Benedict Jacka - Bound - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780356507200
    • Publication date:06 Apr 2017
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781405535199
    • Publication date:06 Apr 2017
Books in this series

Bound

An Alex Verus Novel from the New Master of Magical London

By Benedict Jacka

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

The eighth novel in the urban fantasy series which began with Fated: the Alex Verus novels are magic-filled fan favourites, perfect for readers of Jim Butcher and Ben Aaronovitch

Alex Verus can see the future. But he never thought he'd see this day.

Manoeuvred by forces beyond his control, the probability mage has made a terrible choice: he's agreed to work for his old master once more.

Richard Drakh, the sadistic dark mage Alex escaped as an apprentice, has him in his clutches again. And this time, he won't let go so easily.

Biographical Notes

Benedict Jacka became a writer almost by accident when at nineteen he sat in his school library and started a story in the back of an exercise book. Since then he has studied philosophy at Cambridge, lived in China and worked as everything from civil servant to bouncer to teacher before returning to London to take up law. Benedict has a website at www.benedictjacka.co.uk and tweets at @BenedictJacka.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780356507194
  • Publication date: 06 Apr 2017
  • Page count: 416
  • Imprint: Orbit
Harry Dresden would like Alex Verus tremendously - and be a little nervous around him. I just added Benedict Jacka to my must-read list — Jim Butcher
Jacka writes a deft thrill-ride of an urban fantasy - a stay-up-all-night read. Alex Verus is a very smart man surviving in a very dangerous world — Patricia Briggs
London's hidden wizardly community spell-blast each other entertainingly in this urban fantasy romp. Fated is highly enjoyable — Sun
Filled with tense and compelling writing — SFX
Whoop-ass excitment from the new master of magical London — Charles Stross
Orbit

The Stiehl Assassin: Book Three of the Fall of Shannara

Terry Brooks
Authors:
Terry Brooks
Little, Brown

The Last Adventure of Napoleon Sunshine

Pascal Ruter
Authors:
Pascal Ruter

At the age of eighty-five my grandfather Napoleon decided he needed to try something new . . . Everything starts to go south when Napoleon leaves his wife. An eighty-five-year-old former boxer with a restless, youthful spirit, Napoleon decides to say to hell with it all! He wants a new life. With his ten-year-old grandson Leonard Sunshine, he embarks on a moving adventure, a rebellion against everything that takes the fun out of life. Above all, Leonard is determined to spare his grandfather the fate of the elderly - his final years spent exiled in a retirement home. The chaotic duo adopt a dog, drive a fake taxi, escape to the seaside, sabotage door-to-door salesmen and plot to kidnap a famous radio star. From the heart of Paris to the coast of Normandy, The Last Adventure of Napoleon Sunshine is a moving, life-affirming and melancholy tale of new beginnings and the importance of family.

Orbit

Brief Cases

Jim Butcher
Authors:
Jim Butcher
Orbit

Marked

Benedict Jacka
Authors:
Benedict Jacka
Orbit

Burned

Benedict Jacka
Authors:
Benedict Jacka
Orbit

Veiled

Benedict Jacka
Authors:
Benedict Jacka

REBEL NO MOREAlex Verus is a mage who can see the future, but even he didn't see this day coming. He's agreed to join the Keepers, the magical police force, to protect his friends from his old master, the Dark Mage Richard Drakh.Going legit was always going to be difficult for an outcast like Alex, and there are some Keepers who aren't keen to see an ex-Dark mage succeed. Especially when Dark mages are making a play for a seat on the council, for the first time in history.Alex finally has the law on his side -- but trapped between Light and Dark politics, investigating a seedy underworld with ties to the highest of powers, will a badge be enough to save him?

ATOM

The Young World

Chris Weitz
Authors:
Chris Weitz

Welcome to New York, a city ruled by teens.After a mysterious Sickness wipes out the rest of the population, the young survivors assemble into tightly run tribes. Jefferson, the reluctant leader of the Washington Square tribe, and Donna, the girl he's secretly in love with, have carved out a precarious existence among the chaos. But when another tribe member discovers a clue that may hold the cure to the Sickness, five teens set out on a life-altering road trip to save humankind.The tribe exchanges gunfire with enemy gangs, escapes cults and militias, braves the wilds of the subway and Central Park . . . and discovers truths they could never have imagined.

Orbit

The Way of Shadows: The Graphic Novel

Brent Weeks, Andy MacDonald
Contributors:
Brent Weeks, Andy MacDonald

THE PERFECT KILLER HAS NO FRIENDS, ONLY TARGETS.For Durzo Blint, assassination is an art. And he is the city's most accomplished artist, his talents required from alleyway to courtly boudoir. For Azoth, survival is precarious. Something you never take for granted. As a guild rat, he's grown up in the slums and learned the hard way to judge people quickly - and to take risks. Risks like apprenticing himself to Durzo Blint. But to be accepted, Azoth must turn his back on his old life and embrace a new identity and name. As Kylar Stern, he must learn to navigate the assassins' world of dangerous politics and strange magics - and cultivate a flair for death.See Brent Weeks's New York Times bestselling fantasy of assassins and thieves come to life in this graphic novel adaptation with art by Marvel and DC Comics artist Andy MacDonald.

