Rebecca Denton - A Secret Beat - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780349003092
    • Publication date:03 May 2018
Books in this series

A Secret Beat

By Rebecca Denton

  • Paperback
  • £7.99

Two girls in London, determined to make their way in the music industry. Funny, fast-paced, fresh and full of insider tips, this is YA perfect for fans of Geek Girl, Teen Vogue, Harry Styles and Haribo.

You've got one shot...

Alexia Falls is eighteen, living in her parents' New York penthouse and working with superstar boyband The Keep. But with her heart set on independence and a career behind the camera, she trades it all for a take-it-or-leave-it internship at London's Bright Star Productions.

There, she meets fellow intern Greta. Greta's East End upbringing couldn't have been more different from Alexia's, but she's every bit as hungry for her big break.

But both girls have secrets.

While Alexia doesn't want anyone knowing about her privileged connection to The Keep, Greta has been anonymously running their #1 social fan-feed since she was at school. And when the gossip columns somehow get news of the band's latest scandals, suspicions and accusations start flying...

Real art demands integrity. But staying in the music business requires the opposite. Can you stay true to yourself when your heart follows a secret beat?

Biographical Notes

Rebecca Denton lives in Hackney. She spent her career traveling the world making Music TV for MTV and Channel 4, and wrangling young adult audiences for the BBC and ITV. She's filmed Iggy Pop, MIA, Kaiser Chiefs, Sonic Youth, Jack White, Dirty Pretty Things, and The Klaxons to name just a few.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780349003108
  • Publication date: 03 May 2018
  • Page count: 336
  • Imprint: ATOM
I loved A Secret Beat, not least because Rebecca Denton's writing is so sharp and alive. Alexia is a smart, intrepid heroine, and the London setting is absolutely electric. This book explores the many facets of ambition, moral complexity, all of the dark corners of growing up, and what it really means to do the right thing. — Natalka Burain, author of Welcome to the Slipstream
Sparkling with wit, A Secret Beat explores celebrity, fandom, and being true to yourself. It's sharp, fresh, and so much fun. — Carlie Sorosiak, author of If Birds Fly Back and Wild Blue Yonder.
I loved A Secret Beat, not least because Rebecca Denton's writing is so sharp and alive. Alexia is a smart, intrepid heroine, and the London setting is absolutely electric. This book explores the many facets of ambition, moral complexity, all of the dark corners of growing up, and what it really means to do the right thing.
Sparkling with wit, A Secret Beat explores celebrity, fandom, and being true to yourself. It's sharp, fresh, and so much fun.
Little, Brown

Fantastic Beasts: The Crimes of Grindelwald – The Original Screenplay

J.K. Rowling
Authors:
J.K. Rowling
Running Press Kids

The 12 Days of Christmas

Jill Howarth
Authors:
Jill Howarth
Little, Brown Young Readers US

If You Ever Want to Bring a Pirate to Meet Santa, Don't!

Elise Parsley
Authors:
Elise Parsley

Little, Brown Young Readers US

Celebrate the Season: Let It Snow!

Taylor Garland
Authors:
Taylor Garland
Little, Brown Young Readers US

Celebrate the Season: Home for the Holidays

Taylor Garland
Authors:
Taylor Garland
ATOM

The Punk Factor

Rebecca Denton
Authors:
Rebecca Denton
Corsair

The Other Mother

Matthew Green
Authors:
Matthew Green

This mother is not my mother. She looks like my mother. Exactly like my mother. But she is definitely not my mother. Thirteen-year-old Michael Perkins is dealing with a lot. In the wake of his father's sudden death, he's had to become a de facto parent to his two younger siblings as his mother works double-shifts to keep the family afloat. And he struggles with anger issues. Then one day, Michael wakes up and his mother is gone. She's been replaced by an exact duplicate mother, the 'other mother'. No one else seems to notice the impostor - they act as if nothing's wrong - but Michael knows in his bones that this mother is not his. What follows is the big-hearted, life-enhancing story of a boy forced to be a man too early, struggling with an unusual disorder which offers unique challenges and unique opportunities.

Little, Brown Young Readers US

Thank You, Omu!

Oge Mora
Authors:
Oge Mora

A generous woman is rewarded by her community in this remarkable author-illustrator debut that's perfect for the Thanksgiving season, perfect for fans of Last Stop on Market Street.Everyone in the neighborhood dreams of a taste of Omu's delicious stew! One by one, they follow their noses toward the scrumptious scent. And one by one, Omu offers a portion of her meal. Soon the pot is empty. Has she been so generous that she has nothing left for herself?Debut author-illustrator Oge Mora brings a heartwarming story of sharing and community to life in colorful cut-paper designs as luscious as Omu's stew, with an extra serving of love. An author's note explains that "Omu" (pronounced AH-moo) means "queen" in the Igbo language of her parents, but growing up, she used it to mean "Grandma."

