Edwidge Danticat - The Farming Of Bones - Little, Brown Book Group

The Farming Of Bones

By Edwidge Danticat

  • Paperback
  • £11.99

* Simultaneously haunting and horrific, this is an outstanding novel from a young writer of exceptional ability

It is 1937, and Amabelle Desir is a young Haitian woman working as a maid for a wealthy family in the Dominican Republic, across the border from her homeland. The Republic, under the iron rule of the Generalissimo, treats the Haitians as second-class citizens, and although Amabelle feels a strong sense of loyalty to her employers, especially since her own parents drowned crossing the river from Haiti, racial tensions are heightened when Amabelle's boss accidentally kills a Haitian in a car accident. The accident is a catalyst for a systematic round-up of Haitians, ostensibly for repatriation but in fact a prelude to slaughter. Amabelle, caught up in the chaos and confusion, returns to Haiti after much hardship to make a new life, but is for years uncertain of the fate of her lover, Sebastian, and haunted by a nagging sense of guilt.

A powerful, fiercely economical and deceptively moving work, blending historical accuracy with lyrical brilliance.

Biographical Notes

Edwidge Danticat is the author of a novel, BREATH, EYES, MEMORY, and a collection of interlinked stories, KRIK? KRAK!, which was shortlisted for the National Book Award in the US. She was also one of GRANTA's Best Young American Novelists.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780349111636
  • Publication date: 06 Apr 2000
  • Page count: 320
Extraordinary — TIME OUT
Danticat delicately tiptoes through bougainvillaea and butterflies into minefields of rape, mayhem, insanity, suicide, terror. — Fay Weldon, MAIL ON SUNDAY
A first novel of precocious maturity — INDEPENDENT
A writer of great force with still more potential — INDEPENDENT
Abacus

The Dew Breaker

Edwidge Danticat

Edwidge Danticat

Edwidge Danticat's collection of interlinked stories, KRIK? KRAK!, was shortlisted for the National Book Award in the US. She was also one of GRANTA's Best Young American Novelists.

Abacus

Breath, Eyes, Memory

Edwidge Danticat
Grand Central Publishing

The New Moon's Arms

Nalo Hopkinson
Virago

The Joy Of Eating

Jill Foulston

Beatrix Potter wove one of her most malicious tales around the roly-poly pudding. Colette counted the nuts she would pick before falling asleep in the French countryside. Dorothy Wordsworth noted her pie-making sessions in her diary and Anne Frank observed the eating habits of her companions in hiding. Food is a constant in our lives, and it has always been a basic ingredient of women's writing - in household books, cookbooks, diaries, letters and fiction. In this, the first anthology to concentrate on international food writing by women, you can go on a picnic with Monica Ali, learn about Frida Kahlo's wedding feast and indulge your appetites with Edwidge Danticat and Barbara Pym. Try making Elisabeth Luard's Afghan Betrothal Custard, Martha Washington's marzipan birds or Nigella Lawson's favourite comfort food. And why not sneak into the literary kitchens of Banana Yoshimoto, Emily Bront? and Angela Carter?Something's cooking. . .

Sphere

No Man And Other Stories To Help Haiti

Dorothy Koomson

With all proceeds going directly to UNICEF's Haiti Earthquake Children's Appeal, No Man Can Compare And Other Stories to Help Haiti is a charity ebook featuring short stories from some of Little, Brown's biggest authors. The anthology has a foreword from Dorothy Koomson, and features:Nina BellPeter William BlattyNick BrownleeLouise CandlishStella DuffyKate FurnivallAlex GrayClare JayDorothy KoomsonShari LowAlexander McCall SmithMartina ReillyBernadette StrachanThese are joyful, uplifting stories, written to raise funds to help Haitian children affected by the earthquake. Just as importantly, these are stories written to raise the spirits - they are stories of hope.Everyone involved has donated 100% of their profits and given their time for free to support this worthwhile cause.

Virago

Forbidden Lessons In A Kabul Guesthouse

Abacus

Strange Fits Of Passion

Anita Shreve
The summer must-read from Kate Furnivall

EXTRACT: SHADOWS ON THE NILE

Beautifully written, compulsively plotted and truly satisfying – Shadows on the Nile is a summer must-have for fans of Julia Gregson, Rosie Thomas and other sumptuous historical romances Indulge yourself with this sneak-peek at the first chapter now.

The start of a magnificent new trilogy

An Extract from The Summer Queen

Overflowing with scandal, sex, triumph and tragedy. Read the first chapter of The Summer Queen, the gripping new novel from New York Times Bestseller, Elizabeth Chadwick.

Piatkus

The Promise In A Kiss

When a handsome man literally falls at her feet while she's walking through a moonlit convent courtyard, Helena knows he must be there for a scandalous liaison. Yet she keeps his presence a secret from the questioning nuns - and for her silence the stranger rewards her with an enticing, unforgettable kiss. What Helena doesn't know was that her wild Englishman is Sebastian Cynster, Duke of St. Ives. Seven years later, Sebastian spies Helena from across a crowded ballroom. This heiress is dazzling London society with her wit and beauty, tantalising all the eligible men with the prospect of taking her hand in marriage. But Helena is not looking for just any husband. She wants an equal, a challenge - someone who can live up to the promise of that delicious, never-forgotten kiss.