Corsair

The Revolutions

Felix Gilman
Authors:
Felix Gilman

THE REVOLUTIONS is a fantasy of the occult scene in fin de siecle London, the celestial spheres, and mystical Martian exploration. It follows two young lovers separated by the schemes and blundering of rival occultists, from the drawing rooms of spiritualist societies, through shady enterprises in Deptford warehouses, and magical war on the Isle of Dogs, and out to a hallucinatory, doomed Mars drawn from the fantasies of Edgar Rice Burroughs, the imaginings of Aleister Crowley, and the speculations of Victorian astronomers.Praise for Felix Gilman:"[Gilman] takes the brutality of the wild west and twists it into an epic fantasy that left me staggered. It brings the sense of wonder back to fantasy by creating a complex and visceral world unlike anything I've read... stunning." Mary Robinette Kowal, author of Shades of Milk and Honey"Refreshingly unlike any other novel I've read. Felix Gilman writes like a modern-day Dickens drunk on rich invention and insane war." Stephen Donaldson, author of The Chronicles of Thomas Covenant"A fantasy that Mark Twain would have been proud to write...Never has fantasy been darker, cleverer, more sly, or more touching in its refraction of our own world. I scratch my head in awe." Francis Spufford, author of Red Plenty"Gilman is one of the essential modern fantasists, and his latest book lives up to the expectations generated by his previous successes." Benjamin Wald, SF Revu"Like The Half-Made World that came before it, The Rise of Ransom City brings us a re-imagined tale of America's Old West, mixing steampunk and magic realism to great effect." Kirkus Reviews"Felix Gilman has a sly wit and an assured hand. He is a fresh and original voice in fantasy." Lavie Tidhar, author of Osama"Vivid and accurate prose, a gripping, imaginative story, a terrifically inventive setting, a hard-bitten, indestructible hero, and an intelligent, fully adult heroine---we haven't had a science-fiction novel like this for a long time." Ursula K. Le Guin

Orbit

Red Blooded

Amanda Carlson
Authors:
Amanda Carlson
Orbit

Hidden

Benedict Jacka
Authors:
Benedict Jacka

NEVER LOOK BACKAlex Verus is a diviner who can see probable futures - a talent that's gotten him and his friends out of many a tough scrape. But what happens when someone doesn't want Alex's help?Alex's friend, the life mage Anne, distanced herself from him when she found out about his past as a Dark apprentice. Now she's in serious trouble, but wants nothing to do with him. Alex has to start wondering if Anne's problem is really with him - or if there's a secret she's trying to hide. On top of that, rumours are swirling around London that Alex's former master may be back in town. Alex has no idea what his agenda may be, or who it involves . . .

Orbit

Shifting Shadows

Patricia Briggs
Authors:
Patricia Briggs

Mercy Thompson's world just got a whole lot bigger . . .A collection of all-new and previously published short stories set in a world desribed as "the best new urban fantasy series I've read in years" by Kelley Armstrong - featuring Mercy Thompson and the characters she calls friends.The collection includes the new stories . . ."Silver""Roses in Winter""Redemption""Hollow". . . and reader favorites"Fairy Gifts""Gray""Alpha and Omega""Seeing Eye""The Star of David""In Red, with Pearls"

Corsair

Half-Off Ragnarok

Seanan McGuire
Authors:
Seanan McGuire
Piatkus

Firelight

Kristen Callihan
Authors:
Kristen Callihan
Piatkus

Born of Fury

Sherrilyn Kenyon
Authors:
Sherrilyn Kenyon
Corsair

Discount Armageddon

Seanan McGuire
Authors:
Seanan McGuire
Corsair

Midnight Blue-Light Special

Seanan McGuire
Authors:
Seanan McGuire
Orbit

Chosen

Benedict Jacka
Authors:
Benedict Jacka

Life is quiet for Alex Verus. Amazing.With a flat full of friends (and the occasional fish), and business booming, why not enjoy the humdrum here and now?But of course that's too good to be true. In a sudden and cruel pincer movement of fate, Alex finds himself fighting a sinister and powerful gang as well as his own demons - for the same crime.Held hostage by the choices of his past, Alex's future is now in jeopardy . . .

Orbit

Taken

Benedict Jacka
Authors:
Benedict Jacka

Welcome to Fountain Reach Ancient seat of the Aubuchon dynasty Majestic setting of the White Stone tournament Alex Verus's (not necessarily reliable) reputation attracts all sorts. Most are plain bonkers. Yet there's one invitation he just can't refuse. At Fountain Reach, Alex is perfectly placed among the noted and notorious to figure out why apprentices have been vanishing. But the tournament is a minefield of ancient grudges and new threats, and Alex can't afford to miss a trick as his elusive adversary stays one step ahead in this most dangerous of games.

Canvas

666 Park Avenue

Gabriella Pierce
Authors:
Gabriella Pierce