The Career of Evil by Robert Galbraith

Career of Evil

by Robert Galbraith

Published worldwide on 20th October 2015

Hardback £20, ebook £10.99

When a mysterious package is delivered to Robin Ellacott, she is horrified to discover that it contains a woman’s severed leg.

Her boss, private detective Cormoran Strike, is less surprised but no less alarmed. There are four people from his past who he thinks could be responsible – and Strike knows that any one of them is capable of sustained and unspeakable brutality.

With the police focusing on the one suspect Strike is increasingly sure is not the perpetrator, he and Robin take matters into their own hands, and delve into the dark and twisted worlds of the other three men. But as more horrendous acts occur, time is running out for the two of them…

Career of Evil is the third in the highly acclaimed series featuring private detective Cormoran Strike and his assistant Robin Ellacott.  A fiendishly clever mystery with unexpected twists around every corner, it is also a gripping story of a man and a woman at a crossroads in their personal and professional lives.

Career of Evil by Robert Galbraith



Praise for The Silkworm

‘An unputdownable tale of malice and murder in a toxic literary world ... this almost preposterously compulsive page-turner is irresistible summer reading’
Sunday Times

‘Teems with sly humour, witty asides and intelligence ... A pleasure to read’
The Times

‘A damn good read ... It's a book to gulp down’

‘A thoroughly enjoyable classic … I'm already looking forward to Strike's next outing’
Peter James, Sunday Express

‘Irresistible reading ... The Cuckoo's Calling was a calling card for a series that has legs’
Val McDermid, The Guardian

‘A superb and polished thriller ... an ingenious whodunit’
Sunday Mirror

‘An enticingly macabre whodunit ... taut and believable’

‘A pacey detective story ... moreish’

‘An intelligent and captivating drama driven by fascinatingly real characters.
This is storytelling at its very best’

‘An absorbing puzzle with vivid characters ... Robert Galbraith deserves the inevitable bestseller’ Scotland on Sunday

‘I described Cormoran Strike in The Cuckoo’s Calling as “the most engaging British private detective to emerge so far this year” – and it is confirmed triumphantly in this second outing’
Daily Mail

‘A properly addictive whodunit. And in the unlikely pairing of ungainly Strike and his clever young assistant, Galbraith has created an investigative duo with spark and empathy’
Financial Times


Robert Galbraith is a pseudonym for J.K. Rowling, bestselling author of the Harry Potter series and The Casual Vacancy. Career of Evil is the third book in the highly acclaimed Cormoran Strike crime fiction series. The Cuckoo’s Calling was published in 2013 and The Silkworm in 2014.

Robert Galbraith’s Cormoran Strike novels will be adapted for a major new television series for BBC One, produced by Brontë Film and Television.

Robert Galbraith/J.K. Rowling will not be available for interview or events.  

Press Contacts:
Little, Brown Book Group
Tamsin Kitson
Kiri Gillespie

For further information please visit

The Official Facebook Page

Robert Galbraith's Cormoran Strike Novels

Keep up to date with the latest on the series by becoming a fan of the official Facebook page for Robert Galbraith's Cormoran Strike Novels.