Helen Lowe - The Heir Of Night - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780748123247
    • Publication date:03 Mar 2011
Books in this series

The Heir Of Night

The Wall of Night: Book One

By Helen Lowe

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

The start of an incredibly addictive new fantasy series - perfect for readers of Trudi Canavan, Robin Hobb and Brent Weeks. Winner of the 2012 David Gemmell 'Morningstar' Award.

A DARK ENEMY. AN ANCIENT WAR. A NEW CHAMPION.
Young Malian is being trained to rule. Her people garrison the mountain range known as the Wall of Night against an ancient enemy, keeping a tide of shadow from the rest of their world. Malian is expected to uphold this tradition, yet she's known little of real danger until the enemy attacks her fortress home and the Keep of Winds becomes a bloodbath.
Malian flees deep into the Old Keep - and when the danger is greatest her own hidden magic flares into life. But if she accepts its power, she must prepare to pay the price.

'The Heir of Night by Helen Lowe is a richly told tale of strange magic, dark treachery and conflicting loyalties, set in a well realized world' - Robin Hobb

'Dark and magical... The Heir of Night is a grand entrance' TheBookBag.co.uk

The start of an incredibly addictive new fantasy series - perfect for readers of Trudi Canavan, Karen Miller and Brent Weeks.

Biographical Notes

Helen Lowe is a fantasy author living in Christchurch, New Zealand. In 2012 she won the David Gemmell 'Morningstar' Award for her debut fantasy THE HEIR OF NIGHT.

This book was closely followed by THE GATHERING OF THE LOST, and Helen is currently writing DAUGHTER OF BLOOD, the third novel in the 'Wall of Night' sequence.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780356500010
  • Publication date: 19 Jan 2012
  • Page count: 496
  • Imprint: Orbit
THE HEIR OF NIGHT by Helen Lowe is a richly told tale of strange magic, dark treachery and conflicting loyalties, set in a well realized world — Robin Hobb
It's a well-told tale ... an enjoyable read — SFX
Appealing characters and a richly detailed world — Library Journal
Promising and fast-paced new epic fantasy — Bookloons
Piatkus

The Savior

J. R. Ward
Authors:
J. R. Ward

New enemies rise and desire burns in the next thrilling novel of the New York Times bestselling paranormal romance series the Black Dagger Brotherhood.

Orbit

Soulkeeper

David Dalglish
Authors:
David Dalglish
Orbit

The Raven Tower

Ann Leckie
Authors:
Ann Leckie

Listen. A god is speaking.My voice echoes through the stone of your master's castle. The castle where he finds his uncle on his father's throne. You want to help him. You cannot.You are the only one who can hear me.You will change the world.A triumph of the imagination, The Raven Tower is the first fantasy novel by Ann Leckie, New York Times bestselling author and winner of the Hugo, Nebula, and Arthur C. Clarke Awards. Gods meddle in the fates of men, men play with the fates of gods and a pretender must be cast down from the throne in this breathtaking fantasy masterpiece.

Orbit

The Wolf in the Whale

Jordanna Max Brodsky
Authors:
Jordanna Max Brodsky
Orbit

The Hod King

Josiah Bancroft
Authors:
Josiah Bancroft
Orbit

The Gutter Prayer

Gareth Hanrahan
Authors:
Gareth Hanrahan
Orbit

The Night Angel Trilogy

Brent Weeks
Authors:
Brent Weeks
Hachette Audio

How Long 'til Black Future Month?

N. K. Jemisin
Authors:
N. K. Jemisin

Hugo award-winning and New York Times bestselling author N. K. Jemisin sharply examines modern society in her first short story collection.N. K. Jemisin is one of the most powerful and acclaimed speculative fiction authors of our time. In the first collection of her evocative short fiction, Jemisin equally challenges and delights readers with thought-provoking narratives of destruction, rebirth, and redemption. In these stories, Jemisin sharply examines modern society, infusing magic into the mundane, and drawing deft parallels in the fantasy realms of her imagination. Dragons and hateful spirits haunt the flooded streets of New Orleans in the aftermath of Hurricane Katrina. In a parallel universe, a utopian society watches our world, trying to learn from our mistakes. A black mother in the Jim Crow South must save her daughter from a fey offering impossible promises. And in the Hugo award-nominated short story "The City Born Great," a young street kid fights to give birth to an old metropolis's soul.For more from N. K. Jemisin, check out:The Inheritance TrilogyThe Hundred Thousand KingdomsThe Broken KingdomsThe Kingdom of GodsDreamblood DuologyThe Killing MoonThe Shadowed SunThe Broken EarthThe Fifth SeasonThe Obelisk GateThe Stone Sky

Hachette Audio

Thicker Than Water

Mike Carey
Authors:
Mike Carey
Little, Brown

Fantastic Beasts: The Crimes of Grindelwald – The Original Screenplay

J.K. Rowling
Authors:
J.K. Rowling
Running Press Mini Editions

The Little Prince Notecards

Running Press
Authors:
Running Press

Antoine de Saint-Exupéry's The Little Prince has captured the imaginations of readers both young and old since its initial publication in 1943. The story's themes of humanity, concern for the environment, the specialness of childhood, love, and friendship have resonated across generations.Now you can share personalized messages of joy, thanks, or just hello with these unique notecards inspired by one of the most cherished and thought-provoking books of all time. The set comes with:20 cards, each featuring a quote and full-color artwork from The Little Prince, with space for your own message. The set comes with four each of five different designs. 20 blank envelopes

