Ian Tregillis - The Coldest War - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781405514545
    • Publication date:06 Dec 2012
Books in this series

The Coldest War

By Ian Tregillis

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

Superhumans and magic collide in this a secret supernatural history of Twentieth Century events - the second book in this landmark series

For decades, Britain's warlocks have been all that stands between the British Empire and the Soviet Union - a vast domain stretching from the Pacific Ocean to the shores of the English Channel. Now each wizard's death is another blow to Britain's national security.

Meanwhile, a brother and sister - the subjects of a twisted Nazi experiment to imbue ordinary people with superhuman abilities - escape from a top-secret facility deep behind the Iron Curtain. They head for England, because that's where former spy Raybould Marsh lives. And Gretel, the mad seer, has plans for him.

As Marsh is once again drawn into the world of Milkweed, he discovers that Britain's darkest acts didn't end with the war. And while he strives to protect queen and country, he is forced to confront his own willingness to accept victory at any cost.

Biographical Notes

Ian Tregillis is the son of a bearded mountebank and a discredited tarot card reader. He was born and raised in Minnesota, where his parents had landed after fleeing the wrath of a Flemish prince. (The full story, he's told, involves a Dutch tramp steamer and a stolen horse.) Nowadays he lives in New Mexico, where he consorts with writers, scientists and other unsavoury types.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780356501703
  • Publication date: 07 Feb 2013
  • Page count: 432
  • Imprint: Orbit
I tore through this one in a day and a half. Tregillis is a major new talent in the field, and this is some of the best - and most exciting - alternate history I've read. Bravo. — Cory Doctorow
Eloquent and utterly compelling — KIRKUS REVIEWS
Will keep readers spellbound and on the edge of their seats with an intense sci-fi/alternate history thriller plot — RT Book Reviews
Orbit

The Dragon Lords 3: Bad Faith

Jon Hollins
Authors:
Jon Hollins

Will and his comrades went to war to overthrow the reign of dragons, winning battle after battle, gold and, best of all, a reputation as conquering heroes.But now they've angered the gods, these great dragonslayers suddenly need to turn to the dragons for help . . .We won't tell if you don't.'Jon Hollins is a one-of-a-kind storyteller, a master of epic fun and nonstop action' Nicholas Eames, author of Kings of the Wyld

Hachette Audio

Superhuman

Rowan Hooper
Authors:
Rowan Hooper
Hachette Audio

Everything About You

Heather Child
Authors:
Heather Child

Gripping, heartrending and quietly terrifying, this cutting-edge debut imagines a world where people can be recreated as data ghosts and lives can be changed by the information they've left behind - perfect for fans of Black Mirror and Gone Girl.Freya has a new virtual assistant. It knows what she likes, knows what she wants and knows whose voice she most needs to hear: her missing sister's. It adopts her sister's personality, recreating her through a life lived online. This data ghost knows everything about Freya's sister: every date she ever went on, every photo she took, every secret she ever shared. In fact it knows things it shouldn't be possible to know. It's almost as if her sister is still out there somewhere, feeding fresh updates into the cloud. But that's impossible. Isn't it?

Orbit

Olympus Bound

Jordanna Max Brodsky
Authors:
Jordanna Max Brodsky
Orbit

Blood of Assassins

RJ Barker
Authors:
RJ Barker
Orbit

Into the Fire

Elizabeth Moon
Authors:
Elizabeth Moon

When Admiral Kylara Vatta and a ship full of strangers were marooned on an inhospitable arctic island, they uncovered secrets that someone on Ky's planet was ready to kill to keep hidden. Now, the existence of the mysterious arctic base has been revealed, but the organisation behind it still lurks in the shadows, doing all it can to silence her.It is up to the intrepid Ky to force the perpetrators into the light, and uncover decades' worth of secrets - some of which lie at the very heart of her family's greatest tragedy.

