Helen Lowe - The Heir Of Night - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780748123247
    • Publication date:03 Mar 2011
Books in this series

The Heir Of Night

The Wall of Night: Book One

By Helen Lowe

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

The start of an incredibly addictive new fantasy series - perfect for readers of Trudi Canavan, Robin Hobb and Brent Weeks. Winner of the 2012 David Gemmell 'Morningstar' Award.

A DARK ENEMY. AN ANCIENT WAR. A NEW CHAMPION.
Young Malian is being trained to rule. Her people garrison the mountain range known as the Wall of Night against an ancient enemy, keeping a tide of shadow from the rest of their world. Malian is expected to uphold this tradition, yet she's known little of real danger until the enemy attacks her fortress home and the Keep of Winds becomes a bloodbath.
Malian flees deep into the Old Keep - and when the danger is greatest her own hidden magic flares into life. But if she accepts its power, she must prepare to pay the price.

'The Heir of Night by Helen Lowe is a richly told tale of strange magic, dark treachery and conflicting loyalties, set in a well realized world' - Robin Hobb

'Dark and magical... The Heir of Night is a grand entrance' TheBookBag.co.uk

The start of an incredibly addictive new fantasy series - perfect for readers of Trudi Canavan, Karen Miller and Brent Weeks.

Biographical Notes

Helen Lowe is a fantasy author living in Christchurch, New Zealand. In 2012 she won the David Gemmell 'Morningstar' Award for her debut fantasy THE HEIR OF NIGHT.

This book was closely followed by THE GATHERING OF THE LOST, and Helen is currently writing DAUGHTER OF BLOOD, the third novel in the 'Wall of Night' sequence.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780356500010
  • Publication date: 19 Jan 2012
  • Page count: 496
  • Imprint: Orbit
THE HEIR OF NIGHT by Helen Lowe is a richly told tale of strange magic, dark treachery and conflicting loyalties, set in a well realized world — Robin Hobb
It's a well-told tale ... an enjoyable read — SFX
Appealing characters and a richly detailed world — Library Journal
Promising and fast-paced new epic fantasy — Bookloons
Hachette Audio

The Raven Tower

Ann Leckie
Authors:
Ann Leckie
Orbit

Soulkeeper

David Dalglish
Authors:
David Dalglish

In the first book of USA Today bestseller David Dalglish's epic fantasy trilogy, a warrior priest must answer the call and protect his world from monsters, when ancient magic suddenly returns to his land.Devin Eveson is a Soulkeeper, travelling through remote villages as a preacher and healer. But when a dragon awakens - the size of a mountain and leaving great chasms in its wake - the veil is torn, flooding the land with ancient magic and forgotten races. Now Devin must set aside his words of peace and accept his new role: slayer of monsters and protector of the human race.But not all the creatures that have re-awakened mean humanity harm. And as Devin slowly befriends people of these new races, his discomfort in his role grows. But Soulkeepers must slay without mercy. And even sympathisers risk their wrath. For more from David Dalglish, check out:ShadowdanceA Dance of CloaksA Dance of BladesA Dance of MirrorsA Dance of ShadowsA Dance of GhostsA Dance of ChaosSeraphimSkybornFirebornShadowborn

Orbit

The Gutter Prayer

Gareth Hanrahan
Authors:
Gareth Hanrahan
Hachette Audio

How Long 'til Black Future Month

N. K. Jemisin
Authors:
N. K. Jemisin
Running Press Adult

The Compendium of Magical Beasts

Dr. Veronica Wigberht-Blackwater, Lily Seika Jones, Melissa Brinks
Authors:
Dr. Veronica Wigberht-Blackwater, Lily Seika Jones, Melissa Brinks
Hachette Audio

