Helen Lowe - The Heir Of Night - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780748123247
    • Publication date:03 Mar 2011
Books in this series

The Heir Of Night

The Wall of Night: Book One

By Helen Lowe

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

The start of an incredibly addictive new fantasy series - perfect for readers of Trudi Canavan, Robin Hobb and Brent Weeks. Winner of the 2012 David Gemmell 'Morningstar' Award.

A DARK ENEMY. AN ANCIENT WAR. A NEW CHAMPION.
Young Malian is being trained to rule. Her people garrison the mountain range known as the Wall of Night against an ancient enemy, keeping a tide of shadow from the rest of their world. Malian is expected to uphold this tradition, yet she's known little of real danger until the enemy attacks her fortress home and the Keep of Winds becomes a bloodbath.
Malian flees deep into the Old Keep - and when the danger is greatest her own hidden magic flares into life. But if she accepts its power, she must prepare to pay the price.

'The Heir of Night by Helen Lowe is a richly told tale of strange magic, dark treachery and conflicting loyalties, set in a well realized world' - Robin Hobb

'Dark and magical... The Heir of Night is a grand entrance' TheBookBag.co.uk

The start of an incredibly addictive new fantasy series - perfect for readers of Trudi Canavan, Karen Miller and Brent Weeks.

Biographical Notes

Helen Lowe is a fantasy author living in Christchurch, New Zealand. In 2012 she won the David Gemmell 'Morningstar' Award for her debut fantasy THE HEIR OF NIGHT.

This book was closely followed by THE GATHERING OF THE LOST, and Helen is currently writing DAUGHTER OF BLOOD, the third novel in the 'Wall of Night' sequence.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780356500010
  • Publication date: 19 Jan 2012
  • Page count: 496
  • Imprint: Orbit
THE HEIR OF NIGHT by Helen Lowe is a richly told tale of strange magic, dark treachery and conflicting loyalties, set in a well realized world — Robin Hobb
It's a well-told tale ... an enjoyable read — SFX
Appealing characters and a richly detailed world — Library Journal
Promising and fast-paced new epic fantasy — Bookloons
Hachette Audio

A Plague of Giants

Kevin Hearne
Authors:
Kevin Hearne

'Hearne is a terrific storyteller' SFF WorldIn the city of Pelemyn, Fintan the bard takes to the stage to tell what really happened the night the giants came . . .From the east came the Bone Giants, from the south, the fire-wielding Hathrim - an invasion that sparked war across the six nations of Teldwen. The kingdom's only hope is the discovery of a new form of magic that calls the world's wondrous beasts to fight by the side of humankind. In the start of a compelling new series, the New York Times bestselling author of The Iron Druid Chronicles creates an unforgettable fantasy world of warring giants and elemental magic.

Orbit

The Stone Sky

N. K. Jemisin
Authors:
N. K. Jemisin
Orbit

Conspiracy of Ravens

Lila Bowen
Authors:
Lila Bowen
Orbit

The Obelisk Gate

N. K. Jemisin
Authors:
N. K. Jemisin
Orbit

A Blade of Black Steel

Alex Marshall
Authors:
Alex Marshall

After five hundred years, the Sunken Kingdom has returned, and brought with it a monstrous secret that threatens to destroy every country on the Star. As an inhuman army gathers on its shores, poised to invade the Immaculate Isles, the members of the Cobalt Company face an ugly choice: abandon their dreams of glory and vengeance to combat a menace from another realm, or pursue their ambitions and hope the Star is still there when the smoke clears. Five villains. One legendary general. A battle for survival.

Robinson

The Mammoth Book of Cthulhu

Paula Guran
Authors:
Paula Guran
Orbit

Daughter of Blood

Helen Lowe
Authors:
Helen Lowe

A failing wall, a broken shield . . . and an enemy that will exploit every weaknessMalian and Kalan are coming home, but already it may be too late. The Wall of Night, dangerously weakened by civil war among the Derai families that garrison it, is on the verge of failing. Everywhere their ancient enemy, the Darksworn, is on the move as the threads of an old pattern begin to tighten about Kalan, and Malian searches for answers in the fabled Shield of Heaven, which every account agrees was broken beyond repair.In Grayharbor and in the Red Keep, a child and a young woman are caught in conflict's maw, as whispers gather around Dread Pass and a Darksworn prophecy points to Malian herself being the stake the ancient enemy will drive into the heart of the Derai Alliance.One of FantasyLiterature.com's Best Books of 2016.A richly told tale of strange magic, dark treachery and conflicting loyalties - Robin Hobb on THE HEIR OF NIGHT