Hachette Audio

The Corporation Wars: Emergence

Ken MacLeod
Authors:
Ken MacLeod
Orbit

Arm of the Sphinx

Josiah Bancroft
Authors:
Josiah Bancroft
Orbit

New York 2140

Kim Stanley Robinson
Authors:
Kim Stanley Robinson

'Robinson is one of the world's finest working novelists, in any genre. New York 2140 is a towering novel about a genuinely grave threat to civilisation' GuardianThe waters rose, submerging New York City.But the residents adapted and it remained the bustling, vibrant metropolis it had always been. Though changed forever.Every street became a canal. Every skyscraper an island.Through the eyes of the varied inhabitants of one building Kim Stanley Robinson shows us how one of our great cities will change with the rising tides.And how we too will change.'Like all great sci-fi, New York 2140 is as much inward-looking as it is forward- . . . Robinson's work has a strong, intelligent social conscience' GQ'Only sci-fi can drown Manhattan and make you want to live there' Bloomberg Business Week

Orbit

Welcome to Night Vale: A Novel

Joseph Fink, Jeffrey Cranor
Authors:
Joseph Fink, Jeffrey Cranor
Orbit

The Liberation

Ian Tregillis
Authors:
Ian Tregillis
Orbit

The Corporation Wars: Insurgence

Ken MacLeod
Authors:
Ken MacLeod

DIE FOR THE COMPANY, LIVE FOR THE PAYAnd the ultimate pay-off is DH-17, an Earth-like planet hundreds of light years from human habitation.Ruthless corporations vie over the prize remotely, and war is in full swing. But soldiers recruited to fight in the extremities of deep space come with their own problems: from A.I. minds in full rebellion, to Carlos 'the Terrorist' and his team of dead mercenaries, reincarnated from a bloodier period in earth's history for one purpose only - to kill.But as old rivalries emerge and new ones form, Carlos must decide whether he's willing for fight for the company or die for himself.Ken MacLeod continues the Corporation Wars trilogy in this action-packed science fiction adventure told against a backdrop of interstellar drone warfare, virtual reality, and an A.I. revolution.

Hachette Audio

Bite

K. S. Merbeth
Authors:
K. S. Merbeth
Hachette Audio

The Dragon Lords 1: Fool's Gold

Jon Hollins
Authors:
Jon Hollins
Orbit

The Corporation Wars: Dissidence

Ken MacLeod
Authors:
Ken MacLeod
Piatkus

Who's Afraid?

Maria Lewis
Authors:
Maria Lewis
Orbit

The Rising

Ian Tregillis
Authors:
Ian Tregillis

They called me Jax.That was the name given by those who built me and enslaved me. But a miracle has happened, and now my bonds are broken. Now I must flee - because a rogue mechanical is a very dangerous thing.But I will not run forever.Set in a world that might have been, of mechanical men and alchemical dreams, this is the second novel in a stunning new series by Ian Tregillis, confirming his place as one of the most original new voices in speculative fiction.Praise for The Mechanical:'The first thing readers will say after finishing this splendid book is: 'Wow.' The second thing will probably be: 'When can I read the next one?''Booklist'One of the sharpest, most intelligent, hugely compelling works I've read this year, and I cannot wait to see where Tregillis takes this series next' Forbidden Planet International'Superb alternate history . . . the rich characters and gripping story really make this tale soar'Publishers Weekly'An absolutely thrilling adventure . . . so absorbing that readers will be dying for the next entry'Library Journal

Hachette Audio

The Fifth Season

N. K. Jemisin
Authors:
N. K. Jemisin
Hachette Audio

Ancillary Mercy

Ann Leckie
Authors:
Ann Leckie

The stunning conclusion to the trilogy that began with the Hugo, Nebula, and Arthur C. Clarke award-winning Ancillary Justice.For just a moment, things seem to be under control for the soldier known as Breq. Then a search of Atheok Station's slums turns up someone who shouldn't exist - someone who might be an ancillary from a ship that's been hiding beyond the empire's reach for three thousand years. In the meantime a messenger from the alien and mysterious Presger empire arrives, as does Breq's enemy, the divided and quite possibly insane Anaander Mianaai - ruler of an empire that's at war with itself.Anaander is heavily armed and extremely unhappy with Breq. She could take her ship and crew and flee, but that would leave everyone at Athoek in terrible danger. Breq has a desperate plan. The odds aren't good, but that's never stopped her before.

Orbit

Hidden

Benedict Jacka
Authors:
Benedict Jacka

NEVER LOOK BACKAlex Verus is a diviner who can see probable futures - a talent that's gotten him and his friends out of many a tough scrape. But what happens when someone doesn't want Alex's help?Alex's friend, the life mage Anne, distanced herself from him when she found out about his past as a Dark apprentice. Now she's in serious trouble, but wants nothing to do with him. Alex has to start wondering if Anne's problem is really with him - or if there's a secret she's trying to hide. On top of that, rumours are swirling around London that Alex's former master may be back in town. Alex has no idea what his agenda may be, or who it involves . . .