Gillian Tett - Fool's Gold - Little, Brown Book Group
Available Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780748112210
    • Publication date:14 May 2009

Fool's Gold

By Gillian Tett

  • Paperback
  • £9.99

* Inside the financial crisis as the bankers themseves rode the boom and fell with the crash, from the first UK journalist to predict it

* Updated for this edition

In the mid 1990s, at a vast hotel complex on a private Florida beach, dozens of bankers from JP Morgan gathered for what was to become a legendary off-site meeting. It was a wild weekend. But among the drinking, nightclubbing and fist-fights lay a more serious purpose - to assess the possibility of building a business around the new-fangled concepts of credit derivatives.

The group at the heart of this revolution was an intense team, made up of individuals with a supreme sense of loyalty to each other and to the bank - for years, nothing could break them apart. But when, finally, the team dispersed, the innovations spread far beyond their original intentions, producing perversions in the mortgage market that ultimately culminated in disaster.

Part real-life thriller, part investigation and expos?, this searing narrative takes us deep inside the shadowy world of complex finance - a perfect storm for the credit crunch

Biographical Notes

Gillian Tett is Assistant Editor for the FINANCIAL TIMES where she has worked for fifteen years. In 2008 she won the British Press Award for the Financial Journalist of the Year. She often appears on programmes such as TODAY and NEWSNIGHT and lectures widely.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780349121895
  • Publication date: 06 May 2010
  • Page count: 384
** 'A truly gripping narrative . . . The fact that Tett is able to reproduce such raw private communications is a tribute to her journalistic abilities — Dominic Lawson, SUNDAY TIMES
** 'Her blow-by-blow story is an impressive piece of detective work. She pulls back the curtain on a closed, unaccountable world of finance — Will Hutton, GUARDIAN
** 'An absorbing 15-year gallop across the Wild West of the world's financial markets . . . Tett sketches a system in the grip of a great error, emanating outwards from a cadre of elite traders who were able to repel any attempt to monitor, question or restrain them — Stephen Foley, INDEPENDENT
** 'A very readable, well-informed account of the way investment bankers invented, promoted and profited from the . . . financial products that were at the heart of the financial collapse — Vince Cable, Daily Telegraph
Little, Brown

Silo

Gillian Tett

In Silo, award-winning journalist Gillian Tett examines the structural development of institutions such as UBS, Sony and the Bank of England. While the world is increasingly interlinked in some senses, it remains profoundly fragmented in others. As organizations become larger and more global than ever before, they are apt to be divided and sub-divided into numerous different departments to facilitate productivity. However, there is a trap to the inevitability of these silos. The tunnel vision and tribalism that silos can lead to makes groups less innovative and can lead to disastrous mistakes. Institutions worldwide are made up of silos operating in isolation from one another. Silo is an eye-opening account that takes a radical anthropological approach in suggesting how we might draw them back together.

Grand Central Publishing

Young Money

Gillian Tett

Gillian Tett is Assistant Editor for the FINANCIAL TIMES where she has worked for fifteen years. In 2008 she won the British Press Award for the Financial Journalist of the Year. She often appears on programmes such as TODAY and NEWSNIGHT and lectures widely.

Forty Years of Original Writing

Abacus

In 2013 Abacus will celebrate forty years of publishing, with the reissue of 18 of our classic books with new introductions by the authors. They include a wonderfully diverse range of books - from Douglas Coupland's Generation X to Iain Banks' The Wasp Factory and from Tom Holland's Rubicon to Alexander McCall Smith's The No. 1 Ladies Detective Agency.

Abacus

The Coffee Trader

Amsterdam in the 1690s - a boom town with Europe's biggest stock exchange and traders who will stop at nothing to get even richer. Lienzo, a Portugese Jew, stumbles across a new commodity - coffee - which, if he plays his cards right, will make him the richest man in Holland. But others stand in his way - rival traders who do all in their power to confuse the exchange and scupper his plans, his brother who is jealous of his financial wizardry and even his brother's beautiful wife who both tempts and spurns him in equal measure.

FaithWords

For Such a Time as This

Ginny Aiken
The summer must-read from Kate Furnivall

EXTRACT: SHADOWS ON THE NILE

Beautifully written, compulsively plotted and truly satisfying – Shadows on the Nile is a summer must-have for fans of Julia Gregson, Rosie Thomas and other sumptuous historical romances Indulge yourself with this sneak-peek at the first chapter now.

Sphere

Goldman Sachs

Lisa Endlich

Goldman Sachs, the premier investment bank in the world, was until recently Wall Street's last major private partnership, and significantly more profitable than any of its publicly owned competitors. How it sustained this success for most of its 129 years has for decades mystified financial players and pundits. Now, in this fascinating and authoritative study, the Goldman Sachs history and mystique are examined in unprecedented depth. Endlich, a former Goldman Sachs vice president with access to all levels of management, traces the rise and development of the firm in the context of its prevailing concept, 'People and Culture.' She documents how close client-contact, teamwork, and focus on long-term profitability over short-term goals brought the firm to a pinnacle of $3 billion pretax profits in 1997. In June 1998 the partners of Goldman Sachs voted to go public, and it made international front-page news. The story of the transformation will continue to attract extensive coverage.

