BookSeriesList
Bookouture

The Girls in the Water

Victoria Jenkins
Authors:
Victoria Jenkins

Early one icy winter morning, Detective Alex King is called to a murder scene at a local park. The river is running high, and in the water lies the body of a woman, her wrists tied, and all her fingernails missing.The victim, beautiful, young Lola Evans, had a troubled past, but Alex's team can't find a reason why anyone would want to kill her. The pressure to solve the case keeps mounting, but all their leads run dry. Then, another body is found in the water.A disturbing clue suggests how the girls are connected. But who would target such vulnerable girls, and does this mean another life is at risk? Just when Alex thinks she has cracked the case, she realises one of her own team is in terrible danger.Alex is caught in a race against time to reach the next victim before it's too late... and some of her team must face terrifying truths from their own lives if they're to have a chance of catching the killer. Utterly nail-biting and compelling with a jaw-dropping twist, The Girls in the Water is perfect for fans of Robert Bryndza, Val McDermid, and Mark Billingham.

Bookouture

The First One to Die

Victoria Jenkins
Authors:
Victoria Jenkins

One hot summer night, a young woman falls from a rooftop to her death. Detective Alex King is called to the quiet terraced street.The victim, Keira North, was twenty, happy and carefree. It seems like an accident, but there's broken glass on the carpet, and witnesses overheard an argument. Could someone have wanted her dead? Keira's friends don't seem as helpful as Alex would expect and the post-mortem reveals that Keira was hiding a secret: she was five months pregnant. Alex's team soon finds that all of Keira's closest friends have secrets that someone might kill to keep.As Alex realises Keira might be just the first victim on a list, her leads take her a bit too close to home. With her own demons to fight, can Alex catch the killer, before someone else dies?The First One to Die is a heart-stopping and shocking detective thriller that will have you gripped until the very last page. Perfect for fans of Patricia Gibney, Angela Marsons, and Val McDermid.

Bookouture

Nobody's Child

Victoria Jenkins
Authors:
Victoria Jenkins

On a damp October day, a body is found in an abandoned hospital, too burnt to be identified, but Detective Alex King knows that every victim is someone's daughter or son.Pushing aside her own troubles, Alex puts everything into finding the killer, but when someone else is found dead, she begins to suspect that the body in the hospital was just the first of many.Just as Alex uncovers a heartbreaking link between the victims, she finds her own safety under threat. Is this a figure from her past hell-bent on revenge, or could the murderer be even nearer than she thinks? Alex is running out of time. Can she catch the killer before they take another life, or will they get to her first?A completely unputdownable detective thriller that will keep you up all night. Readers of Robert Bryndza, Karin Slaughter and Angela Marsons will love this. What readers are saying about Nobody's Child:'Bam! Straight out of the starting gate this had me totally hooked... Fast paced all the way through, hit after hit of tension, excitement and horror... I don't hesitate in giving this 5 stars, it had me captivated and on the edge-of-my-seat.' Bonnie's Book Talk'Cor! Talk about a gripping crime story! WOO! What a corker!... had me on the edge-of-my-seat... left me utterly reeling!... That ending nearly broke me... insanely compelling and addictive.' Novel Deelights, 5 stars'I loved the twists and turns in this book and the different story lines playing out at the same time which kept up the interest. I loved that the chapters were short which kept me saying "just one more" way into the night! A great read!' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars'The legend at the top of the book says unputdownable, so did it live up to the gumph? Oh yes. What a great story.' Nigel Adams Bookworm, 5 stars'I was hooked from page one!!... It's a race to solve... plenty of twists!!!... Can't wait for the next one!! Can't recommend it highly enough.' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars'A flawless thriller which will have you hanging off every page, how do you do it Victoria?... it's an absolute must to read.' Sweet Little Book Blog, 5 stars'WOW!... another brilliant investigation from Alex, Chloe and the team. I hope this series continues for a long time to come.' Have Books Will Read, 5 stars

1