Forever

A Passion for Pleasure

PRELUDE TO A KISSA brilliant pianist and notorious rake, Sebastian Hall indulges his passion for music and women with equal aplomb. But now that his elder brother has married, his father insists he pursue a more respectable path and find a suitable wife.MUSIC TO HER EARSAs a girl, Clara Whitmore quietly loved her piano teacher from afar. Yet her youthful crush cannot compare to the powerful desire she feels when she unexpectedly meets Sebastian again. Perhaps the man who once dominated her dreams could be the husband she has hoped for--and save her from the fate she most fears... LOVE STRIKES A CHORDRisking scandal, ruin, and their own reputations, Sebastian and Clara enter into a marriage of convenience. But the pair soon discovers that their undeniable attraction is anything but convenient. Swept up in a crescendo of desire, Sebastian and Clara take each other to new heights of ecstasy - until secrets from the past threaten to doom the duet forever. Now Sebastian will have to change his tune - and prove his love is true.

Don Yaeger

Born and raised in Hawaii, Yaeger has lived in the Dominican Republic, Honduras, Japan and Great Britain. He is an entrepreneur and owns a political consulting business and a public relations firm.The author of 16 sports-related books, Don is a 1984 graduate of Ball State University with degrees in both journalism and history, Yaeger began his career as a reporter for the San Antonio Light . He later moved on to the Dallas Morning News, the Florida Times-Union and, finally, Sports Illustrated.

Virago

White Oleander

Janet Fitch

White Oleander is a painfully beautiful first novel about a young girl growing up the hard way. It is a powerful story of mothers and daughters, their ambiguous alliances, their selfish love and cruel behaviour, and the search for love and identity.Astrid has been raised by her mother, a beautiful, headstrong poet. Astrid forgives her everything as her world revolves around this beautiful creature until Ingrid murders a former lover and is imprisoned for life. Astrid's fierce determination to survive and be loved makes her an unforgettable figure.'LIQUID POETRY' - Oprah Winfrey'Tangled, Complex and extraordinarily moving' - Observer

Grand Central Publishing

8 Habits of Love: Overcome Fear and Transform Your Life

Ed Bacon

HABITS OF LOVE will be both an inspirational and practical book that gives readers a deep understanding of how to live life through love, and not fear. Reverend Bacon believes that every person can live a full and creative life if they can learn to ignore their fear defenses and find their own spiritual core. Readers will learn how fear in all of its disguises keeps us from connecting with others and finding our own peace and best destiny. It will answer questions such as: How do I overcome fear and find that place of love? How do I let go of the past and move on? How do I forgive those that have hurt me? How do I express myself truthfully and be open to the beloved in others?The book will examine the eight habits of love: stillness, truth, forgiveness, kindness, candor, giving, community, and playfulness, which encourage us to live a full spiritual life.

Virago

Memento Mori

Unforgettably astounding and a joy to read, Memento Mori is considered by many to be the greatest novel by the wizardly Dame Muriel Spark. In late 1950s London, something uncanny besets a group of elderly friends: an insinuating voice on the telephone informs each, "Remember you must die." Their geriatric feathers are soon thoroughly ruffled by these seemingly supernatural phone calls, and in the resulting flurry many old secrets are dusted off. Beneath the once decorous surface of their lives, unsavories like blackmail and adultery are now to be glimpsed. As spooky as it is witty, poignant and wickedly hilarious, Memento Mori may ostensibly concern death, but it is a book which leaves one relishing life all the more.

Piatkus

Afterwards

Rosamund Lupton

There is a fire and they are in There. They are in there . . . Black smoke stains a summer blue sky. A school is on fire. And one mother, Grace, sees the smoke and runs. She knows her teenage daughter Jenny is inside. She runs into the burning building to rescue her. Afterwards, Grace must find the identity of the arsonist and protect her family from the person who's still intent on destroying them. Afterwards, she must fight the limits of her physical strength and discover the limitlessness of love.

Little, Brown US

20 Years Younger

Bob Greene, Ronald L. Kotler, Harold Lancer, Diane L. McKay

It's time to turn back the clock! In 20 YEARS YOUNGER, Bob Greene offers readers a practical, science-based plan for looking and feeling their best as they age. The cutting-edge program is built around four essential pillars: exercise, nutrition, skincare, and sleep. The book details easy and effective steps we can all take to rebuild the foundation of youth, enjoy better health, improve energy, control stress, and have a more positive outlook. Woven through the text is advice on customizing an exercise plan, creating the best sleep environment, staying mentally sharp, navigating medical tests, and much more. Readers will gain a greater understanding of how the body ages and what they can do to feel - and look - 20 years younger.

Piatkus

Steering By Starlight

Martha Beck
Sphere

The Cupid Effect

Dorothy Koomson