The Winter Road

Adrian Selby
Authors:
Adrian Selby
Hachette Audio

Empire of Sand

Tasha Suri
Authors:
Tasha Suri
Piatkus

The Witch Who Courted Death

Maria Lewis
Authors:
Maria Lewis
Piatkus

An Easy Death: the Gunnie Rose series

Charlaine Harris
Authors:
Charlaine Harris

'Immersive, involving, suspenseful, and intriguing, with a main character you'll love' Lee ChildFrom the No. 1 New York Times bestselling author of the Sookie Stackhouse series and the inspiration behind HBO's True Blood, comes an electrifying new thriller centered on a young gunslinging mercenary, Lizbeth Rose. Set in a fractured United States, in the southwestern country now known as Texoma, this is a world where magic is acknowledged but mistrusted. Battered by a run across the border to Mexico, gunslinger Lizbeth Rose takes a job offer from a pair of Russian wizards. She may be young, but Gunnie Rose has acquired a fearsome reputation and the wizards are at a desperate crossroads, even if they won't admit it. They're searching frantically to locate the only man whose blood they believe can save their tsar's life.As the trio journey through an altered America, they're set upon by enemies. It's clear that a powerful force does not want them to succeed in their mission. Lizbeth Rose is a gunnie who has never failed a client, but her oath will test all of her skills and resolve to get them all out alive.The Dark Tower meets True Blood in this gritty and wildly entertaining tale of Gunnie Rose. A woman fighting unimaginable odds to keep her people alive after the disintegration of America, this is a surefire hit for fans of The Walking Dead or Westworld.Praise for Charlaine Harris'Harris has a remarkable talent for world building' Booklist'Will leave readers enthralled. [A] fascinating setting and a heroine who's sure to be a new fan favorite'Publishers' Weekly'A master of her craft . . . dazzling' Seanan McGuire, NYT Bestselling author'A gritty, action-filled story with a touch of magic' Anne Bishop, NYT Bestselling author

Orbit

The Sisters of the Winter Wood

Rena Rossner
Authors:
Rena Rossner

'LUSCIOUS AND HYPNOTIC . . . A gripping, powerful story of family, sisterhood. I gulped it down! - Madeline Miller, author of Song of Achilles and Circe'An incredible achievement - A rich literary fairytale . . . The kind of book that Neil Gaiman and Naomi Novik might have cooked up together' Robert Dinsdale, author of The ToymakersEvery family has a secret . . . and every secret tells a story. In a remote village surrounded by forests on the border of Moldova and Ukraine, sisters Liba and Laya have been raised on the honeyed scent of their Mami's babka and the low rumble of their Tati's prayers. But when a troupe of mysterious men arrives, Laya falls under their spell - despite their mother's warning to be wary of strangers. And this is not the only danger lurking in the woods.As dark forces close in on their small village, Liba and Laya discover a family secret passed down through generations. Faced with a magical heritage they never knew existed, the sisters realise the old fairy tales are true . . . and could save them all.Captivating and boldly imaginative, Rena Rossner's debut invites you to enter a magical world of secrets, family ties and fairy tales weaving through history. Perfect for fans of The Bear and the Nightingale, Uprooted and The Night Circus.'A graceful, poetic, deeply moving novel . . . a simply gorgeous book in every sense' Louisa Morgan'A luminous debut by an exciting new talent' Ilana C. Myer'An elegant tapestry of the love between sisters, the value of faith and family, and knowing one's true friends in times of peril' J. Kathleen Cheney'Full of heart, history and enchantment' Publishers Weekly (starred review)

Orbit

Magefall

Stephen Aryan
Authors:
Stephen Aryan
Hachette Audio

The Dragon's Path

Daniel Abraham
Authors:
Daniel Abraham
Hachette Audio

The King's Blood

Daniel Abraham
Authors:
Daniel Abraham

War casts its shadow over the lands that dragons once ruled. Only the courage of a young woman with the mind of a gambler and loyalty to no one stands between hope and universal darkness.The high and powerful will fall, the despised and broken shall rise up and everything will be remade.And an old, broken-hearted warrior and an apostate priest will begin a terrible journey with an impossible goal: destroy a Goddess before she eats the world.