Little, Brown Young Readers US

Hunting Prince Dracula

Kerri Maniscalco
Authors:
Kerri Maniscalco
Little, Brown Young Readers US

Crash, Splash, or Moo!

Bob Shea
Authors:
Bob Shea
Little, Brown Young Readers US

Three Grumpy Trucks

Todd Tarpley, Guy Parker-Rees
Contributors:
Todd Tarpley, Guy Parker-Rees

Whirr! Whomp! Grind! Chomp! How long can three busy trucks keep it up before...MELTDOWN? Three toy trucks have big plans for their day at the playground: digging and lifting, building and shifting. But then they start to get tired...and hot...and hungry....They're GRUMPY! When they throw a total truck tantrum, will anyone be able to calm them down?Kids (and parents) may just recognize themselves in this entertaining take on getting grouchy--and getting over it. The lighthearted, rhythmic text will have young readers chanting along, and the bright and buoyant illustrations of the trucks' looming meltdown will keep them giggling!

Little, Brown Young Readers US

Thank You and Good Night

Patrick McDonnell
Authors:
Patrick McDonnell
Little, Brown Young Readers US

The Thankful Book

Todd Parr
Authors:
Todd Parr
Little, Brown Young Readers US

Tool of War

Paolo Bacigalupi
Authors:
Paolo Bacigalupi
ATOM

It Ends With You

S. K. Wright
Authors:
S. K. Wright
Piatkus

The Definition Of Us

Sarah Harris
Authors:
Sarah Harris

NORMAL (definition)(adj.) Conforming to a standard; regular, typical or expected(urban) A word inapplicable to human beings(Florence) Round, smooth and bumpy like a cobbled streetFlorence doesn't always see things the way other people do. She feels different. When Florence meets Jasper, Andrew and Wilf she can't imagine they'd have much in common - with at least five mental health conditions between them, they all have very different reasons for being referred to Manor Lane Therapy Centre.It's only when their therapist, Howard, goes missing that they find a common purpose. Worried by his disappearance and wanting answers, the four of them decide to track him down. As they cross the country in a 'borrowed' van, asking each other Ultimate Questions and facing a series of challenges along the way, they start to reveal their true selves - and Florence realises there's more to all of them than just a diagnosis . . . Maybe they're not so different after all? Full of irreverent humour, witty dialogue and characters you can't help but fall in love with, this timely novel is perfect for fans of John Green, Rainbow Rowell and Jennifer Niven.'This is without a doubt one of the best (if not THE best) YA book about mental health that I've read; Sarah Harris takes such a delicate subject, weaves humour and love and friendship, and creates such a beautiful book' Beautiful Bookland

Little, Brown Young Readers US

Neck & Neck

Elise Parsley
Authors:
Elise Parsley

In the first stand-alone picture book from the creator of the bestselling Magnolia Says DON'T! books, a giraffe's self-esteem is tested during a hilarious confrontation between unlikely look-alikes!Everybody loves Leopold the giraffe. He inspires awe and wonder. His adoring fans gaze and cheer. Best of all, they feed him lots of deeeelicious snacks! But, one day, a shiny, bobble-headed new rival comes in and ruins everything...a giraffe-shaped balloon! Just how far will Leopold go to prove that he's the hero of the zoo? Readers learn that actions speak far louder than looks in this laugh-out-loud face-off from Elise Parsley--the New York Times bestselling creator of If You Ever Want to Bring an Alligator to School, Don't!

Little, Brown Young Readers US

Little & Lion

Brandy Colbert
Authors:
Brandy Colbert
Little, Brown Young Readers US

The Littlest Train

Chris Gall
Authors:
Chris Gall
Little, Brown

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them

J.K. Rowling
Authors:
J.K. Rowling

When Magizoologist Newt Scamander arrives in New York, he intends his stay to be just a brief stopover. However, when his magical case is misplaced and some of Newt's fantastic beasts escape, it spells trouble for everyone . . .Inspired by the original Hogwart's textbook by Newt Scamander, Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them: The Original screenplay marks the screenwriting debut of J.K. Rowling, author of the beloved and internationally bestselling Harry Potter books. A feat of imagination and featuring a cast of remarkable characters and magical creatures, this is epic adventure-packed storytelling at its very best. Whether an existing fan or new to the wizarding world, this is a perfect addition for any film lover or reader's bookshelf.The film Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them will have its theatrical release on 18th November 2016.