Helen Lowe - Daughter of Blood - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780748123261
    • Publication date:26 Jan 2016
Books in this series

Daughter of Blood

The Wall of Night: Book Three

By Helen Lowe

  • Paperback
  • £9.99

The long-awaited third instalment of the David Gemmell Award-winning Wall of Night series. Epic fantasy at its best: even Robin Hobb is a fan of these tales of heroic deeds and prophecies fulfilled

A failing wall, a broken shield . . . and an enemy that will exploit every weakness

Malian and Kalan are coming home, but already it may be too late. The Wall of Night, dangerously weakened by civil war among the Derai families that garrison it, is on the verge of failing. Everywhere their ancient enemy, the Darksworn, is on the move as the threads of an old pattern begin to tighten about Kalan, and Malian searches for answers in the fabled Shield of Heaven, which every account agrees was broken beyond repair.

In Grayharbor and in the Red Keep, a child and a young woman are caught in conflict's maw, as whispers gather around Dread Pass and a Darksworn prophecy points to Malian herself being the stake the ancient enemy will drive into the heart of the Derai Alliance.

One of FantasyLiterature.com's Best Books of 2016.
A richly told tale of strange magic, dark treachery and conflicting loyalties - Robin Hobb on THE HEIR OF NIGHT

Biographical Notes

Helen Lowe lives in Christchurch, New Zealand, and writes fantasy and science fiction novels, poetry and short fiction. She also hosts a monthly poetry feature on the New Zealand radio station Plains.

Her debut novel, The Heir of Night, won the Morningstar Award for best debut novel at the 2012 Gemmell Awards.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780356500058
  • Publication date: 28 Jan 2016
  • Page count: 752
  • Imprint: Orbit
Helen Lowe's Wall of Night series has the potential to become a classic, right up there with the likes of George R.R. Martin's A Song of Ice and Fire . . . Anyone who loves to read fantastic fiction from a true talent should read this series. — SF Site
Helen Lowe's Daughter of Blood may well be the best and most complex epic fantasy novel of the year — Rising Shadow
Orbit

Adrift

Rob Boffard
Authors:
Rob Boffard
Piatkus

Deep Blue

Jane O'Reilly
Authors:
Jane O'Reilly
Orbit

Brief Cases

Jim Butcher
Authors:
Jim Butcher

Magic. It can get a guy killed. Return to the world of the Dresden Files with Harry Dresden (the only wizard in the Chicago phone book) and friends as they solve supernatural mysteries, protect the helpless, and fight evil.Brief Cases is a new collection of Dresden Files stories that will include an original novella, from international bestseller Jim Butcher.Stories included in this collection: 'Curses', 'AAAA Wizardry', 'Even Hand', 'B is for Bigfoot', 'I was a Teenage Bigfoot', 'Bigfoot on Campus', 'Bombshells', 'Jury Duty', 'Cold Case', 'Day One', 'A Fistful of Warlocks', 'Zoo Day' (original novella taking place between Skin Game and Peace Talks).

Orbit

The Thousand Deaths of Ardor Benn

Tyler Whitesides
Authors:
Tyler Whitesides
Orbit

The Defiant Heir

Melissa Caruso
Authors:
Melissa Caruso
Piatkus

The Thief

J. R. Ward
Authors:
J. R. Ward

New enemies rise from the shadows in the next novel of the New York Times bestselling paranormal romance series the Black Dagger Brotherhood.Having allied themselves with the Band of Bastards, the Brotherhood is committed now more than ever to eradicating the Lessening Society. Recovering from the most recent battle against the last of the lessers, the Brotherhood comes to realize their fight against enemies is far from over. Throe, Xcor's former secondin command, is using an ancient tome to summon a new army engineered by a force more dangerous and evil than the Omega. With an army rising from the shadows, brothers of the Black Dagger Brotherhood will be tested both at home and on the battlefield.

Hachette Audio

The Hawk Eternal

David Gemmell
Authors:
David Gemmell
Hachette Audio

Blood of Assassins

RJ Barker
Authors:
RJ Barker
Hachette Audio

The Gods of Love: to save the world, she'll have to save herself . . .

Nicola Mostyn
Authors:
Nicola Mostyn

'This book blew my mind. A super-smart comedy about love. Romantic, adventurous, magical, and very very funny. Mostyn has invented a whole new genre. All hail the new goddess of the romcom!' Emma Jane Unsworth, author of AnimalsMeet Frida. Divorce lawyer, cynic and secret descendant of the immortal love god Eros. She's about to have a really bad day . . . When a handsome but clearly delusional man named Dan bursts into Frida's office and insists that she is fated to save the world, she has him ejected faster than you can say 'prenup'. But a creepy meeting, a demon or three and one attempted kidnapping later, Frida is beginning to face the inconvenient truth: Dan is in fact The Oracle, the gods of Greek mythology are real and Frida herself appears to be everyone's only hope. The world is doomed. Bridget Jones by way of Neil Gaiman, this smart and quirky story will change the way you look at love forever

Orbit

The Fatal Gate

Ian Irvine
Authors:
Ian Irvine

The cruel Merdrun, the greatest warriors in the void, have invaded Santhenar but their portal failed, leaving them stranded. They're desperately trying to regain contact with the summon stone so they can reopen the portal and begin the slaughter of humanity. Llian, hurled through another portal, sees the summon stone wake and knows the allies have but one chance to destroy the Merdrun - though it will involve an alchemical quest that has always ended in ruin, a mad invasion in untested sky ships with untrained pilots and the most unequal battle in all the Histories.