Orbit

The Widow's House

Daniel Abraham
Authors:
Daniel Abraham
Robinson

The Mammoth Book of Dieselpunk

Sean Wallace
Authors:
Sean Wallace

Dieselpunk: an emerging retro-futuristic sub-genre, similar to steampunk, based on the era between the First World War and the start of the Atomic Age, merging elements of noir, pulp, and the past with today's technology . . . and sometimes a dash of the occult. Award-winning editor Wallace presents a cutting-edge collection of twenty-five vibrant stories that explore the possibilities of history while sweeping readers into high-powered hydrocarbon-fuelled adventures. Join us in an era when engines were huge, fuel was cheap and plentiful, and steel and chrome blended with the grit and grease of modern machines.Praise for The Mammoth Book of Steampunk:'World Fantasy Award-winning editor Wallace has compiled an outstanding anthology . . . sure to satisfy even the most jaded steampunk fans and engage newcomers and skeptics. Each story exemplifies steampunk's knack for critiquing both the past and the present, in a superb anthology that demands rereading.' Publishers Weekly

Orbit

Prudence

Gail Carriger
Authors:
Gail Carriger

ON BEHALF OF QUEEN, COUNTRY . . . AND THE PERFECT POT OF TEA When Prudence Alessandra Maccon Akeldama (Rue to her friends) is given an unexpected dirigible, she does what any sensible female would under similar circumstances - names it the Spotted Crumpet and floats to India in pursuit of the perfect cup of tea. But India has more than just tea on offer. Rue stumbles upon a plot involving local dissidents, a kidnapped brigadier's wife and some awfully familiar Scottish werewolves. Faced with a dire crisis and an embarrassing lack of bloomers, what else is a young lady of good breeding to do but turn metanatural and find out everyone's secrets, even thousand-year-old fuzzy ones?

Orbit

Otherworld Nights

Kelley Armstrong
Authors:
Kelley Armstrong

Sunday Times bestselling author Kelley Armstrong captivated readers with her Women of the Otherworld series of supernatural thrillers. In this new anthology, favourite characters return in stories of drama, danger and desire. Legendary werewolf partners Elena and Clay stalk the pages of this book, along with vampires, witches, half-demons and sorcerers. Filled with fan favourites and rarities, Otherworld Nights concludes with a brand-new novella, 'Vanishing Act'. This thrilling longer story is set after series finale 13, and features much-loved characters Savannah and Adam as they begin a new life - and a mysterious new case - together.

Orbit

The Shadow Rising

Robert Jordan
Authors:
Robert Jordan

The Stone of Tear, invulnerable fortress of legend, has fallen. The Children of the Dragon have risen to the call of prophecy and march to the aid of the Light. Callandor, the Sword That Is Not a Sword, is held by Rand al'Thor, the man proclaimed as the Dragon Reborn.But still the shadows lengthen and still the Forsaken grow in strength. If he is to fight them, Rand must master the male half of the True Source, a power corrupted by the Dark One, a power that drives men to madness, a power that may save or damn the world.Be sure to look out for the Wheel of Time Companion - the definitive encyclopedia for this global bestselling fantasy phenomenon.

Orbit

Winter's Heart

Robert Jordan
Authors:
Robert Jordan
Orbit

Dirty Magic

Jaye Wells
Authors:
Jaye Wells
Constable

Legacy

James Kerr
Authors:
James Kerr

Champions do extra. They sweep the sheds. They follow the spearhead. They keep a blue head. They are good ancestors. In Legacy, best-selling author James Kerr goes deep into the heart of the world's most successful sporting team, the legendary All Blacks of New Zealand, to reveal 15 powerful and practical lessons for leadership and business. Legacy is a unique, inspiring handbook for leaders in all fields, and asks: What are the secrets of success - sustained success? How do you achieve world-class standards, day after day, week after week, year after year? How do you handle pressure? How do you train to win at the highest level? What do you leave behind you after you're gone? What will be your legacy?

Orbit

A Dance of Cloaks

David Dalglish
Authors:
David Dalglish
Orbit

Knight's Dawn

Kim Hunter
Authors:
Kim Hunter

A SOLDIER WITHOUT A PAST A wounded knight awakens alone on a hillside. His only memory is that of a mighty battle - but there has not been a battle in this place for more than a hundred years. Tired, hungry and alone, the knight must rely on the help of others if he is to survive. Kindness takes him to the magnificent city of Zamerkand, but what lies inside the city gates will leave his life in more danger than ever. Safety can only be found in the ranks of the mercenary army known as the Red Pavilions. But joining up is only the beginning of an extraordinary quest for the man who calls himself Soldier - a quest for revenge, for truth and for his own identity.

Orbit

The Gathering Of The Lost

Helen Lowe
Authors:
Helen Lowe
Orbit

Trapped

Kevin Hearne
Authors:
Kevin Hearne
Orbit

The Rogue

Trudi Canavan
Authors:
Trudi Canavan