with Violence

M.C. Beaton
Authors:
M.C. Beaton

After a brief and ill-advised dalliance with the Suffragette movement, Lady Rose Summers' debut season in London society turns out to be a complete disaster. Rose's father suspects that her fiancé, Sir Geoffrey Blandon, is a first class scoundrel and calls in Captain Harry Cathcart to investigate.But when a malicious guest is found dead in suspicious circumstances, Rose becomes far more interested in discovering the truth than in landing a more appropriate suitor. As Harry and Rose begin to unravel this web of lies and rumours, a clever murderer sets out to make Rose's disastrous first season her last.

Piatkus

Born In Death

J. D. Robb
Authors:
J. D. Robb

Eve wasn't sure what it said about her that she was more comfortable in the morgue than a baby boutique. And she didn't care. The scent of death was the familiar.Rushing to the murder scenes of a tortured young woman, Eve is far more at home than when organising best friend Mavis's baby shower. And then one of Mavis's guests - the young, pregnant Tandy - disappears into thin air. Eve steps in, but when the facts begin to blur with the earlier murders, she unearths a chilling trail of deception and cold-blooded greed, leading to a terrifying hunt to find Tandy before time runs out.'Fast-paced, superbly crafted' Library Journal

Sphere

Skeleton Hill

Peter Lovesey
Authors:
Peter Lovesey
Sphere

Glasgow Kiss

Alex Gray
Authors:
Alex Gray

Eric Chalmers is one of the most popular teachers at Muirpark Secondary School in Glasgow. Gentle and kind, he is the person the students come to when they want to confide in someone. So when precocious teenager Julie Donaldson accuses Chalmers of rape, the school goes into shock. How could a deeply religious family man like Chalmers do anything like that? With some students and teachers supporting Julie, and others standing by Chalmers, life at Muirpark is far from harmonious. And then things get much worse - Julie Donaldson goes missing, and the police are called in. For DCI William Lorimer, this is the second missing persons case in a week. He's been having sleepless nights about a toddler who has been missing for several days - with each day, the likelihood of her being found alive diminishes. Julie's disappearance adds a further burden to Lorimer's already overstretched workload.With hope fading, it becomes a breakneck race against time to find both missing girls.

Piatkus

Creation In Death

J. D. Robb
Authors:
J. D. Robb

For him, death was a vocation. He was a maestro in the art of death. The keeper of time. The bringer of destiny.Lieutenant Eve Dallas is as tough as New York cops come. But on discovering the tortured body of a young woman, Eve is catapulted back to nine years ago, when a serial killer plagued the city and taunted her mercilessly. Putting rings on their fingers and carving their bodies, he was named The Groom. And this time he is working up to his greatest challenge yet: abducting a woman who will test him like never before and become his most gratifying victim yet - Eve.'A witty, dark, page-turning tale' Jonathan KellermanBook Twenty-Five in the New York Times number one bestselling series

Sphere

Buried

Mark Billingham
Authors:
Mark Billingham
Sphere

Death Message

Mark Billingham
Authors:
Mark Billingham

THE MESSAGEDI Tom Thorne has seen plenty of dead bodies in his time. But when he starts receiving sick photos of murder victims on his mobile phone, he soon realises that the next body could be his.THE KILLERAnd even when the man who has been sending the photos is tracked down, the deadly threat remains, For some, the case is all but closed, but Thorne's nightmare is just beginning. THE TWISTBecause someone else is masterminding the death messages. The most vicious psychopath Thiorne has ever faced is able to manipulate others even behind bars, and time has only deepened the deadly grudge he has against the policeman who put him away...