Roy Peter Clark - Help! For Writers - Little, Brown Book Group

Help! For Writers

By Roy Peter Clark

  • Paperback
  • £11.99

Roy Peter Clark, one of the most influential writing teachers in the U.S., offers 210 solutions to the biggest problems writers face.

The craft of writing offers countless potential problems: The story is too long; the story's too short; revising presents a huge hurdle; writer's block is rearing its ugly head.



In HELP! FOR WRITERS, Roy Peter Clark presents an 'owner's manual' for writers, outlining the seven steps of the writing process, and addressing the 21 most urgent problems that writers face. In his trademark engaging and entertaining style, Clark offers ten short solutions to each problem. Out of ideas? Read posters, billboards, and graffiti. Can't bear to edit yourself? Watch the deleted scenes feature of a DVD and ask yourself why those scenes were left on the cutting-room floor. HELP! FOR WRITERS offers 210 strategies to guide writers to success.

Biographical Notes

Roy Peter Clark is vice president and senior scholar at The Poynter Institute, one of the most prestigious schools for journalists in the world. He has taught writing at every level--from schoolchildren Pulitzer Prize winners--for more than thirty years, and has spoken about the writer's craft on The Oprah Winfrey Show, and NPR and at news organizations from the New York Times to The Sowetan in South Africa. A writer who teaches and a teacher who writes, he has authored or edited fifteen books about writing and journalism, including Writing Tools and The Glamour of Grammar. He lives in St. Petersburg, Florida

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780316126700
  • Publication date: 31 Jan 2013
  • Page count: 304

Roy Peter Clark

Roy Peter Clark is vice president and senior scholar at The Poynter Institute, one of the most prestigious schools for journalists in the world. He has taught writing at every level--from schoolchildren Pulitzer Prize winners--for more than thirty years, and has spoken about the writer's craft on The Oprah Winfrey Show, and NPR and at news organizations from the New York Times to The Sowetan in South Africa. A writer who teaches and a teacher who writes, he has authored or edited fifteen books about writing and journalism, including Writing Tools and The Glamour of Grammar. He lives in St. Petersburg, Florida

Little, Brown US

The Glamour of Grammar

Roy Peter Clark
Little, Brown US

How to Write Short

Little, Brown US

Writing Tools

Roy Peter Clark
Piatkus

Hypnodiet

Susan Hepburn

HYPNODIET is not a diet. It is a mind-body revolution: a way to change the way you eat, forever. Hypnosis provides a simple yet radical way to lose inches, but more importantly it is a way to gain control of your eating habits and build a healthy relationship with food. With HYPNODIET you put away the scales. There is no calorie counting, no forbidden foods, no faddy menus or deprivation. Instead, using simple hypnotherapy exercises, you will learn to reprogramme your mind. You will quickly start to enjoy food and make healthy choices, reaching and maintaining your target weight without hunger, guilt or stress. The concept of 'mindfulness' is central - it's a highly effective psychological tool which will revolutionise the way you eat. Key elements of the book include learning how to put yourself in a state of deep relaxation: guided meditations and visualisations (on accompanying CD) to enable you to 'delete' the negative emotional associations you have with food and replace these with positive ones; inspiring case studies; hints and tips.

Center Street

Work Happy

Jill Geisler
Piatkus

Keeping Your Head After Losing Your Job

Robert L. Leahy
Piatkus

Steering By Starlight

Martha Beck

Charla Krupp

Charla Krupp has appeared for ten years on the Today show and on more than thirty national TV shows including The Oprah Winfrey Show and Tyra. She is a contributing editor to People: Style Watch, and was formerly beauty director at Glamour, senior editor at InStyle, and contributing editor at More

The summer must-read from Kate Furnivall

EXTRACT: SHADOWS ON THE NILE

Beautifully written, compulsively plotted and truly satisfying – Shadows on the Nile is a summer must-have for fans of Julia Gregson, Rosie Thomas and other sumptuous historical romances Indulge yourself with this sneak-peek at the first chapter now.

Grand Central Publishing

Sons of Wichita

Daniel Schulman
by Nora Roberts

The Witness: Chapter 1

Chapter One of Nora Roberts' thrilling romance, The Witness.

Piatkus

Making It All Work

David Allen
FaithWords

Ties That Bind

Kristin Armstrong
Sphere

Get Happy

Gerald Clarke
Piatkus

Busy

Tony Crabbe

It's difficult to ask anybody 'How are you?' without hearing the word 'busy' somewhere in their response. We feel overwhelmed by busyness because of the demands on our time: our inbox and our to-do list are bulging, a huge amount of people expect things from us and our organisations are trying to do more with fewer people. But it doesn't have to be that way. In reality, busyness isn't essential. Yes, there is a lot to do, but believing you're always busy because you have so much to do is both false and unhelpful. Busyness is a normal response to a world of too much, but it isn't the only response.In Busy Tony Crabbe draws on solid psychological research to address one of the great problems of modern life: we're too busy. But it isn't a time-management book. Rather than providing advice for increasing productivity and efficiency, it sets out four key strategies (corresponding to sections of the book) for thriving despite of the overload of too much:1. Mastery - to move beyond busyness you need to regain a sense of mastery over your life. This section shows you how to build a sense of control back into your life, take responsibility for making choices and how to set boundaries to protect you from the flood of demands and information.2. Focus - in a world of too much, success is not about doing more at work but about making an impact. This section outlines three ways to move to a career strategy that doesn't rely on productivity alone.3. Engagement - busyness can cause you to disengage from the people, values and activities that are important to us. This section provides you with the three keys to re-engaging with your work and life.4. Momentum - part of the challenge to moving beyond busyness is that even if you agree you should make the change, you're too busy to find the time and energy to do anything about it. This section is dedicated to helping you make the change, creating the impetus, energy and clarity to move to a life less busy.

Virago

Be Safe I Love You

Read an exclusive extract here

Countdown

Read an exclusive extract from Alan Weisman’s brilliant new book, Countdown.

Read an exclusive extract

Countdown

Read an exclusive extract from Alan Weisman's brilliant new book, Countdown.

Center Street

Master Class: Living Longer, Stronger and Happier

Peter Spiers