Orbit

Silence Fallen

Patricia Briggs
Authors:
Patricia Briggs
Piatkus

Blood Fury

J. R. Ward
Authors:
J. R. Ward
Piatkus

Born of Vengeance

Sherrilyn Kenyon
Authors:
Sherrilyn Kenyon
Orbit

The Two of Swords: Volume Three

K. J. Parker
Authors:
K. J. Parker

World Fantasy Award-winning fantasy author K. J. Parker delivers his most ambitious work yet - the story of a war on a grand scale, told through the eyes of soldiers, politicians, victims and heroes.A soldier with a gift for archery. A woman who kills without care. Two brothers, both unbeatable generals, now fighting for opposing armies. No one in the vast and once glorious United Empire remains untouched by the rift between East and West, and the war has been fought for as long as anyone can remember. Some still survive who know how it was started, but no one knows how it will end. Except, perhaps, the Two of Swords.

Orbit

A War in Crimson Embers

Alex Marshall
Authors:
Alex Marshall

FIVE VILLAINS. ONE MISSION. A WAR AGAINST DEVILS. Warrior queen and pariah Cold Zosia wakes in the ashes of a burning city. Her vengeance has brought her to this - her heroic reputation in tatters, her friends scattered far and wide and her world under threat by unknown forces. General Ji-Hyeon is trapped in the Gates between worlds, while her lover Sullen grapples with a mission from a dead goddess. The barbarian warrior Maroto is held captive by a demonic army that threatens to spill into the Crimson Empire at any moment. The once-legendary Zosia must rally her comrades and old enemies one last time, for a battle that will be greater than any tale ever told of her deeds before. If anyone lives to tell it.

Piatkus

Year One

Nora Roberts
Authors:
Nora Roberts

With one drop of blood, the old world is gone for ever. And in its place, something extraordinary begins...They call it The Doom - a deadly pandemic that starts on a cold New Year's Eve in the Scottish countryside. There's something mysterious about the virus and the way it spreads. As billions fall sick and die, some survivors find themselves invested with strange, unexpected abilities. Lana, a New York chef, has the power to move things and people with her will. Fred can summon light in the darkness. Jonah, a paramedic, sees snatches of the future in those he touches. Katie gives birth to twins, and suspects that she has brought fresh magic into the world, along with new life. But The Doom affects people differently. Along with the light, a dark and terrifying magic will also rise. As the remaining authorities round up the immune and the 'Uncannies' for testing, Lana, Katie and others flee New York in search of a safe haven. The old world is over, and Year One has begun.

Orbit

Malice of Crows

Lila Bowen
Authors:
Lila Bowen
Hachette Audio

A Plague of Giants

Kevin Hearne
Authors:
Kevin Hearne

'TRULY EPIC FANTASY' James Islington, author of The Shadow of What Was LostFrom the east came the Bone Giants. From the south, the fire-wielding Hathrim.It was an invasion that sparked war across the six nations of Teldwen. Now the kingdom's only hope is the discovery of a new form of magic - one that will call the wondrous beasts of the world to fight by the side of humankind.In the start of a thrilling new series, the New York Times bestselling author of The Iron Druid Chronicles creates an unforgettable fantasy world of warring giants and elemental magic.'This isn't just a breath of fresh air for the genre, it's a damned hurricane' Jason M. Hough, New York Times bestselling author'A rare masterpiece that's both current and timeless . . . merging the fantasy bones of Tolkien and Rothfuss with a wide cast of characters who'll break your heart'Delilah S. Dawson

Orbit

An Echo of Things to Come

James Islington
Authors:
James Islington

An Echo of Things to Come continues the epic story that began in The Shadow of What Was Lost, the acclaimed fantasy blockbuster from James Islington. AS SHADOWS RISE, A DARKNESS AWAKESAn amnesty has been declared for all Augurs - finally allowing them to emerge from hiding and openly oppose the dark forces massing against Andarra. However, as Davian and his new allies hurry north towards the ever-weakening Boundary, fresh horrors along their path suggest that their reprieve may have come far too late.Meanwhile, Caeden continues to wrestle with the impossibly heavy burdens of his past. Yet as more and more of his memories return, he begins to realise that the motivations of the two sides in this ancient war may not be as clear-cut as they first seemed . . .Praise for the series: 'Fans of Robert Jordan and Brandon Sanderson will find much to admire' Guardian'Numerous surprises . . . action aplenty' SciFiNow'You'll be left wanting more' SFX'Action-packed epic fantasy' BookBag

Orbit

Senlin Ascends

Josiah Bancroft
Authors:
Josiah Bancroft