Grand Central Publishing

The Recessionistas

Alexandra Lebenthal

The story begins the day after Labour Day, 2008, when the bottom is about to drop out of the economy. Hedge fund owner John Cutter is freshly divorced and nearly in financial ruin. When he concocts a scheme to redeem himself, he enlists Lehman Brothers investment banker Blake Somerset as an accomplice. Blake is ripe for recruitment given that he too is on the verge of being in dire financial straits given Lehman's decline and imminent bankruptcy. Blake's socialite wife Grigsby is barely aware of her changing world to begin with, and has no idea of what a perilous situation her husband is about to enter into. As autumn unfolds, Grigsby's fairytale life begins to unwind. Meanwhile, John and Blake's scheme comes to light when no-nonsense, street-smart Renee Parker begins her new position as John's executive assistant. Convinced that something is amiss, she enlists her friend Sasha Silver, who is well-connected in the financial world, to help her to decipher what is happening. This story of expulsion from a modern-day Garden of Eden captures what happens when lives that were only designed to acquire more suddenly face the prospect of a great deal less.

Little, Brown Book Group

Partnership with Prospect

Little, Brown is pleased to announce an ongoing partnership with Prospect magazine, the highly-influential current affairs journal which brings together the sharpest minds on the events and ideas that define the modern world.

Abacus

Please Kill Me

Legs McNeil, Gillian McCain
Piatkus

The Investment Answer

Gordon Murray, Daniel Goldie
Virago

Her Brilliant Career

Rachel Cooke

In her apron and rubber gloves, a smile lipsticked permanently across her face, the woman of the Fifties has become a cultural symbol of all that we are most grateful to have sloughed off. A homely compliant creature, she knows little or nothing of sex, and stands no chance at all of having a career. She must marry or die. But what if there was another side to the story?In this book Rachel Cooke tells the story of ten extraordinary women whose pioneering professional lives - and complicated private lives - paved the way for future generations. Muriel Box, film director. Betty Box, film producer. Margery Fish, plantswoman. Patience Gray, cook. Alison Smithson, architect. Sheila van Damm, rally car driver and theatre owner. Nancy Spain, journalist and radio personality. Joan Werner Laurie, editor. Jacquetta Hawkes, archaeologist. Rose Heilbron, QC.Plucky and ambitious, they left the house, discovered the bliss of work, and ushered in the era of the working woman. This is the Fifties, retold: vivid, surprising and, most of all, modern.

Sphere

Rogue Trader

Nick Leeson

Pressure, pace, error: ROGUE TRADER grippingly tells the inside story of how the greatest gamble ever made rocked the City of London to its foundations. Crackling with tension, in a narrative as crisp as any thriller, Nick Leeson's autobiographical account reveals how he 'lost' ?800 millions as General Manager of Baring Futures Singapore through foolhardy speculations on behalf of his employer, Barings Brothers - the world's first merchant bank. As Leeson's audacity escalated, so did his losses while London continued to pour money down the drain. ROGUE TRADER is a dazzlingly revealing story of a man shaped by events that proved beyond his control.

Abacus

For King And Country

Brian MacArthur
Orbit

First Meetings: In The Enderverse

Virago

Sedition

Katharine Grant
by Val McDermid

The Vanishing Point - Chapter One

It's every parent's worst nightmare - your child abducted while you look on, helpless. But five-year-old Jimmy's life is shrouded in secrets, and his mother will be forced to make the most difficult choice of her life - a choice that will affect everyone around her...

Piatkus

The Seven Levels of Communication

Michael J. Maher

In any business the best projects come from referrals. So what if you had, at your fingertips, a fool-proof system for exploding your business by word of mouth? The Seven Levels of Communication tells the entertaining and educational story of Rick Masters. Down on his luck, overweight, cynical and with nothing to lose, Rick meets Michelle, a mortgage professional who has built a successful business without advertising or personal promotion. Sceptical, he agrees to accompany her to a conference to learn more about her mysterious methods, and then becomes her student. Rick soon discovers that the rewards for implementing these strategies are far greater than he had ever imagined. As his business grows, Rick rediscovers significance and meaning in his life, sees his self-image and personal relationships improve and finds authentic happiness through service to others.In The Seven Levels of Communication, readers will learn the specific strategies that helped Rick go from relationships to referrals. Each chapter is filled with tools, tips and techniques that readers can begin to use immediately for business and personal success.

Grand Central Publishing

The Professor, The Banker And The Suicide King

Michael Craig