Orbit

Empire of Sand

Tasha Suri
Authors:
Tasha Suri
Orbit

The Winter Road

Adrian Selby
Authors:
Adrian Selby
Orbit

The Sisters of the Winter Wood

Rena Rossner
Authors:
Rena Rossner

'LUSCIOUS AND HYPNOTIC . . . A gripping, powerful story of family, sisterhood. I gulped it down! - Madeline Miller, author of Song of Achilles and Circe'An incredible achievement - A rich literary fairytale' Robert Dinsdale, author of The ToymakersEvery family has a secret . . . and every secret tells a story. In a remote village surrounded by forests on the border of Moldova and Ukraine, sisters Liba and Laya have been raised on the honeyed scent of their Mami's babka and the low rumble of their Tati's prayers. But when a troupe of mysterious men arrives, Laya falls under their spell - despite their mother's warning to be wary of strangers. And this is not the only danger lurking in the woods.As dark forces close in on their small village, Liba and Laya discover a family secret passed down through generations. Faced with a magical heritage they never knew existed, the sisters realise the old fairy tales are true . . . and could save them all.Captivating and boldly imaginative, Rena Rossner's debut invites you to enter a magical world of secrets, family ties and fairy tales weaving through history. Perfect for fans of The Bear and the Nightingale, Uprooted and The Night Circus.'A graceful, poetic, deeply moving novel . . . a simply gorgeous book in every sense' Louisa Morgan'The kind of book that Neil Gaiman and Naomi Novik might have cooked up together' Rob Dinsdale'A luminous debut by an exciting new talent' Ilana C. Myer'An elegant tapestry of the love between sisters, the value of faith and family, and knowing one's true friends in times of peril' J. Kathleen Cheney'Full of heart, history and enchantment' Publishers Weekly (starred review)

Orbit

King of Assassins

RJ Barker
Authors:
RJ Barker
Piatkus

Dragonsworn

Sherrilyn Kenyon
Authors:
Sherrilyn Kenyon

Sherrilyn Kenyon returns with the next addictive novel in her globally bestselling Dark-Hunter series . . . There is nothing in the universe the cursed dragon, Falcyn, hates more than humanity . . . and in particular, Greek humans. In a war he wanted no part of, they systematically destroyed everything he'd ever cared for. Now he lies in seclusion, away from the world and waits for the day when evolution will finally rid him of the human vermin.Medea was born the granddaughter of the Greek god Apollo, and among the first of his people that he cursed to die. But she will not let anyone rule her life. Not even her notorious grandfather. And when Apollo sends a new plague to destroy what remains of her people, she refuses to standby and watch him take everything she loves from her again.This time, she knows of a secret weapon that can stop the ancient god and his army of demons. Once and for all. However, said device is in the hands of a dragon who wants nothing to do with politics, the gods, humanity, demons or Greek Apollites. And especially not her. He is the immovable object.When Apollo makes a strategic move that backfires, he forces Falcyn back into play. Now Medea either has the weapon she needs to save her people, or she's unleashed total Armageddon. If she can't find some way to control the dragon before it's too late, Falcyn will be an even worse plague on the world than the one Apollo has set loose. But how can anyone control a demonic dragon whose sole birthright is total destruction?

Hachette Audio

Bone Driven

Hailey Edwards
Authors:
Hailey Edwards
Orbit

A Secret History of Witches

Louisa Morgan
Authors:
Louisa Morgan

Discover a magical historical saga of mothers, daughters and the power of witchcraft - perfect for fans of A Discovery of Witches, Outlander and Nora Roberts.'Will sweep you away to a time of magic, love, and loss . . . mesmerising' Tish Thawer'It's true, ma petite. If they know - if they discover what we are - they will try to kill us'Brittany, 1821. After Grand-mere Ursule gives her life to save her family, their magic seems to die with her. Even so, the Orchires fight to keep the old ways alive, practicing half-remembered spells and arcane rites in hopes of a revival. And when their youngest daughter comes of age, magic flows anew. The lineage continues, though new generations struggle not only to master their power, but also to keep it hidden.But when World War II looms on the horizon, magic is needed more urgently than ever - not for simple potions or visions, but to change the entire course of history.A Secret History of Witches is a moving historical saga that traces five generations of fiercely powerful mothers and daughters - witches whose magical inheritance is both a dangerous threat and an extraordinary gift.*SHORTLISTED FOR THE ENDEAVOUR AWARD*'A deeply satisfying and magical work of great craft' Carol Goodman, author of Incubus'Deftly captures the greatest magic of all: the love between mothers and daughters' Jordanna Max Brodsky'Enthralling . . . Deeply moving and richly conceived' Kay Kenyon'I loved it. A beautiful generational tale, reminiscent of Practical Magic . . . Grounded and real, painful and hopeful at the same time' Laure Eve'Epic in scope and heartbreakingly tender . . . Recommended for fans of Nora Roberts' Booklist

Orbit

An Echo of Things to Come

James Islington
Authors:
James Islington
Orbit

Jade City

Fonda Lee
Authors:
Fonda Lee