Hachette Audio

The Tyrant's Law

Daniel Abraham
Authors:
Daniel Abraham
Orbit

Bloody Rose

Nicholas Eames
Authors:
Nicholas Eames

'Bloody Rose solidifies what Kings of the Wyld proved. Eames writes like a hurricane and has a voice like no one else in this genre' Sam Sykes'Kings of the Wyld was fun, but Bloody Rose is gods-damned epic . . . one of the best books of the year' Fantasy Hive*****Tam Hashford is tired of working at her local pub, slinging drinks for world-famous mercenaries and listening to the bards sing of adventure and glory in the world beyond her sleepy hometown.When the biggest mercenary band of all rolls into town, led by the infamous Bloody Rose, Tam jumps at the chance to sign on as their bard. It's adventure she wants-and adventure she gets as the crew embark on a quest that will end in one of two ways: glory or death.IT'S TIME TO TAKE A WALK ON THE WYLD SIDE*****Reviews for the series:'Bloody Rose is bloody brilliant! It is a book that will make you remember why you fell in love with reading in the first place' The Tattooed Book Geek'Eames once again hits the perfect balance of humor and heart, irreverent references and real emotion' Django Wexler'A rollicking, page-turning, edge-of-your-seat road-trip of a book . . . wonderful' John Gwynne'Absolutely awesome . . . Full of heroes, humor, and heart' Jon Hollins'Eames' narrative voice is one of the best in this generation of fantasy authors' The Quill to Live'Brings brazen fun and a rock & roll sensibility to the fantasy genre' Sebastien de Castell'An entertaining, brilliantly crafted adventure . . . with just the right amount of grit and wit' Bibliosanctum'George R. R. Martin meets Terry Pratchett' Buzzfeed Books

Piatkus

Supercute Futures

Martin Millar
Authors:
Martin Millar

Orbit

The Skaar Invasion: Book Two of the Fall of Shannara

Terry Brooks
Authors:
Terry Brooks
Orbit

A Secret History of Witches

Louisa Morgan
Authors:
Louisa Morgan

Discover a magical historical saga of mothers, daughters and the power of witchcraft - perfect for fans of A Discovery of Witches, Outlander and Nora Roberts.'Will sweep you away to a time of magic, love, and loss . . . mesmerising' Tish Thawer'It's true, ma petite. If they know - if they discover what we are - they will try to kill us'Brittany, 1821. After Grand-mere Ursule gives her life to save her family, their magic seems to die with her. Even so, the Orchires fight to keep the old ways alive, practicing half-remembered spells and arcane rites in hopes of a revival. And when their youngest daughter comes of age, magic flows anew. The lineage continues, though new generations struggle not only to master their power, but also to keep it hidden.But when World War II looms on the horizon, magic is needed more urgently than ever - not for simple potions or visions, but to change the entire course of history.A Secret History of Witches is a moving historical saga that traces five generations of fiercely powerful mothers and daughters - witches whose magical inheritance is both a dangerous threat and an extraordinary gift.*SHORTLISTED FOR THE ENDEAVOUR AWARD*'A deeply satisfying and magical work of great craft' Carol Goodman, author of Incubus'Deftly captures the greatest magic of all: the love between mothers and daughters' Jordanna Max Brodsky'Enthralling . . . Deeply moving and richly conceived' Kay Kenyon'I loved it. A beautiful generational tale, reminiscent of Practical Magic . . . Grounded and real, painful and hopeful at the same time' Laure Eve'Epic in scope and heartbreakingly tender . . . Recommended for fans of Nora Roberts' Booklist

Piatkus

Year One

Nora Roberts
Authors:
Nora Roberts
Orbit

It Devours!

Joseph Fink, Jeffrey Cranor
Authors:
Joseph Fink, Jeffrey Cranor