Helen Lowe - Daughter of Blood - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780748123261
    • Publication date:26 Jan 2016
Books in this series

Daughter of Blood

The Wall of Night: Book Three

By Helen Lowe

  • Paperback
  • £9.99

The long-awaited third instalment of the David Gemmell Award-winning Wall of Night series. Epic fantasy at its best: even Robin Hobb is a fan of these tales of heroic deeds and prophecies fulfilled

A failing wall, a broken shield . . . and an enemy that will exploit every weakness

Malian and Kalan are coming home, but already it may be too late. The Wall of Night, dangerously weakened by civil war among the Derai families that garrison it, is on the verge of failing. Everywhere their ancient enemy, the Darksworn, is on the move as the threads of an old pattern begin to tighten about Kalan, and Malian searches for answers in the fabled Shield of Heaven, which every account agrees was broken beyond repair.

In Grayharbor and in the Red Keep, a child and a young woman are caught in conflict's maw, as whispers gather around Dread Pass and a Darksworn prophecy points to Malian herself being the stake the ancient enemy will drive into the heart of the Derai Alliance.

One of FantasyLiterature.com's Best Books of 2016.
A richly told tale of strange magic, dark treachery and conflicting loyalties - Robin Hobb on THE HEIR OF NIGHT

Biographical Notes

Helen Lowe lives in Christchurch, New Zealand, and writes fantasy and science fiction novels, poetry and short fiction. She also hosts a monthly poetry feature on the New Zealand radio station Plains.

Her debut novel, The Heir of Night, won the Morningstar Award for best debut novel at the 2012 Gemmell Awards.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780356500058
  • Publication date: 28 Jan 2016
  • Page count: 752
  • Imprint: Orbit
Helen Lowe's Wall of Night series has the potential to become a classic, right up there with the likes of George R.R. Martin's A Song of Ice and Fire . . . Anyone who loves to read fantastic fiction from a true talent should read this series. — SF Site
Helen Lowe's Daughter of Blood may well be the best and most complex epic fantasy novel of the year — Rising Shadow
Orbit

The Gutter Prayer

Gareth Ryder-Hanrahan
Authors:
Gareth Ryder-Hanrahan

Orbit

Splintered Suns

Michael Cobley
Authors:
Michael Cobley

For Pyke and his crew it should have been just another heist. Travel to a backwater desert planet, break into a museum, steal a tracking device then use it to find a ship buried in the planet's vast and trackless sandy wastes. Except that the museum vault is a bio-engineered chamber, and the tracking device is sought-after by another gang of treasure hunters led by an old adversary of Pyke's, the devious Raven Kaligara. Also, the ship is quarter of a million years old and about two kilometres long and somewhere aboard it is the Essavyr Key, a relic to unlock all the treasures and technologies of a lost civilisation . . .

Orbit

How Long 'Til Black Future Month

N. K. Jemisin
Authors:
N. K. Jemisin

Running Press Adult

Fantastic Beasts: The Magizoologist's Discovery Case

Donald Lemke
Authors:
Donald Lemke
Piatkus

Year One

Nora Roberts
Authors:
Nora Roberts

With one drop of blood, the old world is gone for ever. And in its place, something extraordinary begins...They call it The Doom - a deadly pandemic that starts on a cold New Year's Eve in the Scottish countryside. There's something mysterious about the virus and the way it spreads. As billions fall sick and die, some survivors find themselves invested with strange, unexpected abilities. Lana, a New York chef, has the power to move things and people with her will. Fred can summon light in the darkness. Jonah, a paramedic, sees snatches of the future in those he touches. Katie gives birth to twins, and suspects that she has brought fresh magic into the world, along with new life. But The Doom affects people differently. Along with the light, a dark and terrifying magic will also rise. As the remaining authorities round up the immune and the 'Uncannies' for testing, Lana, Katie and others flee New York in search of a safe haven. The old world is over, and Year One has begun.

Piatkus

An Easy Death: the Gunnie Rose series

Charlaine Harris
Authors:
Charlaine Harris
Orbit

The Sisters of the Winter Wood

Rena Rossner
Authors:
Rena Rossner
Orbit

Blood of the Gods

David Mealing
Authors:
David Mealing

With its memorable characters, vivid world-building and unique magic systems, Blood of the Gods is the powerful second novel in David Mealing's Ascension Cycle - perfect for fans of Brandon Sanderson and Brian McClellan. AS THE FIRES OF REVOLUTION RAGE . . .The city of New Sarresant simmers with discontent. Civil war looms as the Crown's authority is challenged by revolutionaries. Sarine, a young street artist, only cares about surviving - and staying one step ahead of the law. Yet her hidden powers will draw the attention of both royalists and rebels, and soon she will have to decide whose side she is really on.AND CHAOS SPREADS ACROSS A CONTINENT . . . On the battlefields, General Erris d'Arrant must lead the armies of New Sarresant against its rivals in the south. Yet the enemy seems to know her plans before she even makes them. Erris needs to find out how, but the truth will be far darker than she could have imagined.THREE HEROES MUST RISE OR THE WORLD WILL FALLIn the forests, Aruk'Jur wields an ancient magic that keeps his people safe. Yet the prophecies that have always guided his people have become corrupted, and war between the tribes seems inevitable - unless he can find a way to prevent bloodshed.With its gripping action scenes, vibrant characters and imaginative magic system, Soul of the World is epic fantasy at its very best - a stellar debut from a major new talent. " data-fwclientid="32a20853-6d89-47e7-bcc6-a5e7203129b4" data-preservehtmlbullets="0" data-allowlists="0" data-crlfsubmit="1" autocomplete="off" spellcheck="false" class="field_input_main field_input_copytext field_input_copytext_body copytextheight-large field_input_disabled fieldkeycheck-setup copytext-setup">The battle for the city is over, but the aftermath of a revolution is never simple . . . Sarine begins to experience visions, ones which make her dragon familiar sicker every day. Erris pushes toward conquest and the need to expand her territory and restore her power. And, exiled from his tribe, Arak'Jur apprentices himself to a deadly master.Faced with the threat of a return to the days of darkness, the heroes begin to understand the depth of the sacrifices required from them. To protect their world, they'll have to stand and fight once more.

Little, Brown Young Readers US

Survival Tails

Katrina Charman
Authors:
Katrina Charman
Hachette Audio

The Dragon Lords 3: Bad Faith

Jon Hollins
Authors:
Jon Hollins
Orbit

Dreadful Company

Vivian Shaw
Authors:
Vivian Shaw
Little, Brown Young Readers US

The Inventors at No. 8

A. M. Morgen
Authors:
A. M. Morgen
Little, Brown Young Readers US

Summer Color!

Diana Murray, Zoe Persico
Contributors:
Diana Murray, Zoe Persico
Little, Brown Young Readers US

The Unflushables

Ron Bates
Authors:
Ron Bates
Orbit

Adrift

Rob Boffard
Authors:
Rob Boffard

'AN EDGE-OF-THE-SEAT EPIC OF SURVIVAL AND ADVENTURE IN DEEP SPACE' Gareth L. Powell'A UNIQUE MIX OF THRILLER, SPACE ADVENTURE AND CONSPIRACY NOVEL - HIGHLY RECOMMENDED' Jamie SawyerIn the far reaches of space, a tour group embarks on what will be the trip of a lifetime - in more ways than one . . .For one small group, a tour of the nearby Horsehead Nebula is meant to be a short but stunning highlight in the trip of a lifetime.But when a mysterious ship destroys Sigma Station and everyone on it, suddenly their tourist shuttle is stranded.They have no weapons. No food. No water. No one back home knows they're alive.And the mysterious ship is hunting them.Rob Boffard's Adrift is a thrilling science fiction tale of survival against all odds - perfect for fans of Alastair Reynold's Revenger, Becky Chamber's The Long Way to a Small Angry Planet, Adrian Tchaikovksy' Children of Time and John Scalzi's The Collapsing Empire.'This action-packed adventure is made for summer vacation reading' Publishers Weekly'Adrift is rich in deep character-driven drama, built on a highly suspenseful premise' D. Nolan Clark, author of Forsaken Skies'This book is an intense, heart-pounding, cast-away-in-the-vastness-of-space adventure that keeps you guessing right up until the end! I was so utterly enthralled, I couldn't put it down' K. B. Wagers, author of Behind the Throne

Orbit

The Thousand Deaths of Ardor Benn

Tyler Whitesides
Authors:
Tyler Whitesides
Orbit

A Secret History of Witches

Louisa Morgan
Authors:
Louisa Morgan

*OVER 600 FIVE-STAR REVIEWS ON GOODREADS**A FINALIST FOR THE ENDEAVOUR AWARD*'Will sweep you away to a time of magic, love, and loss . . . mesmerising' Tish ThawerA TALE OF FAMILY, SACRIFICE, LOVE AND MAGIC'It's true, ma petite. If they know - if they discover what we are - they will try to kill us'Brittany, 1821. After Grand-mere Ursule gives her life to save her family, their magic seems to die with her. Even so, the Orchires fight to keep the old ways alive, practicing half-remembered spells and arcane rites in hopes of a revival. And when their youngest daughter comes of age, magic flows anew. The lineage continues, though new generations struggle not only to master their power, but also to keep it hidden.But when World War II looms on the horizon, magic is needed more urgently than ever - not for simple potions or visions, but to change the entire course of history.A Secret History of Witches is a moving historical saga that traces five generations of fiercely powerful mothers and daughters - witches whose magical inheritance is both a dangerous threat and an extraordinary gift. Perfect for fans of A Discovery of Witches, Outlander and Nora Roberts.'A deeply satisfying and magical work of great craft' Carol Goodman, author of Incubus'Deftly captures the greatest magic of all: the love between mothers and daughters' Jordanna Max Brodsky'Enthralling . . . Deeply moving and richly conceived' Kay Kenyon'I loved it. A beautiful generational tale, reminiscent of Practical Magic . . . Grounded and real, painful and hopeful at the same time' Laure Eve'Epic in scope and heartbreakingly tender . . . Recommended for fans of Nora Roberts' Booklist

Orbit

Autonomous

Annalee Newitz
Authors:
Annalee Newitz

Piatkus

Heart on Fire

Amanda Bouchet
Authors:
Amanda Bouchet

'A heart-pounding and joyous romantic adventure that swept me away.' Nalini Singh, New York Times bestselling authorWho is Catalia Fisa?With the help of pivotal figures from her past, Cat begins to understand the root of her exceptional magic, her fated union with Griffin Sinta, and Griffin's role in shaping her destiny.Only Cat holds the key to unlocking her own power, and that means finally accepting herself, her past, and her future in order to protect her loved ones, confront her murderous mother, and taking a final, terrifying step - reuniting all three realms and taking her place as the Queen of Thalyria.What doesn't kill her will only make her stronger . . . we hope.'Absolutely fabulous. I didn't want to put [Breath of Fire] down. Amanda Bouchet is now on my auto-buy list! I highly recommend her books to my readers and to anyone looking for a great blend of fantasy and romance.'C.L. Wilson, New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of The Winter King'This book is utterly breathtaking!' Darynda Jones, New York Times bestselling author of the Charley Davidson series'A Promise of Fire made me laugh out loud more than once.' Thea Harrison, New York Times bestselling author of the Elder Races series

Piatkus

Dark Legacy

Christine Feehan
Authors:
Christine Feehan